We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous location but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Livingstone
Certificate of Excellence
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Fabulous location but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Greeted by a group of African dancers as we entered the hotel. Location is amazing. Right next to the Falls - just a few minutes walk away. Unlimited entry if you are staying at the hotel. Lovely large outdoor swimming pool just next to the bar area. Sun loungers available with towels. Zebras keep the lawns tidy! Saw impalas, monkeys and baboons in the grounds plus a monitor lizard.
Also there is a fairly easy walk to the road,rail and pedestrian bridge crossing the gorge into Zimbabwe where you can have a bungy jump. You can walk a little way into Zimbabwe but you must obtain a ticket from the Botswana immigration office situated just before the bridge. We did not need our passports.
There is also a nice river walk to the Livingstone Hotel ( fantastic Colonial Building) where you may come across the family of giraffes.

However the rooms are very small and dated. The a/c was ineffective and noisy and our kettle was broken. There was a fridge but no water provided. Make sure you stock up with bottled water somewhere else as it is very expensive to buy in the hotel although the hotel water is safe to drink.

Botswana is dearer than both SA and Zambia but still reasonable by UK prices.

A shuttle service operates between the two hotels - just ask at reception. There is a restaurant in the grounds called Squires which we found to be basic but very good value.

Breakfast in the hotel was OK but service can be slow - the same in the bar area.

Overall a brilliant location but let down by the rooms.

If you are visiting at this time of year (March) you definitely need waterproofs to visit the length of the Falls. The spray is just like a heavy rainstorm. You can hire capes at the Falls quite cheaply. Best time to visit is early morning.

Just as an aside - we were not asked for our yellow fever certificates at any stage when leaving or entering South Africa

Room Tip: Rooms to the far right are nicely located away from the noise of the bands and near the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chrisatholly55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    582
    701
    254
    51
    21
See reviews for
381
629
89
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

The Zambezi Sun is one of two hotels in the Mosi-Oa-Tunya National Park on the Zambian side of the Victoria Falls. It is a nice hotel with friendly staff and good service. Although listed as a 4 star hotel I would say it falls a spec short of this designation (by American standards). It was probably a little pricey considering the small rooms. I liked the fact that Zebras, monkeys and baboons freely roamed the hotel grounds (although they have staff that is dedicated to chasing the animals away). All in all a nice 3 day stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnold P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woody Point, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

This hotel has a wonderful ambience. It is colourful, casual, clean and comfortable. We could hear the Victoria Falls from our balcony and it was only a short walk to the Falls. We were provided with a pass so we could enter and leave the Falls as we wished, avoiding the USD30 to enter each visit. Zebras and giraffe roamed nearby, there was a bird hide amongst the large grounds of the hotel. Entertainment at dusk was enjoyable and the restaurant served delicious food.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I have no complaints about this hotel. Location is fantastic, the falls are just a short walk through the grounds of the hotel. Rooms were clean. We has a river view room, which was perfect. Food was plentiful, buffet style. 3 days there was just enough, as the falls are the main attraction. Would stay again. Great to see zebras walking past the pool, and giraffes in the woodland nearby.

Room Tip: Rooms with the river view were nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marion3034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caron c, Manager at AVANI Victoria Falls Resort, responded to this review, 11 November 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Firstly allow me to thank you for taking time to send us feedback on your stay with us via TripAdvisor, all feedback from my guests whether positive or negative is very welcoming and for this I am extremely grateful.

Thank you for your very kind and positive comments, they have been shared with my entire team, it’s always nice to get such positive feedback from our guests.

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a wonderful holiday, I hope that you have taken many memories back home with you and we hope to see you again soon in Zambia in the near future.

Kind regards

Caron van Rooyen
Hotel Manger
Zambezi Sun
Sun International
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wentzville, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We recently stayed at the Zambezi Sun Hotel to see Victoria Falls and we were very disappointed with the accommodation. The rooms were very small and not well-appointed at all for a property in this price range. Next time we would either pay more and go to the Royal Livingstone or save some money by going to the Protea hotel in Livingstone. From there you would have to pay for taxis to get back and forth to the falls and also to get into the park, but you would have access to many more restaurants and it would be a better deal. The Zambezi Sun needs to be remodeled and modernized if they intend to keep charging high prices. The one good thing about it is that it's connected to the park and the entrance fees are waived for visitors staying at the Zambezi Sun. The grounds are nice and the staff was friendly but restaurant prices were also very high. Victoria Falls was fabulous!

Room Tip: All rooms are virtually equidistant to the restaurants and to the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey_R_Henry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, Essex, England
Level Contributor
113 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights visiting Victoria Falls. It is a very comfortable hotel, with good clean rooms. Ours was overlooking the pool. The pool, pool bar and loungers are very lovely, surrounded by gardens. Zebra, monkeys and antelope roam the grounds. Breakfast is a buffet in the main dining room and is very good. We ate dinner the first night in this restaurant, again a buffet, but found it very expensive with average food. There is another a la carte restaurant called Squires which we ate at and found to be very good and cheaper. The staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful. Service is good. You can walk to the sister hotel The Royal Livingstone, which is exceptionally nice and worth a stroll round. It is not possible to walk to Livingstone Town.
The main advantage of Zambezi Sun is that you can walk to the Falls in about 5 minutes! The cost of entry is also covered in the room fee. The Falls are incredible and awesome in their raw power. If you visit in the 'wet' season, from December to April I think, remember to bring a waterproof camera. You will get as wet as if you had a shower (the hotel will provide waterproof ponchos but you will still get very wet),
Overall, I was very happy with Zambezi Sun and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking pool are best but can get some noise from nightly live band (until 11pm)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveC27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZambeziSun, Manager at AVANI Victoria Falls Resort, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for your positive review on Trip Advisor. Your opinion is valuable to our staff and future guests to the area. We look forward to welcoming you back to Zambezi Sun in the near future.

Kind Regards

Nisha MacDougall
Hotel Manager Zambezi Sun
nisha.macdougall@suninternational.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

The Zambezi sun tries to be a luxury resort but is only succeeding halfways. The rooms are OK but lacks outside sitting area, minibar, and indiviual bed lights. The restaurants are OK with affordable pricing but lacks a spectacular image. They are also frequented by baboon "guests" appearing with a jump on the table snatching your food or the table sugar bowl - nice but a bit dangerous. The Zebras are frequenting the pool area making the lawnmower guy go unemployed. This is no way a bad hotel but a luxurious feeling is only rarely making it's presence.
The next best part of the hotel is the short walking distance to Victoria Falls national park, and best of all is that it is within 2 km walking distance to the Zimbabwe border (and to paradise)!

Room Tip: Follow the Zebras to the south part of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lgreger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NishaMacD, Manager at AVANI Victoria Falls Resort, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the feedback you have given us, and please be assured that your survey will be discussed with the staff to correct your valid concerns. Since you last visit, we have placed a mini bar in all rooms as per the request from our guests.

Kind Regards

Nisha MacDougall
Hotel Manager Zambezi Sun
nisha.macdougall@suninternational.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingstone
0.4 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
1.5 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,186 reviews
3.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 17 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
3.2 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Victoria Falls Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Victoria Falls Resort

Property: AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
Address: Mosi-Oa-Tunya Road, Livingstone 20100, Zambia (Formerly Zambezi Sun)
Region: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Livingstone
#3 Luxury Hotel in Livingstone
#4 Romantic Hotel in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Victoria Falls Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zambezi Sun, located on the edge of the eastern cataract of the Victoria Falls, reflects the richness and diversity of the country’s heritage; capturing the very soul of Africa – unpretentious, fun and welcoming. With its warm, earthy architecture, inspired by an African walled village and simple finishes highlighted in bright mosaics and fabrics as well as intoxicating Zambian artworks and accessories, the Zambezi Sun is set to turn your stay into a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your AVANI Victoria Falls Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zambezi Sun Livingstone
Zambezi Sun Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing