We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient for Victoria Falls”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Livingstone
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very convenient for Victoria Falls”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

It was most unfortunate that we had to wait over an hour and a half for our rooms to be cleaned, the explanation given was that there had just been a large convention, and they had all asked for late checkout, which the hotel seemed to think was a quite acceptable arrangement. Its always a bit difficult to be objective when you have been very annoyed, but the rest of the two day stay was OK. The terracotta painted buildings look a little tired, and the orange black and yellow designs painted on them are also past their best. The Hotel obviously realises this, as one whole block of the courtyard square was out of action, and undergoing some sort of update.

The Hotel design leaves a bit to be desired, there appeared to be no view of the river from any of the rooms, the upper floor rooms look out of the large courtyard, and the ground floor rooms look into the courtyard. With large windows in the rooms, there is no privacy on the ground floor unless the net curtains are closed. The windowless long access corridors on the upper floor reminded me more of prison than hotel architecture. Coming down the stairs in the evening to find two zebras standing in your path, which you had to walk around, was an interesting experience.

The room service food is by far the best value for money, and was good.

The good news is that it is five minutes walk from the Falls, and you can come and go as you like, no entrance charge for Hotel guests.

I should have paid the extra money, and stayed at the sister Hotel, The Royal Livingstone, which had wonderful access to the river, and a great bar by the riverside, to watch the sun set on the Zambesi. You can book your drink costs here direct to your account at the Zambesi Sun.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms have less privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuffolkIvory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    612
    734
    261
    52
    22
See reviews for
400
651
90
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Trani, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here in early June 2014 and had a wonderful experience. The hotel is nice and the staff is very friendly. When we arrived we were greeted with African dancers and delicious tea, which really put us in a great mood. I loved the live entertainment by the pool, and the food at the poolside café was really good too (Try the quesadillas and the ribs!). Our room was clean and comfortable, but let's be honest, you came here for the falls. Being able to walk to the falls five minutes away anytime you want as many times as you want (without paying!!) is what makes this hotel worth the stay.
We did eat the buffet dinner one night and it was good, albeit a tad expensive. Many choices of entrees and sides (my husbands favorite was the crocodile), although the included drinks were very limited. We ordered room service one night and it was prompt and the food was satisfactory. I think that the hotel is very nice, but the access to the falls is what makes the price worth it. Glad we stayed here and I would stay here again if we ever had the chance to go back to Victoria Falls!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branson, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Location was perfect. The falls are out the back gate. 2 raincoats provided in the rooms. The hotel looked wonderful. Lawns cut, pool looked inviting, music playing. Loved it. Saw zebras grazing on the grass of the hotel. Breakfast buffet was included in the hotel price. Dinner price for buffet was outrageous. Tried the other restaurant on the property and the service was bad.
Booked activities at the front desk. Went ok. Wish we knew to book activities at the activities center. Found that out the last day accidently. Wifi was ok if you sat near the business center. Was happy it wasn't so good had more family time

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerrabecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I attended a conference held at the Zambezi Sun Hotel June10-13, 2014. It was a great experience. The room, food and service were great! Good water pressure in the shower, and the hot water got really hot. Room service was timely. Food was good. I gained 5 lbs that week! I was also able to adjust the thermostat in my room. I saw Zebras and Impalas roaming around the hotel grounds Nice.... Victoria Falls is walking distance from the hotel. The Falls is spectacular! You will need a poncho! The hotel provided ponchos in my room in the drawer by the TV. I took the time to complete this review because the previous reviews of the hotel helped me to prepare for my trip!! Thank you!

Room Tip: No room preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Me and my sister really enjoyed our stay here , everyone was so welcoming , the food was really amazing especially there nshima and fish. I would stay at this hotel again . Staff where friendly except the ones that where working on the pool bar. We had to sit ourselves and service was very slow.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulunach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Zambezi Sun is all about location and sprawling layout of the complex. The great Victoria Falls is situated just in the backyard of the hotel complex and you can even hear it all along your stay in your rooms. You can just walk down to the falls whenever you want and for all hotel guests entry is free!! There are huge lawns and lot of in house wild life like deers, zebras, birds etc. The staff is very cooperative and the breakfast menu is fabulous. We stayed here for 2 nights in April 14. TV in one of the room was not working, but after the complaint it was changed immediately. Staff was very helpful, but always expecting higher tips!!. The TripAdvisor site mentions it 4 star, but the hotel says it is 3 star and the rooms are not even 2 stars The guest rooms need a drastic make over. The first floor rooms have a gallery, but there are no seating arrangements!!
Over all a nice place and very convenient place to stay, very close to the falls.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are better and if possible should on the other side of pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chitleymilind16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
589 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

According to booking.com this hotel was ranked as “four-star.” But Zambezi Sun website showed as “3-star”. The general facilities were four-star, but the guest rooms were three-star. It had polished concrete floor throughout the corridor and the guest rooms.

They gave me a complimentary invitation card to high tea at Royal Livingstone Hotel. That was great to have on the day of arrival. I had it indoor, as the porch that was overlooking Zambezi River wasn’t smoke-free.

The location of Zambezi Sun was excellent, and all the staff except the ones at the reception were very friendly and helpful. According to my request they gave me a room away from the noisy central part of the property, facing the park that led to the gate to the Fall. It was on Level 1, and there was no lift but only stairs. But my room had many things that needed to be improved:
1. The air conditioner/heater wasn’t working on the day I arrived (9th June). So I could hear the noise (= “thunder”) of the Fall all night and banging of the doors of other rooms echoing through the corridor until late at night.
2. There was no “hot” water in the shower on the day I checked out (12th June). It was lukewarm, may be good enough for a very hot day.
3. The push-in plug of the hand basin in the bathroom was broken.
4. The hot water tap in the shower was not fitted properly, so it fell on my toe.
5. The soap tray in the shower was broken and hanging on one end.
6. The bathroom door had been damaged at the bottom part and needed plastering and painting.
7. The outside handle of the sliding door to the balcony was missing (only the two screws were sticking out). The sliding door wasn’t fitted well, but I was able to lock it.
8. The edges and the corners of the floor hadn’t been cleaned properly.
9. The frames of the wall fittings and mirrors were dusty.

When I was checking out, I wanted to give an envelope of gratuity. The staff at the counter were very surprised, but took it with my review form of the hotel. They put them away somewhere under the counter, saying that they’d pass them onto the manager. My room wasn’t good enough, but I wanted to show my appreciation to the kind, friendly and helpful staff of the hotel.

Room Tip: When you book, request a quiet room. As there is no lift to the level 1, request a room on the grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayParks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingstone
0.4 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
3.9 mi away
Protea Hotel Livingstone
Protea Hotel Livingstone
#5 of 17 in Livingstone
262 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,139 reviews
12.8 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 17 in Livingstone
387 reviews
2.5 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Victoria Falls Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Victoria Falls Resort

Property: AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
Address: Mosi-Oa-Tunya Road, Livingstone 20100, Zambia (Formerly Zambezi Sun)
Region: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Livingstone
#3 Family Hotel in Livingstone
#4 Romantic Hotel in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Victoria Falls Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zambezi Sun, located on the edge of the eastern cataract of the Victoria Falls, reflects the richness and diversity of the country’s heritage; capturing the very soul of Africa – unpretentious, fun and welcoming. With its warm, earthy architecture, inspired by an African walled village and simple finishes highlighted in bright mosaics and fabrics as well as intoxicating Zambian artworks and accessories, the Zambezi Sun is set to turn your stay into a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your AVANI Victoria Falls Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zambezi Sun Livingstone
Zambezi Sun Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing