We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, buffet not worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Livingstone
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, buffet not worth it”
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel and staff. Rooms are gorgeous, pool amazing with live music in the evening , and friendly efficent bar staff. Breakfast was awesome with so much to choose from. The evening buffet is not worth the money with a salad for starter and a few choices of main, deserts complete let down. There is a another restaurant on site and that is excellent and you can pick a starter or main and is a lot better quality. You can walk to the falls which we did everyday of our stay but as it was very dry there whas little water so we took a helicopter ride. Which you can book from reception.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank justine140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NishaMacD, Manager at AVANI Victoria Falls Resort, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I would like to thank you again for your comments and suggestions and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Nisha MacDougall
Hotel Manager Zambezi Sun
nisha.macdougall@suninternational.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    735
    262
    52
    22
See reviews for
402
652
91
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

A great location for viewing the fall. So close that you walk to them in about 10 minutes. Unfortunately for us when we visited there was very little water in the falls, but that enabled us to see the depth that the cataract. The hotel is set in a nature reserve with wild animals roaming freely around. It was great to sit in the pool bar restaurant and watch the Zebra, but beware these are wild animals and while we were there some people were kicked by them. The food was good, the accomodation basic but comfortable and clean. We spent quite a bit of time just sitting and relaxing watching the weaver birds making their nests.

Room Tip: All rooms have good views. Just remember to keep windows closed at all times because of the monkeys...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teddy673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NishaMacD, General Manager at AVANI Victoria Falls Resort, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Thank you for your positive review on Trip Advisor. Your opinion is valuable to our staff and future guests to the area. We look forward to welcoming you back to Zambezi Sun in the near future.

Kind Regards

Nisha MacDougall
Hotel Manager Zambezi Sun
nisha.macdougall@suninternational.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Datchworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Good Hotel but the staff not the most helpful, we had problems with one of our trips ( already paid for) because the staff had got our names wrong on the drivers information sheets.
We were able to get it sorted in the end but no apology from staff or hotel management, very
unsatisfactory.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Langford24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NishaMacD, General Manager at AVANI Victoria Falls Resort, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the feedback you have given us, and please be assured that your survey will be discussed with the staff to correct your valid concerns.

Kind Regards

Nisha MacDougall
Hotel Manager Zambezi Sun
nisha.macdougall@suninternational.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bundaberg, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This was our 3rd trip to Africa, and this hotel was recommended by our travel company "Wild Africa". It was a beautiful hotel with open lawns where zebra, warthog and impala roamed freely. The food was wonderful and the service was excellent. It was decorated in African style which we love. We were 10 minutes walk to Victoria falls, with a variety of walking trails to choose from. Due to the dry season, we were able to walk across the eastern cataract to the edge. In the wet season it would be flowing. There is a small shopping village attached to the hotel, with a Barclays Bank, where we could change our money into local currency to spend at the markets.

Room Tip: We have only stayed once, so I can't recommend one room over another. However our room facing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NishaMacD, General Manager at AVANI Victoria Falls Resort, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Zambezi Sun in the near future.

Kind Regards

Nisha MacDougall
Hotel Manager Zambezi Sun
nisha.macdougall@suninternational.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We came to the Zambezi Sun for a business meeting, but were happily surprised that any time off turned into vacation time! Just walking over to the falls brings you to a completely different world that is so impressive and unique that you are completely washed off your concerns (and drenched in water). The zebra and impala walking through the gardens of the hotel also help to create a unique atmosphere in which you can combine business with pleasure. The food was excellent and the rooms are a bit basic, but have everything that you need. On top of that the hotel staff was very friendly. I found myself wishing that I would have the time to really go on vacation and come back here and enjoy this for at least a week. Hopefully it will happen sometime.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wintberg53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NishaMacD, General Manager at AVANI Victoria Falls Resort, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Zambezi Sun in the near future.

Kind Regards

Nisha MacDougall
Hotel Manager Zambezi Sun
nisha.macdougall@suninternational.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Young, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

So close to the falls we could wander there ourselves whenever we wanted. We did have a guided tour included. Other activities were organised for us from the accommodation such as the gorge swing and flying on the high wire. We would of done more activities if we had of had the time. A fantastic few days were spent at this resort.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jshero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NishaMacD, General Manager at AVANI Victoria Falls Resort, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Thank you for your positive review on Trip Advisor. Your opinion is very valuable to our staff and future guests to the area. We look forward to welcoming you back to Zambezi Sun in the near future.

Kind Regards

Nisha MacDougall
Hotel Manager Zambezi Sun
nisha.macdougall@suninternational.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, Michigan, United States
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Located conveniently on a national park, you honestly can't get any closer to Victoria Falls than staying at the Zambezi Sun! Although the rooms are starting to get slightly outdated (compared to the first time I visited in 2009), the wildlife that roam freely through the park, the amazing food, the pool and bar, and of course the natural attraction of Victoria Falls make this hotel unforgettable. If you really wanted to, you could even lead your own safari around the hotel seeing as there are plenty of zebra, baboons, monkeys, and giraffes walking freely around the grounds! The wifi is a nice bonus as well!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NishaMacD, General Manager at AVANI Victoria Falls Resort, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Thank you for your positive review on Trip Advisor. Your opinion is very valuable to our staff and future guests to the area. We look forward to welcoming you back to Zambezi Sun in the near future.

Kind Regards

Nisha MacDougall
Hotel Manager Zambezi Sun
nisha.macdougall@suninternational.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingstone
0.4 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
3.9 mi away
Protea Hotel Livingstone
Protea Hotel Livingstone
#5 of 17 in Livingstone
265 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 17 in Livingstone
390 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,144 reviews
2.5 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Victoria Falls Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Victoria Falls Resort

Property: AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
Address: Mosi-Oa-Tunya Road, Livingstone 20100, Zambia (Formerly Zambezi Sun)
Region: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Livingstone
#3 Family Hotel in Livingstone
#4 Romantic Hotel in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Victoria Falls Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zambezi Sun, located on the edge of the eastern cataract of the Victoria Falls, reflects the richness and diversity of the country’s heritage; capturing the very soul of Africa – unpretentious, fun and welcoming. With its warm, earthy architecture, inspired by an African walled village and simple finishes highlighted in bright mosaics and fabrics as well as intoxicating Zambian artworks and accessories, the Zambezi Sun is set to turn your stay into a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your AVANI Victoria Falls Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zambezi Sun Livingstone
Zambezi Sun Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing