We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,981)
Filter reviews
1,981 results
Traveller rating
762
834
291
67
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
762
834
291
67
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewszambezi sunvictoria fallssister hotelpool barbuffet dinnerfree entranceroyal livingstone next doorunlimited accesshotel groundsmain restaurantfive minute walkafrican queenwild animalslarge poolnational parkpool sidehotel guests
Filter
Updating list...
1,270 - 1,275 of 1,981 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Yes a great location so close to the falls and wonderful grounds and reception area, but the rooms are very much 3 star, infact walking down the corridors to the rooms feels a little like entering a prison, all the basic amenities are in the rooms but we had an old stained sofa which looked ready for the dump, also we were told that we had a queen size bed, when in fact it was a double bed. The breakfast was very messy with a lot of food not covered and therefore the flies were on it, service wise they have excellent intentions but fail to execute, we ordered food at the bar a ceasar salad and a club sandwich, both left a lot to be desired, with water filling the salad bowl, where the lettuce had not been drained well. We ate at Squires 1 night and it was very basic with a lot of the menu items missing, and we also ate at the Royal Livingstone, where again several menu items were missing with no substitutes offered. We enjoyed our stay but this is very much a 3 star property and we would not return, also beware the charges for the massage treatments around the pool, ask the price first, we did not and were charges £60.00 for 2 foot massages

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NishaMacD, Manager at AVANI Victoria Falls Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your recent stay with us at Zambezi Sun. My team and I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced and please be assured that this is not a true reflection of our operating standards and objectives.

Your valuable feedback will make us aware on the actual guests’ experience, which will allow us to improve the quality of our services and ensure total guest satisfaction. I have addressed your concerns to the various departments to ensure the problem you encountered does not happen again. Please be assured that we do have continuous training and your feedback will assist us in the right direction.

I would like to thank you again for your comments. I hope you will give Zambezi Sun another chance in the future.


Kind Regards

Nisha MacDougall
Hotel Manager Zambezi Sun
nisha.macdougall@suninternational.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed 7 nights and enjoyed good service, food, weather and a fantastic day-trip to Botswana arranged by the desk. The rail museum and steam dining train onto the bridge were highlights.

Two bad marks: the music should be African in style, it's not, it's the worst imaginable lobby stuff, guess the group are told that's what we want. More seriously, and the reason I might not return, is they use catapults to keep the monkeys out, I came to see monkeys and water pistols would be so much better.

Don't be put off by that, it's still a great place.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jak825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NishaMacD, Manager at AVANI Victoria Falls Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the feedback you have given us, and please be assured that your survey will be discussed with the staff to correct your valid concerns. Please be advised that we do not harm any animals as we are situated in nature reserve.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Zambezi Sun in the near future.

Kind Regards

Nisha MacDougall
Hotel Manager Zambezi Sun
nisha.macdougall@suninternational.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This was our second visit to Zambia and the Zambezi Sun. Both stays were enjoyable. You can't beat the location with its easy pedestrian access to the Victoria Falls just outside the gate.

No complaints about the rooms. Beds comfortable. Linen soft. As in nearly every African hotel, plugs and sinks seem to be in constant battle with each other.

The breakfast buffet is well presented and covers all tastes and preferences. The waiting staff were super friendly and did a good job. The coffee and juice were topped up constantly without needing to ask.

We aren't fans of evening buffets, so we used the Squires steak house round the corner. Still, when passing the hotel restaurant in the evenings, people tended to be generally smiling as they shovelled it in. And many of your fellow guests will be really good at shovelling it in :-)

It's lovely seeing the local zebra and giraffe sneaking into the hotel gardens to graze. Monkeys can be a nuisance if you want your sliding window/door open, but the security staff do their best with chasing them off.

We rented a car which allowed us to drive round the small but animal-rich Mosi-oa-Tunya National Park game reserve.

Overall, this hotel is a very pleasant and relaxing place. It's not a luxury hotel by any means and if you're considering it, be honest with yourself in accepting that you're basing your decision on your budget, or that you're a non-independent traveller staying where your agent sent you. We chose it both times purely on location, and used the leftover budget on helicopter & micro light flights. We've developed a soft spot for this hotel.

Special thanks to Selina Phiri on the customer service desk who helped me most courteously with an enquiry, and to Matson the porter. The reception staff were gracious and efficient.

Room Tip: We prefer the rooms facing outwards
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NishaMacD, Manager at AVANI Victoria Falls Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. I will make sure to forward your comments to our staff, especially to Selina and Matson.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Zambezi Sun in the near future.

Kind Regards

Nisha

Nisha MacDougall
Hotel Manager Zambezi Sun
nisha.macdougall@suninternational.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed for about 4 days this time. We love the location, breakfast and above all the friendly staff. We have always come and stayed at the Zambezi sun, my last visit was about 4 years ago. The hotel is still the same, however it needs some cleanliness touch ups in the showers. There was mold in the grout lines and the water from the shower gathers outside onto the bathroom floor. I think the price is a little high for the quality we get.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Blackrose_898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NishaMacD, Manager at AVANI Victoria Falls Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience with us. Thank you very much for the kind word and commendations, it is wonderful to receive such positive feedback.

At the same time I would like to sincerely apologise for not living up to all your expectations. We do appreciate your feedback to assist us in our ongoing drive for quality and enabling us to improve the hospitality offered to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Zambezi Sun in the near future.

Kind Regards

Nisha

Nisha MacDougall
Hotel Manager Zambezi Sun
nisha.macdougall@suninternational.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I was reading the previous reviews of this hotel and I note the Manager has started to respond to them now. I was reflecting on how they mirrored my views of the hotel but the criticisms do not seem to have been rectified at the time of my visit despite the placatory comments of the manager. Pity, this hotel could be great.

The location is superb and its close proximity to the Victoria Falls makes it ideal being about a five minute walk away. There are animals roaming the grounds and much bird life. It is a really nice complex.There are many activities in the area including boat and helicopter trips but the star is the walk to the falls. Do cross the bridge and get wet, it is worth it. Don’t do the walk across the railway bridge (about one Km or so) where you will be harassed, bullied and insulted by local traders.

The Hotel is intentionally African in style and rooms are spotless, well serviced with good AC and the beds comfortable. Wifi is available in the reception area. The hotel has a choice of restaurants and a shopping area and a coffee bar. The latter a bit out of the way and not frequented much by guests I noted. Mainly expensive tourist junk, imported I suspect. There is a pool bar which offers a limited snack menu and variable entertainment. You can go the sister hotel, The Royal Livingstone Hotel, via a courtesy bus which is part of the wider hotel complex which has a completely different feel of old colonial.

I like this hotel a lot but the waiter service and food preparation have to improve. The staff are friendly and polite but oh so inefficient! There is no sense of urgency or professionalism in the staff. It’s a shame, they are very nice people. Slow to respond, slow to serve and ironically too quick to take away your plate, sometimes before you have finished. This annoying habit completely contradicts the initial lack of service. The food preparation is very poor. We had a snack at the pool bar and it is basically poorly prepared pub food. We went to Squires, one of the alternative restaurants and found the service slow, food poorly presented and chaotic ordering. Pub food again. This is great if you are happy with greasy chips thrown on a plate but not for the prices they are charging here and the poor presentation and service. So on the final night to The Royal Livingston Hotel in desperation. Great surroundings and better, but not great, service. A very limited overpriced menu and not well prepared. It is OK but not for a top hotel and not at these prices! They need better training Mr. Manager. This is a great hotel in a great location, don’t waste it!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJA950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NishaMacD, Manager at AVANI Victoria Falls Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your recent stay with us at Zambezi Sun. My team and I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced and please be assured that this is not a true reflection of our operating standards and objectives.

Your valuable feedback will make us aware on the actual guests’ experience, which will allow us to improve the quality of our services and ensure total guest satisfaction. I have addressed your concerns to the various departments to ensure the problem you encountered does not happen again. Please be assured that we do have continuous training and your feedback will assist us in the right direction.

I would like to thank you again for your comments. I hope you will give Zambezi Sun another chance in the future.

Kind Regards

Nisha MacDougall
Hotel Manager Zambezi Sun
nisha.macdougall@suninternational.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews