We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The River Club
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Tongabezi(Livingstone)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Ngoma Zanga Lodge(Livingstone)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chrismar Hotel(Livingstone)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rite Inn(Livingstone)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Fallsway Lodge(Livingstone)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveller rating
186
16
3
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
16
3
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspeter jonesplunge poolsummer houserhodes suitesunset cruisesnooker roomtwo nightslovely furniturevast knowledgerunning pathstar gourmetcharming ownerindoor and outdoor diningenjoyed delicious mealsincredible storiesplay croquetfull bathrooms
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 212 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We enjoyed the River Club so much we have recommended it to friends who have stayed there and had the same experience. Peter and his staff make you feel at home as soon as you step foot on the property. There is such a comfortable, easy atmosphere of fellowship with other travelers staying there. We stayed in the Livingston Suite. What a view of the Zambezi River when we awoke in the mornings. Don't miss this quite, peaceful retreat. Make sure you make arrangements to take the "Sunset Cruise" on the Zambezi! Great Fun!
Memphis Connection

Room Tip: This is a small resort. All rooms have view of River. We stayed in the Linvingston Suite.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterROJones, Owner at The River Club, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Joan L (and the Memphis Connection!)
It was great to have you both to stay and we all hope you get to come back soon. Thank you so much for your review and I trust that the rest of your holiday was just as spectacular.
The Livingstone Suite awaits your return!
Best wishes
Peter and all at the lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Simply an amazing place to stay. The main dining/socializing area is a spectacular converted colonial era house, attention to detail is second to none. There are great secluded riverside rooms with uninterrupted views of the Zambezi river, offering incredible ambiance and setting. The rooms are air conditioned and luxuriously set out in a colonial open style. Staff are attentive and knowledgeable. In house activities are well run and not to be missed. We did an evening sunset cruise and saw a wide range of wildlife, the guide was well trained and knowledgeable on the area/animals/fauna and flora.
The food was three courses and five star with a varied menu, you can choose to dine alone or with other guests. Excellent pool facilities overlooking the river, as well as a croquet field and a tennis court.
If you are interested in the history of the area there is a lot to be absorbed through talking to the owner and in the lodge itself.
All in all, this is lodge is an experience that adds to any travel in the area, the setting is intimate without being to crowded and I particularly enjoyed the attention to detail.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterROJones, Owner at The River Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Dear Openminded 85,
Many thanks for your review and for the approval you have given us. I have to say that having the new chef with us has really made a huge difference with all our meals and so thank you for reflecting this in your appreciation. It really is a great pleasure running the lodge with gracious guests like yourself coming to stay with us.
Looking forward to your return which we all hope will be in the near future.
Kind regards
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We just spent 3 nights at The River Club and if you are looking for a stunning place to stay with loads of ambience, amazing views, stunning rooms and the most helpful and hospitable staff; look no further!

Thank you to Peter and his great team for making this such a memorable stay. We will definitely be back. Bridgette & Glen

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fagan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterROJones, Owner at The River Club, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Bridgette and Glen,
Welcome to TripAdvisor and thank you for your first review too. It was a real pleasure to have had you both to stay and we very much look forward to your return trip.
Best wishes from all of us (including the dogs!)
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Location is great close to Victoria falls. Room was ok but torn seat cushions and lots of ants
Service from the room service and grounds people friendly, courteous waiters were good but had to wait for 40 minutes for lunch. very limited bar choices. Head staff and owner way to pompous lack of knowledge and false information giving to us. If you want a relaxing atmosphere this is not the place to be was very tense 2 night stay

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterROJones, Owner at The River Club, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Hi Dan C, thank for your review and for the positives notes that you have recorded. I am disappointed naturally that there were aspects of your stay that you did not enjoy. I would like to apologise for the mess up with your flight around the Falls but as this activity belongs to a 3rd party we are not at liberty to be able to demand that they compensate passengers for a flight which is cut short by the passenger. We did ask for consideration in the matter from the company involved but they declined our plea made on your behalf. My manager did offer her apology for this at the time and a member of your party graciously accepted her words.
With 4 house wines (2 white and 2 red), 7 fortified wines (sherry to Pimms), 5 different whiskys, 4 other spirits (gin etc), a sparkling wine, 2 local beers and a host of mixers coupled with our premium list including 14 different wines and champagne, 2 excellent malt whiskys, 3 superior whiskys, 2 burbons and 3 other superior spirits (Bombay gin etc) I believe the bar is a full one.
I thoroughly enjoyed hosting you all but am saddened that you found fault with myself and my managers. I can't think of an incident which would have created this but apologise for whatever it was that caused offence. We all hope that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and hope that you will return to Africa at some stage in the future. Kind regards, Peter and all at the lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

In a breathtaking location overlooking the Zambezi, a stay at this fabulous colonial era property feels like a house party with friends. Great food, varied (included) activities, but most importantly, wonderful staff and management. Peter is a most gracious host and charming raconteur and all his team and warm, friendly and efficient. Top marks and thanks to all.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SirCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterROJones, Owner at The River Club, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear SirC of London,
I would just like to thank you very much indeed for your review. I am delighted that the lodge was able to provide you with everything to make your stay a good one. Each evening is like a private dinner party and having converted my house to be the lodge I do very much feel as though I am still "at home" with very special guests such as yourself each time I have dinner. I am glad you felt the same way. A win win scenario!
I hope that you are planning a return visit again at some stage. Best wishes from all of us at The River Club.
Aye,
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews