We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Penny Kennard-Davis. Bucket list trip to the Vic Falls” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chundukwa River Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Chundukwa River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Port Alfred, South Africa
1 review
“Penny Kennard-Davis. Bucket list trip to the Vic Falls”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

An incredible little lodge in an amazing setting. From our collection at Livingstone Airport to the end of our 3 day stay my daughter and I had 5 star service from incredibly friendly, efficient staff. We were the only guests and that made it all the more special. I cannot fault any aspect of it, excellent food, wonderful river cruise, super accommodation - nothing too much trouble for any member of the staff. Lizanne organised our helicopter flight over the Falls, as well as the day tour there, riding with the elephants and transfer through the border to Zimbabwe early on our final day. And it's a short hop from Jo'burg!

Room Tip: We stayed in Honey Guide chalet, with it's own little verandah right over the Zambezi River and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    25
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
41
84
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cleveland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Our honeymoon began with Livingstone and 4 nights at Chundukwa River Lodge. We LOVED it! It was relaxing, quiet and charming. Lizanne, John and the rest of the team were very gracious and we felt they really went above and beyond to make our stay perfect- I have some dietary restrictions and not only were they able to accommodate me but the food was fantastic! I can't say enough good things about this lodge or the staff, I would return in a heartbeat! Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samlcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We booked 4 nights at Chundukwa River Lodge and were very pleased with our stay. Although the Lodge is remote from town ( about 25-30 min) That's also a plus. There was no hustle or bustle from the city or the relentless sound of helicopters overhead. At night, we fell asleep to the sounds of hippos asserting their territory in the river below us, or the occasional dog barking in the distance. They say some elephants trek through the grounds at times, although we never saw them, but we did get visits from the local donkeys. :-) The Lodge has a fantasticly laid back vibe.

We loved our little chalet, on stilts overlooking the river... no glass windows, just canvas roll down shades for inclement weather or cold. (we enjoyed perfect sleeping weather with them up) The mosquito netting was not only part of the ambience but also practical, however, we didn't find any problem with unwelcome bugs! We also had a lovely ensuite bathroom with rain shower head. Beds were comfortable and the chalet was spotlessly clean. We also had a little deck with chairs ideal for just chilling.

The Lodge was all inclusive for us, including laundry service, which we really appreciated, as this was at the end of our African trip. Meals were good and served al fresco on the patio and every attempt was made to accommodate any dietary restrictions. We enjoyed being able to meet fellow travelers and compare notes. At night, a little fire was lit on the patio of the lodge, which was appreciated as nights cooled down. There is also a pretty little pool, but is really just a dipping pool. Relaxing though after a busy day... or not.

The staff is always on hand, professional and ready to help. Also included was a sunset boat ride on the Zambezi which we adored. Our driver and guide had a keen eye to the wildlife in and around the river and got us as close as was safe to it. The sunset was simply magical.

All in all, we really enjoyed our stay at this unpretentious, comfortable and laid back Lodge. I would gladly recommend it.

As a side note, Zambia is not a wealthy nation. The Lodge accepts clothing donations for the staff's village and fairly distributes it.. It was win-win...We were able to lighten our load and make room for our souvenirs, while helping out the staff that had worked so hard for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABR-Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Following a safari in Botswana decided to visit Victoria Falls on way to Mauritius. Our agent recommended Chundukwa Lodge and what an idyllic place it turned out to be. About 25K from the Falls this only has 5 lodges but they are all beautifully clean and well equipped. There is cerainly no need for TV as all the Lodges are on stilts on the bank of the Zambezi River. They have a completely open aspect over the river for ever changing views.
Food is taken next to the small swimming pool again overlooking the river and is very well prepared and of high quality.
Lizanne and John, the management team, really do go the extra mile to ensure you get the maximum from your stay and were very willing to organise our Falls Trips, Tour of Livingstone and a very special visit round the local village.
All in all a great place to stay for a visit to the Falls.

Room Tip: We stayed in Lodge 1 but I think they are all pretty much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thowdies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

The Zambezi River - WOW! To have a room that allows you to practically touch this beautiful river from the windowless windows - DOUBLE WOW! To have the lodge to ourselves, the best and most personal service you could dream of, and some excellent food to boot - TRIPLE WOW!

And the added extras; warm fresh popcorn with our sundowner drinks after a long day visiting Vic Falls, all guide and transfer arrangements made on our behalf by John and Lizanne, and Livey who took us on an amazing sunset cruise on the Zambezi, served our exceptional dinners and kindly showed us around his village where we had the honour of meeting some of the school children.

What have I missed? Oh yes, the elephants! Watching an elephant swim is extraordinary but watching 15-20 elephants swim is, well, loud! Elephants can be found cheekily stumbling around the lodge, eating anything green, pulling down tree branches, blocking paths and generally causing gentle destruction. But that's what makes the lodge so special and natural and we wouldn't have had it any other way.

With thanks to John, Lizanne, Peter, Henry, Livey and Pascal plus all the other hardworking staff.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Spoons_6512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

From beginning to end, I had a fabulous 5-night stay at Chundukwa after a hectic safari. The welcome, unexpected upgrade to separate rooms, the rustic beauty of the rooms (with 'windows' open to the sights, sounds and smells of the river), the stunning view of the River Zambezi and Zimbabwe, the food (including fulfilling our request for decaff coffee), and the friendliness and attentiveness of all the staff were all wonderful. It is quite a skill to be attentive at all times but unobtrusive at the same time and they achieved this with perfection.

It was lovely to see the river from all angles – from the peaceful terrace, the lodge, and with our sundowners from the boat with Livey, whose gentle manner and skill at spotting the wildlife is exceptional.

After our trip to Livingstone, it was delightful to return to the seclusion and peacefulness of Chundukwa River Lodge away from the whirring engine noise of the helicopters over the Falls and the hustle and bustle of busy hotels, returning to the serene and beautiful location of Chundukwa and watching elephants swim across the river. It all seems such a long time ago ...

It was so relaxing that we became known as the ‘lazy ladies’. Thank you so much again for everything and for making our all-too-short a stay in Zambia so wonderful and please pass on our thanks to everyone who played a part in making our time with you so special.

And I’m glad to hear that your friendly neighbourhood rogues (aka elephants) are behaving themselves, especially after all the hard work to complete the new bridge crossing! Hope your lemon tree is still intact though!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed at Chundukwa at the end of August for 3 nights and loved it. It was super relaxing on the Zambezi river, out of the way of the business of Victoria Falls. While some have noted the distance from the falls, I much preferred staying in the slightly more remote location. It really is only about a 30 minute drive from the falls, through a national park where you may have elephant and giraffe sightings (so it really isn't that bad!)

The lodge is very quiet and calming, the perfect respite after a busy day. Your stay comes with a sunset cruise on the river and a full day tour of the falls and whatever other activities you would like to do (activity costs not included, but driver included for the day). Lizanne and Jon will work with you to try to fit your activities into this day, but we wanted to have a more relaxed stay and opted to spread out our activities over two days.

The lodge is all-inclusive, 3 meals a day plus beverages (including alcohol). It was simply lovely - the food was very delicious, gourmet meal style! Usually started with a salad of fresh ingredients, a main dish (we had pork, steak, etc.) and dessert (usually some kind of delicious cake!)

The chalets overlook the river and we were able to see a pretty active hippo pod right from our room. The beds are super comfy and have electric blankets for the cold nights.

The staff was very friendly - we loved Levy and Pascal, and they really made our experience memorable. All in all, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to folks - I was initially nervous about the distance from the falls, but it was no problem at all, and I was very happy actually to return each night to our chalet...away from the helicopters and touristy nature of the falls (to be honest you really only need 1 afternoon to do the falls and Livingstone Island, so I wouldn't be overly concerned with staying right there).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank citysearcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
0.0 mi away
The River Club
The River Club
#4 of 17 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
0.0 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 17 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 17 in Livingstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
0.0 mi away
The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa
0.0 mi away
Camp Nkwazi
Camp Nkwazi
#10 of 84 in Livingstone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chundukwa River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chundukwa River Lodge

Property: Chundukwa River Lodge
Address: Kazungula Road, Livingstone 20100, Zambia (Formerly Chundukwa Tree Lodge)
Region: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chundukwa River Lodge is an African Bush Lodge built on stilts overlooking the Zambezi river. It is beautifully situated with panoramic views of the river - upstream from the Victoria Falls. Offering the best of both worlds - only 30 min from the falls and far enough from Livingstone town to be away from the noise of helicopters and traffic. Essentially perfect for nature and bird lovers and for those who simply want to absorb the best of Africa. There are flights from Johannesburg and Lusaka every day and easy road access from Zimbabwe, Botswana and Namibia. Our private thatched cottage is perfect for those wanting to enjoy a home on the Zambezi. It has 1 double en-suite bedroom, 1 double/twin bedroom and one child's bedroom, a second bathroom, an open plan lounge/kitchen area, shaded patio, deck and rock splash pool. The cottage comes fully staffed with a personal,waiter and house-keeper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chundukwa River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chundukwa River Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing