We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Livingstone
Certificate of Excellence
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Highly recommend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

I loved staying at this hotel. The room was spacious, bathroom had a bath and nice hot shower. The rooms were colourful and clean. The towels and bed linen were excellent quality and had a big TV I. He room to watch the World Cup!! The view outside the room was gorgeous, where you'd see impalas grazing on grass and on occasions zebras too. At night you'd here the echo of the water from the falls which was very soothing. The hotel included unlimited access to the falls, and had a bird sanctuary where you'd sit and watch the beautiful bird life. The staff were very helpful and friendly. I put a load of washing in early one morning and received it at 6pm the same day. It was around 10-15 mins from town, but I prefer to stay out of town out of the hustle and bustle. The food itself was delicious. Buffet breakfast was by far the best I've had in Africa. There were so many options and cooked fresh as you wait. Good for those who have eating requirements. The lunches were also delicious (as it was too far to go into town to eat). I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Livingstone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dee_w083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    582
    699
    254
    51
    21
See reviews for
380
629
89
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

The best, the Viktoria Fall. It's very close and amazing. I think best time to go in October, July is ok butthe Fall has so much water and it's a little be wet to walk around the fall and you can't see anything because the water. The hotel is confortable but the rooms need an updating. The lounge, swiming pool, and the restaurant and bar areas are confortable and nice and the staff is very freindly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tomás P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Our family of two adult and two teenage children stayed at the Zambezi Sun recently. The location of the hotel is fantastic - just a couple of minutes walk to Victoria Falls so you can go as often as you like. The grounds of the hotel were very pleasant too, with lots of wildlife wandering around which was a bit of fun. Our room was fine, albeit a bit cosy for the four of us. Ideally family rooms would be a little larger and offer two singles in addition to a double bed (rather than two doubles). The buffet breakfast at the hotel was excellent. We didn't go to the buffet dinner as we didn't feel like a huge feast each night, hence I can't comment on that. The food at The Squires restaurant next door was fairly average. We had a lovely meal at the adjoining property (The Royal Livingstone). What would have been great was to be able to have a simple bite to eat from the pool bar in the evening (food was only available from the pool bar during the day). Especially while the World Cup was screened on the big screen! We did not get our laundry back on the "same day" as promised. However we got it back the following morning. Just made packing up a bit tricky! Overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 1705Steph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Booked through Thompson's Travel for 4 persons, 5 nights in July 2014.
Zambia and the Vic Falls was magical! Although we visited the Zimbabwe side of the falls, we felt that Zambia would have been enough! Highlight was the helicopter ride and Livingstone Island visit.
We were persuaded to book the two activities in the Thompson's transport vehicle to the hotel, only to find out that it would have been cheaper booking with the activity center at the hotel!
All activities are quoted in USD, but locally converted to Zambian Kwacha before payment even via Credit card. We always felt that this was manipulated in favor of the local services...the African way...

The Zambezi Sun Hotel was adequate, but not great! Even in winter, the evening temperature in around 11 deg C.
The Bad:
The problems we had in the room:
- HEAVY duvet. I know it's winter, but it was too hot under the heavy duvet. I requested a blanket to replace the duvet - sorry not blankets????What!
- room was court yard facing. If we were booked in the rooms behind us, there would have been more privacy and much quieter - disappointing Thompsons!
- Bed leg was broken
- Sliding door was jammed and need force to open and close
- No screen or netting to allow the door to stay open in the evening
- Extraction system in the bathroom blocked
- Shower door did not stay closed - had to jam paper under the shower door
Squires restaurant:
Always out of something. They were even unable to offer Cappacino the first night and no Fetta cheese the the Greek salad.... Eventually we ask first what the don't have to make it easier.
The good:
- breakfast included is a must! What a spread!
- Squires. The food we did have was great! Half the price of the Hotel Buffet!
- Vic Falls amazing!
- Helecopter ride highly recommended!
- Livingstone Island and a swim on the edge unforgettable!

Highly recommended holiday. Expensive, but great memories to take home.

Room Tip: Choose rooms that do not face the Court yard. Check for room defects as described.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edinafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Fortunate to be back at Victoria Falls again. Love the power of the falls and how close the hotel is so you can hear the water cascading from your room. The hotel is therfore very well placed and the rooms are good and clean but lack some character unlike the rest of the hotel. The thing I like most about the hotel are the grounds which are lush and have animals such as Zebra and Impala wondering around. One of the better value for money hotels in town.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SafariMike66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay - our third visit and this time even better. the rooms were bright and welcoming, clean and colourful. All the amenities are there and the atmosphere in the hotel is vibrant and enjoyable. The gardens and surroundings are well kept and the proximity to the Falls is a huge attraction. The dining room and snack area are great, the food was good and service excellent. Far better than the 3 star grading it has. However, for us poor South Africans it is somewhat pricey but worth it.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KayS99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Perfect location for the Falls. Very child friendly. Our family of 5 had two adjacent rooms, with an outer door that we could lock so that the inner doors could remain open. The sister hotel, David Livingstone, is more elegant in the perfect setting on the river but less child friendly. Breakfast buffet was very nice. Pool was convenient and clean. Children should be careful about the zebras that wander the property especially in the evening when they can be munching grass right outside the rooms. They will leave you alone if you leave them alone but do not think you can approach them! Most of the other hotels are closer to the town but if your main purpose is to visit the Falls, this is the better location. The trip to Livingstone Island, which included walking into the water a few meters from the edge of the Falls, was wonderful though quite adventurous. I'd suggest the high tea version which included enough food to eliminate the need for a dinner back at the hotel. The boat trip on the African Queen was pleasant but fairly dull. I'd definitely recommend the former over the latter. For those heading to Lower Zambezi, there are no rhinos there, so Livingstone is a good opportunity. For the rest of the wildlife, hold off until Lower Zambezi.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank george147958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingstone
0.4 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
1.5 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
3.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 17 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
3.2 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Victoria Falls Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Victoria Falls Resort

Property: AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
Address: Mosi-Oa-Tunya Road, Livingstone 20100, Zambia (Formerly Zambezi Sun)
Region: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Livingstone
#3 Family Hotel in Livingstone
#4 Romantic Hotel in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Victoria Falls Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zambezi Sun, located on the edge of the eastern cataract of the Victoria Falls, reflects the richness and diversity of the country’s heritage; capturing the very soul of Africa – unpretentious, fun and welcoming. With its warm, earthy architecture, inspired by an African walled village and simple finishes highlighted in bright mosaics and fabrics as well as intoxicating Zambian artworks and accessories, the Zambezi Sun is set to turn your stay into a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your AVANI Victoria Falls Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zambezi Sun Livingstone
Zambezi Sun Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing