We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel next to the falls” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of AVANI Victoria Falls Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Livingstone
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel next to the falls”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Couldn't fault my experience at the Zambezi sun hotel.
I arrived early at the hotel around 1030 so was a little worried they wouldn't let me check in yet, but a quick check that the room was ready and it wasn't a problem. First appearances of the hotel were very impressive, beautiful grounds and pool area. I was ferried to my room in a golf cart and shown around, the room was large and very well furnished.
Food and drink at the hotel were very reasonable and excellent, and as the hotel is well out of town this is a big consideration as there aren't a lot of other options.
One of the big pluses of this hotel is when entering the falls you just show them your room key and entry is free, if you're planning a few trips into the falls park this will save you a considerable amount of money, the park entrance is only a 10 minute walk from the hotel.
I saw zebras and gazelles walking around the grounds and I'm told giraffes are present too.
I would highly recommend this hotel and if I'm lucky enough to return will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Steven1964T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    574
    692
    249
    49
    20
See reviews for
375
620
88
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
potten end, berkhamsted
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Our family group of 13 stayed here for 5 days and just loved everything about it. We had 3 children in the group and they were spoilt by the staff, we had easy access to the Falls and yes it was good fun getting wet - we went in early June. The intrepid went on a rafting trip and some did helicopter flights or micro light flights and we all enjoyed the sunset cruise. Saw a crocodile and Zebra and monkeys in the grounds. We will be back

Room Tip: Upatairs looking over the pool, nice outside balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

The Zambezi Sun is in the perfect location! A short walk gets you to Victoria Falls- beautiful! We also loved being able to watch some of the World Cup games on the screen out near the bar. Also, the singer/dancers at check-in were a special treat. We had a lovely meal at the adjoining property (The Royal Livingstone). What would have been great would have been to have a simple bite to eat from the pool bar in the evening (food was only available from the pool bar during the day). The breakfast buffet was expensive ($25 per person) and more than we wanted.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank susang8942014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

The Zambezi Sun is located near the eastern cataract of Victoria Falls. I was running in the Victoria Falls Marathon so wanted to see the Zambian side of the falls before beginning the race in Zimbabwe. It was awesome place to stay even for just one night. The grounds are breathtaking with animals roaming around including crocodiles but it was very safe. The pool was a great place to unwind and there was a big screen up so we could watch the World Cup. The restaurant located in the back of the property was good with many boutiques and shops located by it. I just had the Zambian salad but there was a wide selection on the menu. Nighttime was spent on the deck of the sister property next door at the Royal Livingstone. The sunset on the Zambezi was magical. The rooms are clean and spacious. The breakfast buffet is at the restaurant located at the center of the property beside the pool. The staff let me have coffee and croissant early as I had to leave to begin the marathon on the Zimbabwe side.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank colemanviolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Our room was perfectly adequate but getting a bit tired - refurbishment of all rooms is underway. We could not leave the windows open because there was no fly screen and the duvet was much too heavy - although it was explained that we should have kept the room chilled with the air conditioner to keep down the mosquitoes. The restaurant served a very varied and well cooked menu served buffet style - eat as much as you like. Dinner for two cost less than £40. The poolside bar provided an adequate lunch with a substantial meal for two plus a drink costing less than £15. The staff were always friendly and very professional. Do not change currency at the reception - the rate is awful - but walk round the corner (still in the same complex) to the small Barclays Bank who will happily change £20 if that is all you need.

The location is perfect! Five minutes walk from our room to the Victoria Falls which is probably the main (if not the only attraction) of this area. We went in June when the river was in full flow and they were spectacular. In fairness, most of what you see from the front is the spray which rises over 30 meters above the 100m drop of the falls and blots out the mid afternoon sun. Time of year is critical: November to February is probably a "trickle" with little spray and the full height of the falls is in full view; May and June are mostly spray; and it looks as if August might be the best compromise between volume of water/spray and visibility of the falls.

The elephant ride was a lifetime experience but be prepared to spend £100 a head.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room which faces the pool since there is live music at the poolside bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Owen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

I loved staying at this hotel. The room was spacious, bathroom had a bath and nice hot shower. The rooms were colourful and clean. The towels and bed linen were excellent quality and had a big TV I. He room to watch the World Cup!! The view outside the room was gorgeous, where you'd see impalas grazing on grass and on occasions zebras too. At night you'd here the echo of the water from the falls which was very soothing. The hotel included unlimited access to the falls, and had a bird sanctuary where you'd sit and watch the beautiful bird life. The staff were very helpful and friendly. I put a load of washing in early one morning and received it at 6pm the same day. It was around 10-15 mins from town, but I prefer to stay out of town out of the hustle and bustle. The food itself was delicious. Buffet breakfast was by far the best I've had in Africa. There were so many options and cooked fresh as you wait. Good for those who have eating requirements. The lunches were also delicious (as it was too far to go into town to eat). I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Livingstone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dee_w083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

The best, the Viktoria Fall. It's very close and amazing. I think best time to go in October, July is ok butthe Fall has so much water and it's a little be wet to walk around the fall and you can't see anything because the water. The hotel is confortable but the rooms need an updating. The lounge, swiming pool, and the restaurant and bar areas are confortable and nice and the staff is very freindly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tomás P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingstone
0.4 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
1.5 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,147 reviews
3.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
12.8 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 17 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
3.2 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#11 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Victoria Falls Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Victoria Falls Resort

Property: AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
Address: Mosi-Oa-Tunya Road, Livingstone 20100, Zambia (Formerly Zambezi Sun)
Region: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Livingstone
#3 Luxury Hotel in Livingstone
#4 Romantic Hotel in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Victoria Falls Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zambezi Sun, located on the edge of the eastern cataract of the Victoria Falls, reflects the richness and diversity of the country’s heritage; capturing the very soul of Africa – unpretentious, fun and welcoming. With its warm, earthy architecture, inspired by an African walled village and simple finishes highlighted in bright mosaics and fabrics as well as intoxicating Zambian artworks and accessories, the Zambezi Sun is set to turn your stay into a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your AVANI Victoria Falls Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zambezi Sun Livingstone
Zambezi Sun Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing