We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Livingstone
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

This hotel is in the perfect location for Victoria Falls. It is 5 mins walk from the falls themselves and within the national park so it does not cost anything to visit the falls as many times as you want. This is the main reason I have given the hotel 4 stars plus the fact that you can see zebra and baboons outside your bedroom window and as you wander around the grounds. Awesome!
The rooms are clean and very adequate, decorated in vibrant colours with a decent bathroom. Do not leave your window open as baboons will find their way in and tear everything apart. It nearly happened to me but I saw them in time and instantly shut the sliding doors onto the garden.
Pool area very clean and quiet with sufficient sun loungers.
My main negative about this hotel is the food in the restaurant at night. We were travelling as a 3 with our 19 year old son and we all thought the food was poor and the most expensive we had on our holiday. We did not choose any drinks other than water as so expensive. I guess we had been spoiled travelling all over South Africa with great food and even greater prices. We do not mind paying for a great meal but meat was tough and chewy and even the fresh cooked stir fry wasn't quite right.. If you get the food right you would have a great hotel.
Just to mention that breakfasts are much better.
Please do not get put off though as you are there for the Vic Falls and not for a gourmet experience.
There is a nice Indian Restaurant in Livingstone which is only a taxi ride away.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillykLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    582
    701
    254
    51
    21
See reviews for
381
629
89
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Had a lovely 2 night stay at this hotel. Good tour of the falls in the morning and good to go in our own time in the afternoon too. Animals in close proximity and in the grounds of the hotel. Wifi restricted to hotel foyer.
Visiting the neighbouring Royal Livingstone is worthwhile especially as the sun goes down as they have a great viewing deck and worth staying for dinner too.
Baboons were over friendly and caused incident but the royal Livingstone security staff dealt efficiently with the situation and we're experienced first aiders.

Room Tip: Work ongoing at present so ensure that your room is not next to that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YMKScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kibaek, Denmark
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Very recommendable. 5 minutes walking distance to The Victoria Falls. Wild life, like Zebra, Impala, Baboon and Giraf, right outside the rooms. Free entrance to the Falls. Free shuttle to all activities you have booked. Very friendly service.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockeren1449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Room was excellent, close to the Falls Park which is what I wanted so that I could photograph the Falls with a lunar rainbow on the full moon.
After we checked in I told the kitchen staff that I was Gluten intolerant, but the message didn't get through to breakfast the next morning. Had to wait half an hour for bread to be obtained at another hotel then defrosted.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

stayed for 3 nights. had restricted wireless time. small rooms, buffet that costs >$50.00 pp or the other option was go to their steakhouse and calculate your own bill and get your own glass for your drink because the service is so inept and slow. the list goes on... unfortunately the Sun company feels that either you stay at the Royal Livingstone and get treated like royalty for $600/ night or you deserve the bare minimum, by staying at the Zambezi. talk about making sure the customer knows if you travel with family and need double beds in your room, then the Royal is NOT for you... you deserve the bare minimum because you chose to travel with friends and family. ... the staff tried and the manager was accommodating but the company makes sure they have very little to work with to make their customers happy.

Room Tip: there isn't one
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sureddymd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malawi
Level Contributor
213 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

滝までホテル内を通って徒歩5分と至近距離であり、なによりZambezi Sunホテル滞在者は無料で何度でも滝へ入場可能なのが嬉しい。ホテル内も、アフリカンテイストで、スタッフのかたものんびりとフレンドリーで大変快適な滞在となりました。夜はライブ音楽などでゆっくりできます。ホテル内にシマウマが見れる時もあり、となりの系列ホテル付近では、ラッキーだとキリンを発見することもできます。また、朝食も種類が豊富でおなか一杯になります。滝を見に行くなら是非お勧めしたいホテルです。

Just a step away to waterfall from this hotel. I have completely relaxed with this hotel7s atmosphere and friendly staff members. If you are lucky, you might see zebra and giraffs around this area. Breakfast is also worth to mention, there are wide range of food available and you will be pretty full! I would recommend this hotel if you are planning to visit and stay Livingstone for some nights!

Room Tip: ポーターさんはいますが、階段しかないので、好みにより一階のほうがいいかもしれません。Although there are porters, some may prefer to stay at gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimiko86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lusaka, Zambia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Beautiful grounds, right next to Vic Falls, 5-10 min walk! Lovely animals roaming the grounds. The staff was very friendly! The breakfast was a huge buffet every morning! I just cant rave about the hotel enough! Our water did go out, but a quick call to the front desk and less than 15 minutes later, it was back on. Had a beautiful room facing the pool and saw Zebras passing everyday through the grounds. Comfortable beds and nice large tub in the bathroom. The wait staff at the restaurant by the pool was very helpful, along with the bartenders. Even the activities desk located in the lobby was terrific! We had a problem occur with the lion encounter company (which I did NOT book through hotel but online) but when I asked the lady to call and verify, the company said, we looked for you yesterday, too late, bye. She quickly called another company that was right down the road, had them pick us up within 15 minutes and it was a great experience!! Also, highly recommend a dinner at the Royal Livingstone. They will take you there for free (located next door at their sister hotel) and the prices are not bad. If you want low key, I highly recommend going to Royal Livingstone for sundowners on the deck. You can watch the sunset over the river, listen to the falls, and receive free appetizers from the hotel (if you order drinks).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeganSamfya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingstone
0.4 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
1.5 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,186 reviews
3.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 17 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
3.2 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Victoria Falls Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Victoria Falls Resort

Property: AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
Address: Mosi-Oa-Tunya Road, Livingstone 20100, Zambia (Formerly Zambezi Sun)
Region: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Livingstone
#3 Luxury Hotel in Livingstone
#4 Romantic Hotel in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Victoria Falls Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zambezi Sun, located on the edge of the eastern cataract of the Victoria Falls, reflects the richness and diversity of the country’s heritage; capturing the very soul of Africa – unpretentious, fun and welcoming. With its warm, earthy architecture, inspired by an African walled village and simple finishes highlighted in bright mosaics and fabrics as well as intoxicating Zambian artworks and accessories, the Zambezi Sun is set to turn your stay into a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your AVANI Victoria Falls Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zambezi Sun Livingstone
Zambezi Sun Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing