We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay with kids.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Livingstone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed at Zambezi Sun few times already. Generally its a good place to stay, with a large swimming pool, big selection of good food and live band in the evenings. Victoria Falls are just walking distance away, and the entrance is free for those staying in a hotel. Rooms are clean and bright, but very basic ( which is a good thing if you are staying with kids). The only downside I can think of are beds - very small and gave us a back ache for days. But still, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tatiana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NishaMacD, Manager at AVANI Victoria Falls Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete review on Trip Advisor, we appreciate the feedback you have given us. When we next refurbish the hotel, we will take your valid points about the beds in consideration.

Kind Regards

Nisha MacDougall
Hotel Manager Zambezi Sun
nisha.macdougall@suninternational.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,747)
There are newer reviews for AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,064 - 1,070 of 1,747 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

The hotel was a good place to start our visit to Livingstone. Its nearness to Mosi-oa-Tunya (the Victoria Falls) is a very real advantage.

We got up early in the mornings, and were at the Falls by 6.30 a.m., when there were few, if any, other tourists or souvenir salespeople around. And from the Falls, on to breakfast - with plenty of good food to eat in pleasant surroundings.

I'd like to draw management's attention to Terry, who looked after us at breakfast - a charming and attentive member of staff. He would make our day, every day.

In fact, every member of staff we met was friendly and helpful - each one a great ambassador for Zambia.

Zebras on the lawn and the human scale of what is, after all, a large hotel, add to the charm.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eindelik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NishaMacD, Manager at AVANI Victoria Falls Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. I will make sure to forward your comments to our staff, especially to Terry.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Zambezi Sun in the near future.

Kind Regards

Nisha MacDougall
Hotel Manager Zambezi Sun
nisha.macdougall@suninternational.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This was our second stay at Zambezi Sun after an earlier trip in 2012. The location is unbeatable, you can walk from your room directly to the falls in less than 5 minutes. The grounds have an interesting variety of animals that you will encounter - we had zebras just metres away from us which is nice. The service was very good, we ate at squires restaurant for lunch and dinner (pizza not very nice, chicken schnitzel and fillet steak much better) and had the buffet breakfast. I think they have one of the best buffet breakfasts that we enjoyed on this trip, the pastries were lovely. One thing - the rooms are getting a bit tired and in need of updating and maintenance, our air conditioning was barely working (it was cooler outside!) and the shower was not much better than a tap. The pillows were old and lumpy. It's not a cheap hotel so they'll need to start working on this as we saw a definite decline in the quality of the facilities between 2012 and 2014. But for the location and overall big hotel experience it's very good and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LKK01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NishaMacD, Manager at AVANI Victoria Falls Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete review on Trip Advisor, we appreciate the feedback you have given us. When we next refurbish the hotel, we will take your valid points in consideration.

Kind Regards

Nisha MacDougall
Hotel Manager Zambezi Sun
nisha.macdougall@suninternational.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Yes a great location so close to the falls and wonderful grounds and reception area, but the rooms are very much 3 star, infact walking down the corridors to the rooms feels a little like entering a prison, all the basic amenities are in the rooms but we had an old stained sofa which looked ready for the dump, also we were told that we had a queen size bed, when in fact it was a double bed. The breakfast was very messy with a lot of food not covered and therefore the flies were on it, service wise they have excellent intentions but fail to execute, we ordered food at the bar a ceasar salad and a club sandwich, both left a lot to be desired, with water filling the salad bowl, where the lettuce had not been drained well. We ate at Squires 1 night and it was very basic with a lot of the menu items missing, and we also ate at the Royal Livingstone, where again several menu items were missing with no substitutes offered. We enjoyed our stay but this is very much a 3 star property and we would not return, also beware the charges for the massage treatments around the pool, ask the price first, we did not and were charges £60.00 for 2 foot massages

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NishaMacD, Manager at AVANI Victoria Falls Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your recent stay with us at Zambezi Sun. My team and I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced and please be assured that this is not a true reflection of our operating standards and objectives.

Your valuable feedback will make us aware on the actual guests’ experience, which will allow us to improve the quality of our services and ensure total guest satisfaction. I have addressed your concerns to the various departments to ensure the problem you encountered does not happen again. Please be assured that we do have continuous training and your feedback will assist us in the right direction.

I would like to thank you again for your comments. I hope you will give Zambezi Sun another chance in the future.


Kind Regards

Nisha MacDougall
Hotel Manager Zambezi Sun
nisha.macdougall@suninternational.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed 7 nights and enjoyed good service, food, weather and a fantastic day-trip to Botswana arranged by the desk. The rail museum and steam dining train onto the bridge were highlights.

Two bad marks: the music should be African in style, it's not, it's the worst imaginable lobby stuff, guess the group are told that's what we want. More seriously, and the reason I might not return, is they use catapults to keep the monkeys out, I came to see monkeys and water pistols would be so much better.

Don't be put off by that, it's still a great place.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jak825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NishaMacD, Manager at AVANI Victoria Falls Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the feedback you have given us, and please be assured that your survey will be discussed with the staff to correct your valid concerns. Please be advised that we do not harm any animals as we are situated in nature reserve.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Zambezi Sun in the near future.

Kind Regards

Nisha MacDougall
Hotel Manager Zambezi Sun
nisha.macdougall@suninternational.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This was our second visit to Zambia and the Zambezi Sun. Both stays were enjoyable. You can't beat the location with its easy pedestrian access to the Victoria Falls just outside the gate.

No complaints about the rooms. Beds comfortable. Linen soft. As in nearly every African hotel, plugs and sinks seem to be in constant battle with each other.

The breakfast buffet is well presented and covers all tastes and preferences. The waiting staff were super friendly and did a good job. The coffee and juice were topped up constantly without needing to ask.

We aren't fans of evening buffets, so we used the Squires steak house round the corner. Still, when passing the hotel restaurant in the evenings, people tended to be generally smiling as they shovelled it in. And many of your fellow guests will be really good at shovelling it in :-)

It's lovely seeing the local zebra and giraffe sneaking into the hotel gardens to graze. Monkeys can be a nuisance if you want your sliding window/door open, but the security staff do their best with chasing them off.

We rented a car which allowed us to drive round the small but animal-rich Mosi-oa-Tunya National Park game reserve.

Overall, this hotel is a very pleasant and relaxing place. It's not a luxury hotel by any means and if you're considering it, be honest with yourself in accepting that you're basing your decision on your budget, or that you're a non-independent traveller staying where your agent sent you. We chose it both times purely on location, and used the leftover budget on helicopter & micro light flights. We've developed a soft spot for this hotel.

Special thanks to Selina Phiri on the customer service desk who helped me most courteously with an enquiry, and to Matson the porter. The reception staff were gracious and efficient.

Room Tip: We prefer the rooms facing outwards
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NishaMacD, Manager at AVANI Victoria Falls Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. I will make sure to forward your comments to our staff, especially to Selina and Matson.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Zambezi Sun in the near future.

Kind Regards

Nisha

Nisha MacDougall
Hotel Manager Zambezi Sun
nisha.macdougall@suninternational.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed for about 4 days this time. We love the location, breakfast and above all the friendly staff. We have always come and stayed at the Zambezi sun, my last visit was about 4 years ago. The hotel is still the same, however it needs some cleanliness touch ups in the showers. There was mold in the grout lines and the water from the shower gathers outside onto the bathroom floor. I think the price is a little high for the quality we get.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Blackrose_898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NishaMacD, Manager at AVANI Victoria Falls Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience with us. Thank you very much for the kind word and commendations, it is wonderful to receive such positive feedback.

At the same time I would like to sincerely apologise for not living up to all your expectations. We do appreciate your feedback to assist us in our ongoing drive for quality and enabling us to improve the hospitality offered to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Zambezi Sun in the near future.

Kind Regards

Nisha

Nisha MacDougall
Hotel Manager Zambezi Sun
nisha.macdougall@suninternational.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingstone
0.4 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
3.9 mi away
Protea Hotel Livingstone
Protea Hotel Livingstone
#5 of 18 in Livingstone
273 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 18 in Livingstone
402 reviews
2.5 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#9 of 16 in Victoria Falls
607 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Victoria Falls Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Victoria Falls Resort

Address: Mosi-Oa-Tunya Road, Livingstone 20100, Zambia (Formerly Zambezi Sun)
Region: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Livingstone
#3 Luxury Hotel in Livingstone
#3 Family Hotel in Livingstone
#4 Romantic Hotel in Livingstone
Price Range: £199 - £336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Victoria Falls Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get wild in the heart of Africa, with the iconic Victoria falls at your doorstep. We put you at the centre of the action, so you can explore, discover or just relax and let us take care of all the details that matter. Whether it's for family fun or taking care of your business, AVANI Victoria Falls offers contemporary comforts and uncontested convenience, all just five minutes’ walk from Victoria Falls. Work, rest, stay and play in AVANI signature style for dazzling days and enchanting nights ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your AVANI Victoria Falls Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zambezi Sun Livingstone
Zambezi Sun Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing