We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic and peaceful place on the Zambezi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chundukwa River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Abuja
1 review
“Idyllic and peaceful place on the Zambezi”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I can certainly echo the very positive reviews already here. We stayed in Chundu Cottage, a self contained house a short walk from the main lodge. It was cool, well-furnished and very relaxing with a large plunge pool the kids really enjoyed. It was amazing to be so close to the Zambezi that you could see it flowing and hear the hippos calling across the water. Great to sit out on the terrace and read a book, have a gin and tonic or later, sit by the fire. The lodge hospitality was excellent thanks to Lizanne, John and Pascal. The food was very good too, including my veggie options which were delicious.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    25
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
44
87
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We stayed for 3 nights, and it was amazingly relaxing. It was a beautiful loocation, with lovely views of the river. The staff were amazing - completely personalised service, and very welcoming. Can't recommend highly enough and if we ever go back to Livingstone we will 100% stay at Chundukwa!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blondie26Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Our family unfortunately live on 3 continents so it was a very special treat for us to meet in Windhoek and do a road trip together through Namibia and Botswana, ending with a 2 day Christmas at Vic falls. I did a lot of research before choosing Chundukwa. It surpassed all our expectations! It is almost a month later and we still talk about that perfect place: the setting is so beautiful, the food was superb, the trip to the falls magnificent, the boat ride marvellous... but what came as a surprise is how much we are missing the staff! Pascal, Henry, Levi, Grace, John and Lizanne: we felt so welcome. Each and every member of the staff made a special contribution to make this the most memorable 2 nights of our trip. It is my dream to repeat the experience sometime in the future. Thank you!

Room Tip: The cotage is lovely for a larger group. For a smaller group I would say a river room must be very s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elize B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eext, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We stayed at the lodge over Christmas 2012 and had 3 wonderful days. We had one of the cabins with an inside bathroom for the three opf us. There are also 3 cabins with an outside bathroom as well as one family cottage. Chundukwa is a 30 to 40 minutes drive from the Falls and Livingstone town. We drove this road maybe 8 times and never got bored: we saw birds giraffes, zebra's and buffalo's, a lovely village with villagers living their village life. At the lodge and on their sundowner cruises (included) hippo's, crocodiles, monkeys and many birds. (We missed the elephants which are also seen quite often) John and Lizanne are wonderful hosts and the staff are great. We saw a lot of Peter, the very friendly driver/guide and Levi, our lovely boat-driver and waiter. Both great guys! The food was very good and fresh (We had a great Christmas -champagne- breakfast on the balcony overlooking the Zambezi!!) Coming back from sightseeing there was always a small fire with deckchairs around it and to have a drink before dinner was served. We visited the Livingstone Hotel because the trip to the Devils Pool (Highly recommended!) leaves from this Hotel but were glad we stayed in Chundukwa because of the noise at this hotel from the helicopters flying on and off!! Chundukwa is a lovely, quiet heaven. No noises at all, exept the jungle-noises (Which are really loud during the night!! My family slept well but I myself had to use earplugs :-) We can recommend this lodge to anyone seeking peace and quiet and.... personal attention!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wytske W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We stayed for only two nights and wished we could have spent a week! We loved the birding right out the front of our cabin and had a lovely New Year's with the owners too. The service was impeccable and the cabins heavenly. Would definitely recommend staying here on your trip to Livingstone rather than in town.

Room Tip: We loved the Kingfisher room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKL W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We arrived at Chundukwa after 5 days in Botswana, after a long hot journey we were greated with some lovely cold fruit juice, and met by John and the team.
Unknown to us we were the only people staying at the time, so we had choice of rooms to stay, which lovely to look around the whole place.
This was a 2 day stay for my 50th birthday, apprently we already had the Chundu Cottage but the choice was mine - guess where we went!!.
Having the run of the place was amazing so peaceful, after our evening meal cooked by our personal chef we sat out on the balcony listering for wildlife, its crazy how you so into listerning for the glimpse of anything, in the end we had all the lights off just sitting in the dark waiting, even if nothing comes ( which it didnt) it still sticks in your memory.
We were taken to Victoria falls the next day for a helicoptor ride as we saw the falls from Zimbabwe side already ( the better sideby the way).
Then brought back for lunch on the island the other side of the Zambezi, we were so supprised to to see a victorian sence of tables and chairs white tablecloth all set up underneath a spreading tree with the most gorgeous food.
This continued into the evening with superb meal and a suprise birthday cake cooked by Henry.
Everything that was organised there is done with so much thought but also left for exactly how you would like it to be in the time you like.
The cottage itself has 2 large bedrooms, lovely comfy beds, huge indoor lounge area and kitchen with complimentory bar- great for birthdays!!
Balcony with dinning area and small swimming pool, oh and elephant play area by the looks of it with lots of muddy footprints.
The day we left was a sad day as it was the best place we had stayed in Botswana and Zambia, we could have easily stayed longer, the world is a big place.
Would just like to thanks all the staff that looked after us so well, Levi, Henry, Peter, Joshua & Sam, and host John, you all made this the most amazing birthday ever

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KLSAINTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esher, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Such a lovely amazing place. Where to start...? Lizanne and John made us feel very welcome throughout our stay and gave us lots of great advice on places to visit, even organising trips for us such as the visit to the Falls and swimming in the Devil's pool. Their knowledge really enhanced our stay. Best trip however has to be Chundukwa's own sunset boat trip on the Zambezi. The staff at Chundukwa are very friendly and made us feel very special. The food was really good - we ate overlooking the Zambezi with the chorus of hippos to serenade our supper, beside the plunge pool and a fire on cool evenings. The lodge rooms were charming but well equipped. This is a beautiful place to relax - we are so glad we started our Africa trip here and wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrington-66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
0.0 mi away
The River Club
The River Club
#4 of 17 in Livingstone
187 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 17 in Livingstone
390 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 17 in Livingstone
1,685 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thorntree River Lodge
Thorntree River Lodge
#6 of 17 in Livingstone
96 reviews
0.0 mi away
The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chundukwa River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chundukwa River Lodge

Property: Chundukwa River Lodge
Address: Kazungula Road, Livingstone 20100, Zambia (Formerly Chundukwa Tree Lodge)
Region: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chundukwa River Lodge is an African Bush Lodge built on stilts overlooking the Zambezi river. It is beautifully situated with panoramic views of the river - upstream from the Victoria Falls. Offering the best of both worlds - only 30 min from the falls and far enough from Livingstone town to be away from the noise of helicopters and traffic. Essentially perfect for nature and bird lovers and for those who simply want to absorb the best of Africa. There are flights from Johannesburg and Lusaka every day and easy road access from Zimbabwe, Botswana and Namibia. Our private thatched cottage is perfect for those wanting to enjoy a home on the Zambezi. It has 1 double en-suite bedroom, 1 double/twin bedroom and one child's bedroom, a second bathroom, an open plan lounge/kitchen area, shaded patio, deck and rock splash pool. The cottage comes fully staffed with a personal,waiter and house-keeper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Chundukwa River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chundukwa River Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing