We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST OF THE BEST!”
Review of The River Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The River Club
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Livingstone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Several years ago, a friend and I were traveling together prior to flying to Cape Town to board the old QE@ for a cruise to Southampton. Through another mutual friend in Cape Town, we dealt with a very competent travel agent who booked us at The River Club. I still reflect on that trip, as it was one of the best of the best I've ever done ... and I've visited all 50 states, 37 countries, and soon to be all seven continents. (Yes, I've been fortunate!). Anyway ... I couldn't afford The River Club now on my retirement, but while I was working it was definitely worth the splurge! I would love to go back ... it sort of seems like a wonderful dream these days. Trust me, you will NOT be disappointed! I can't praise it high enough.

Room Tip: Just make sure you get an open-wall room facing the river so you can hear all the animal sounds at n...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cabearcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterROJones, Owner at The River Club, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear William L
Thank you very much for your review and I do hope that you will be able to come back and see all the various little changes that have been made since you were here. There are often specials available during the year at different times and if you were to speak to your travel agent they may be able to put something together for you.
Until then, enjoy your time in retirement.
Best regards
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
There are newer reviews for The River Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2013

Probably my new favorite place to stay in the world. Old world British hunting lodge charm. Impeccable furnishings in the main lodge and cabins. My cabin was private on the hillside overlooking the river. The front was screened but completely open to a fabulous view. The lower level had a large old cast iron free standing tub and I enjoyed the best bubble bath of my life - facing the wide open river and under a beautiful moonlit starry sky - magical. The staff was exceptional and the food was delicious.

Room Tip: Bring a bathing suit as the pool over looking the river is so inviting.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterROJones, Owner at The River Club, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear Phbell
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review on the lodge and we all appreciate your kind words. The bathrooms are indeed a highlight especially at sunset and twilight with the hippos chorkling in the river below. The chef was thrilled to hear about your comments on his food.
Very best wishes and happy further travels in the future. Hope to see you again soon.
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We arrived very late, dusty and travel weary after 13 hours of driving through the Kafue National Park. We were not sure whether our rooms were going to be held for us as we had had no phone signal for 4 days prior to our stay. When we arrived we were greeted by Trudy and all the staff, we were greeted by our Christian names. A fantastic dinner was ready for us on the terrace outside the main building. The bedroom was beautiful but little did we know what was in store for us when the morning sun came up. The noise of the Hippos and wild life seemed excitingly close.
We awoke to the most amazingly stunning view of the Zambezi river, the whole side of our room, which had seemed like a black screen the night before transformed in front of our eyes to this fantastic view.
The infinity swimming pool was beautiful too with again this fantastic view. The staff could not do enough. Peter the owner made us feel so welcome. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Zambia.

Room Tip: Our room was a suite with terrace & plunge pool overlooking the river which we can recommend. Ou...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ticeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterROJones, Owner at The River Club, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear Ticeans
Many thanks indeed for your report on TripAdvisor. We thoroughly enjoyed having you to stay and I am delighted that the lodge offered a comfortable and relaxing interlude during your holiday. Safariing is just the best way to see Africa and a hot bath/shower, good food and comfortable bed always caps the end to a great day especially after that long drive from Kafue.
Do come back and see us again sometime.
Kind regards
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Great place , even better location, and fantastic people to help . Peter, Trudy and all the staff were wonderful, Gilbert our guide to Victoria Falls was an amazing day. Great start to our holiday in a truly wonderful setting. Can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: We were lucky as we had 2 different rooms after they learnt we were on our honeymoon. Both rooms wer...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterROJones, Owner at The River Club, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear TerryO
We are delighted that you had a great time with is us on your honeymoon. It was great to have played a part in making it so memorable and we look forward to helping you celebrate one of your anniversaries when you return! Same room?
Very best wishes and hope that all is well with you both
Peter and everyone at the lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

My husband, my 14 yo son and I stayed here at the end of March. This place is fabulous. First it is on the banks of the Zambezi river so the views are captivating. there are hippos in the water off the camp so you can hear them esp. later in the day. Each room is on its own and the wall facing the river is a screen so you can always look out. We had a family suite which was 2 sleeping areas long with the sitting area, a patio with a plunge pool and 2 bathrooms. One had an outdoor shower.

Decor is very colonial. AC can be used to cool down rooms at night. Food service was great. All meals were seated and one ordered off a menu with at least 3 choices. Peter the owner and Trudy the ops manager are very hospitable and try to answer all questions and respond to all needs.

We went on the evening bot trip, saw baboons, crocodiles, hippos. Earlier in the day we saw a herd of elephants.

Victoria Falls trip is fascinating and you get rally wet. Need at least 2 pair of shoes, possibly tevas or keens for that.

Small gym and a running path. Lots of mnkeys on the grounds.

We loved this place.

Room Tip: we stayed in the family suite whihc had a king and 2 twins
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amalaPrinceton_Nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterROJones, Owner at The River Club, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear Amalaprinceton,
Thank you for your review on TA and I am delighted that you found the Litunga suite so comfortable. The extra bathroom in the children's section has definitely helped to improve the room for families.
Thank you for the note on extra shoes in March when the Falls are very full. In fact we would suggest that between February and July the water is still high enough for others to take your advice in this regard.
Happy traveling and hope to see you again. Kind regards
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

The River Club is a wonderful place to rest, relax and recover from the stresses of a busy life. I am a return visitor and am always sad to leave. The gorgeous location high up on the banks of the great river with an unimpeded view and the special ambience created by the wonderful staff and interesting other guests makes the RC a very special place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We agreed with most of the earlier reviews concerning location food and service, but we did not know that our accommodation would have three levels. We were upgraded to the Livingstone suite and enjoyed the plunge pool but as we are an older couple and one of us has a slight mobility problem having our lounge up one flight from our sleeping area and the bathroom and loo 7steep steps below was a bit of a nuisance especially for night time loo visits!
Sunset cruise with no other guests was lovely. We were surprised to find only one other couple there the two nights we stayed.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterROJones, Owner at The River Club, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2013

We would like to thank Cathy S for her review and thank her for her positive comments and for pointing out the issue she encountered which we were not made aware of during her stay. We would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused. We offered the upgrade to one of our suites since it was available not realising that the 7 stairs in the room would cause a problem. All of our other rooms have bathrooms and lounges on the same level. In fact all of our standard rooms (we had initially put Cathy S and her husband into one of these) has 2 bathrooms in them: one on the same level (with a shower) and one down stairs (with bath and a shower). In future before offering an upgrade to the Livingstone suite we will ensure that guests using it are aware of the layout of the other rooms so that they have the option. Again we would like to thank Cathy S for staying with us and for her review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingstone
12.5 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
0.2 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 18 in Livingstone
402 reviews
12.8 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 18 in Livingstone
1,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Victoria Falls River Lodge - Zambezi Crescent
10.6 mi away
Protea Hotel Livingstone
Protea Hotel Livingstone
#5 of 18 in Livingstone
273 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thorntree River Lodge
Thorntree River Lodge
#7 of 18 in Livingstone
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Club

Address: Farm 1519A, Nakatindi Road | Simonga, Livingstone 60469, Zambia
Region: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Livingstone
#3 Spa Hotel in Livingstone
#4 Family Hotel in Livingstone
#4 Luxury Hotel in Livingstone
Price Range: £432 - £1,024 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The River Club 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River Club is the only boutique hotel in the area and run by its owner. This former residence is a tranquil oasis on Zambia's mighty Zambezi River and is the perfect location for a visit to the renowned Victoria Falls - a World Heritage Site and one of 2 places in the world to have remained on the list the 7 Natural Wonders of the World (the other being the Grand Canyon). Located a mere 26kms/16 miles upstream from the Falls and 18kms/ 11miles from the historical town of Livingstone, The River Club forms a perfect end to a safari circuit in Southern or East Africa. The 11 private and spacious suites are individually set within magnificent trees on the edge of the Zambezi River, overlooking pods of hippo into the Zambezi National Park. A host of activities await young and old, on property as well as around the Victoria Falls. The lodge is set on a 50 acre secure property with manicured gardens, where one can completely relax away from all the noise of helicopters over hotels closer to the Falls. A magnificent rim flow swimming pool, pool loungers, private deck and hammocks complete the setting. An all-weather hard tennis court, a central croquet lawn and a 2km nature trail that can also be used as a running track for those who need to keep fitness levels topped up. Daily sunset cruises on the Zambezi River are offered at sunset. Activities in the area include a visit to the mighty Victoria Falls, game drives in the nearby Mosi-Oa-Tunga National Park, white water rafting, helicopter flights over the Falls, canoeing safaris, historical tours including places of Jewish interest and more. Dining under the stars is a highlight and a kosher kitchen ensures we are able to cater for those who require it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The River Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The River Club Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing