We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great atmosphere and good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Zambezi

Cafe Zambezi
Ranked #3 of 34 Restaurants in Livingstone
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: Caribbean, African, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Eat authentic Zambian and African food with the locals, enjoy Caribbean food including Jerk Chicken and Caribbean goat curry. Try our wood-fire pizza, gourmet burgers and extensive vegetarian options including our eggplant and haloumi burger. Get ready for the warm Livingstone hospitality and a good time in our candlelit leafy courtyard. Look out for our traditional dancing nights!! See you there!!
Wincanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“great atmosphere and good food”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We'd heard good things about Cafe Zambezi and it lived up to expectations. No frills, just a lively buzz, a mix of local, Jamaican and European dishes, well cooked and served promptly with Zambian smiles.
Prices are reasonable and the quality is good. Two filling courses, a bottle of good South African Pinotage and coffee set 2 of us back the equivalent of about $50 and we thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Treworga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    252
    66
    24
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kerry, Ireland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Tasty food and great service”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Located on the main street of Livingstone. Excellent menu, very reasonably priced: approx. 50 kwatcha for a main course, beer is 8 K and delicious cocktails are 30 K. They have a good range of local food, like crocodile, caterpillar and goat bbq and also pizza and burgers. The staff that served me were very friendly and fast. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank KerryGirl_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“something different”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Had quite a varied menu my grandson had eaten crocodile here but I tried the chicken large portions had to take some home,husband enjoyed the pizza.
Dislikes there were some men smoking at a table across from us hat I didn't like!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Irene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Croco-yumyum”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I read about the bbq crocodile and just had to go for it, although my friends went for burger, goat and chicken and they all seemed pretty happy. Its not budget (50-60k for a main) but I'd say its good value for the quality and portion of the food. I chose croc-spare ribs and got 3 large chunks. Other than being slightly burnt in parts it was very tasty with the sweet chili sauce. For an African food experience beyond the awful omnipresence of nshimas this is as good as it gets. Finally the ambiance in the backyard outside sitting was pretty cosy as well.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank reeop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Zambian Platter”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Ask the waitress to talk to the chef and make you up a special "Zambian Food Platter" We had the most amazing food - crocodile meat - cooked to perfection in a piri piri kind of sauce, Shima with village chicken and goat meat. Roasted veggies fried caterpillars and Zambian sausages. Yummy food and they give u heaps!!! was an exciting culinary adventure.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank sumukund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Zambezi also viewed

Livingstone, Southern Province
Livingstone, Southern Province
 
Livingstone, Southern Province
Livingstone, Southern Province
 
Livingstone, Southern Province
 

Been to Cafe Zambezi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing