We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sun Zambezi - great base place to visit Victoria Falls”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Livingstone
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Sun Zambezi - great base place to visit Victoria Falls”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The hotel is lovely, tho' a notch below it's next door, sister hotel. But this scores because it's right next to Victoria Falls. One can come across a wandering zebra or two.
The property has a nice play area for kids.
The staff was very warm and helpful specially towards our child who was unwell for about half the time we were there (one day).
The a la carte menu is decent, however the buffet at night could have been better.
Tips - must visit the deck bar in the sister hotel, whose name I forget at the moment, and their verandah for afternoon tea or G&T. The deck is almost ON the Zambezi with the Falls about a km away. There's a club car shuttle between the two hotels. This is a long way from the airport but worth it if you're only there for the Falls and have little time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chetan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    590
    711
    258
    51
    21
See reviews for
384
634
89
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at the Zambezi Sun 20 months previusly and wanted to go agin to experience the Falls with more water. The location of this hotel is outstanding for little walks and the fact that we were supplied with rain capes by the hotel (and they were far better than the green things that look more heavy duty) only added to the experience. If there is any criticism, it is that if you are staying for several days, the main evening meal dishes don't vary that much. If you don't like spicy foods then choice is limited - but the saldads and desserts are great and breakfast is very well catered. There was some renovation of the next block of rooms going on, but it never interferrred with us. The only noise was of the Victoria Falls and the wildlife - don't miss the giraffes being fed at 3pm!

Room Tip: We have stayed in two different blocks and each has good and less advatageous factors. Some blocks a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grannye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

For seeing the Victoria Falls up close and experiencing the force and beauty of these fall this is a great hotel. Wild life in the garden and staff were very helpful. However rooms needed updating the shower was either scolding or cold and the food was expensive for the quality.
There was a restaurant next door which was much nicer.
There was entertainment in the evening and the pool was fine.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KRGR24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed for 2 nights. 2 minute walk to Victoria Falls. Gates open at 6 am and had the falls to myself. Hotel had great staff,breakfast. Lousy wifi. Later afternoon zebras and other surprises graze by the pool.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ticeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
81 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We were a family with a 4 year old..The family room was spacious with AC, TV (including a kids channel). Vegetarian food was well catered. It is 5 minutes wall to the Victoria falls and free entry if you produce the room key to the official. Royal Livingstone is well connected and in the same area. One can walk for a dinner or lunch. Housekeeping and service was good. Its an ideal location to view Vic falls.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UsHarish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

The ease of access to the stunning Victoria Falls makes this hotel special. The grounds are nice, the reception was good, check in easy, and the pool area is pretty and well maintained. The room - approached down a university halls of residence corridor - dark, narrow and dingy, was clean but garish with poor lighting, although the bathroom was fine. The staff were quite friendly. The buffet was not of great quality and the 'pub' in the Falls hotel was horrible. We ate a wonderful dinner in the Royal Livingstone instead. We would not choose to stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredrikstad, Norway
Level Contributor
174 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Zambezi Sun is quite different from it's twin, Royal Livingstone, just some hundred meters away. We preferred staying at Zambezi Sun, and went over to Royal Livingstone for a "high tea" and a more formal environment. The breakfast and dinner buffet is really nice. However, a bit expensive. Try the alacarte restaurant outside the pool area to get variation and to keep the costs down. For lunch, instead of the pool grill, you should try the cafe just 50 m away from the alacarte restaurant.

I guess families with smaller children would have preferred a headed pool (at least in July when we were there). However, our family (children of 13 and 15 years) found the pool quite refreshing. The zebras and impalas visiting the hotel ground gave our stay an exotic touch, despite having been several days on safari before we came here. The hairdryer in our room was the best I have ever used. We had some problems with the wi-fi connection, however the staff always helped us whenever we asked them to.

From Zambezi Sun to the the Victoria Waterfall (eastern cataract) it is only a 3 minute's walk. You can also easily walk to the Zimbabwean side. We went to the falls several times during our one week stay. The waterfall is marvellous, and you should visit several times, in different lighting (morning, mid-day and evening), and both the Zambian and Zimbabwean side + Livingstone Island. Zambezi Sun is a perfect location for doing so.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indium_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingstone
0.4 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
1.5 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,228 reviews
3.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 17 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
3.2 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Victoria Falls Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Victoria Falls Resort

Property: AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
Address: Mosi-Oa-Tunya Road, Livingstone 20100, Zambia (Formerly Zambezi Sun)
Region: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Livingstone
#3 Family Hotel in Livingstone
#4 Romantic Hotel in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Victoria Falls Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zambezi Sun, located on the edge of the eastern cataract of the Victoria Falls, reflects the richness and diversity of the country’s heritage; capturing the very soul of Africa – unpretentious, fun and welcoming. With its warm, earthy architecture, inspired by an African walled village and simple finishes highlighted in bright mosaics and fabrics as well as intoxicating Zambian artworks and accessories, the Zambezi Sun is set to turn your stay into a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your AVANI Victoria Falls Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zambezi Sun Livingstone
Zambezi Sun Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing