We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't want to leave this place!”
Review of The River Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The River Club
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Livingstone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

From the moment we were picked up, to the moment we left, our experience here has been magical! The setting of this place on the Zambezi River gives you a breathtaking view of the sunset. At night we can hear the hippos by the river making their low "moo" calls. The staff are available for anything you could want. Our individual suite was like living in our own apartment, with a view like no other. I would definitely come back here if I am ever so fortunate to be in Zambia again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterROJones, Owner at The River Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Linda B
I hope we are lucky enough to have you to stay with us again when you come back to Zambia! Thank you for your extremely kind review and we are the lucky ones to be living here AND having guests like yourselves choosing to holiday at the Victoria Falls and enjoy time with us. It was a pleasure to have hosted you and we all very much look forward to looking after you on your return trip. Zambia is a magical place and the people are so warm hearted.
From all of us at the lodge.
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

The best place to be.....we were there during Easter and have no regrets in our decision to try the place out. After failing to get a place during the Easter break we found the River Club. Lovely luxurious place with chalets overlooking the river. Beautiful views from our chalet. Tranquil and serene the perfect getaway from the hussle and bustle of the city. The meals were fantastic and they even serve high tea at 4.00pm. They have fantastic packages to keep you busy all day long. We enjoyed our stay and look forward to going back .

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank shamohazeln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterROJones, Owner at The River Club, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Mrs,
Thank you for your very kind review of your stay at The River Club during the Easter holiday. I am delighted that we managed to provide you a welcome break away from the Big Smoke of the City. We all hope that you manage to come and stay with us again and to see the Falls at a different level. You will be amazed how different they can be. There are still many more activities to do next time round, especially the rafting which provides the best one day trip anywhere in the world and of course a dip in the Devil's Pool!
See you soon!
Best wishes from all of us.
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Owners recreated hotel with feeling that you are there with Churchill & Hemingway, on bank of the Zambesi with gorgeous charming bungalows on river bank , Food good but nothing special . Service a bit inconsistent; at times difficult to find wait staff outside of meal times. Stay includes some fine excursions--but skip the impoverished village tour.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theperipatist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterROJones, Owner at The River Club, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Peripatist
Thank you for your review of your stay at the lodge and for your feed back. We are working on your comments in a positive way which enables us to improve the quality of the services we provide.
The village tour generates varying emotions which is understandable but please remember due to the genorosity of guests staying with us we have managed to up lift the lives of the people who live there by providing the following:
Health clinic
Police Post
Supply 50,000 litres of water each day to the 4,000 inhabitants with 10 distribution points
Breakfast for 400 school children daily
Library at the school
Kindergarten classroom
Higher education for 50 scholars and 3 teachers
Village hall
Solar lights for over 300 children to do their home work at night.
Etc, etc.
Whilst the village is not ideal for all of us, it is home to a very warm hearted population who we are delighted to give assistance to.
Thank you again and very best wishes from all of us at the lodge. We hope to see you soon on a return visit.
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The reviews on Trip Advisor are the most important factor I use when I choose to stay at high quality property. When I considered where to stay near Victoria Falls in Livingstone, Zambia I read the poor reviews on the River Club from Tanunda on July 9, 2013 and Dan C. on September 19, 2013 and was CONCERNED if the River Club was the right choice for us. After staying at River Club for two nights I was really CONFUSED about the experiences that Tanunda and Dan. C. had expressed in their reviews. I wondered if they had stayed at the same River Club we stayed at because our experience was DELIGHTFUL. I am hoping anyone who is considering the River Club will minimize those reviews and get ready to savor a very exceptional African experience. Trip Advisor reviews from people with only one or two reviews are always questionable to me.

River Club is located on the high banks of the Zambezi River. After being greeted at the airport by the River Club staff we were transported by bus to a landing where we boarded River Club's watercraft for a gentle cruise to the dock of the River Club. My first impression was, this is going to be an awesome experience! After our brief orientation we were escorted to our Suite that was built in 1990s and had character. The bathtub with a view of the river was a nice touch. The bed was the best night's sleep on this trip.

I wondered if David Livingstone ever experience this type of luxury when he explored the Zambezi. Our next adventure was the sunset river cruise with Mack where we immediately discovered a full grown crocodile and a herd of hippopotamus. As the sun blended into the water Mack offered beverages and snacks and I was hooked. Dinner was served next to the infinity pool at our private table.

In summary, River Club was worth every penny we invested. Our agent bought the all inclusive package which included room, board and beverages (except premium wine and spirits), an extensive tour of Victoria Falls, sunset river cruise, tour of an authentic African village, and fishing. The service was extraordinary, the view from the room was spectacular, the food was delicious, and the African massage (extra charge) was sublime. I am so grateful we chose the River Club.

Room Tip: Book the fully inclusive package. That included more than enough to do in a two day stay and you wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterROJones, Owner at The River Club, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Ronvoyage,
I really can't thank you enough for the review of your stay with us. It was an absolute pleasure to have hosted the three of you and to have spent some time talking about your travels. I do hope that you will be able to get back to see us again but do remember to come and see the Falls at a lower water level so that you can see the magnificent spectacle in a different guise. You will be amazed at how different to looks.
Mack was mightily pleased to have gained a mention and sends on his thanks!
Please do send my very best regards to E and B and we all hope that the rest of your trip goes fantastically well.
Warmest wishes and Tripadvise On!
Peter and all of the crew at the lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We spent 5 nights at the River Club over the Christmas period and we were warmly received and beautifully taken care of throughout our stay. Helicopter tours (there is a heli pad at the River Club), elephant rides, fishing, sunset cruises, Victoria falls tour, village tour, game drives, a dinner on the steam train ...... all bookings were ably taken care of for us by the staff (Eugene and the ladies). Besides all the activities available, we did manage to spend some time soaking in the wonderful ambience of the River Club. It is like stepping back in time, with all the modern day conveniences. Meals (the Chef did a great job) and Tea are served on the patio of the colonial style main house overlooking the Zambezi River and croquet lawns (WiFi is available there). There is an infinity pool on site as well. The rooms are big, very comfortable and perfectly located overlooking the Zambezi River - the views are amazing.
Peter Jones is extremely knowledgeable on the history of the region and we were very fortunate to have him host us at dinner one of the evenings and regale us with stories of the days gone by.
Thank you Peter and to all your staff for a most memorable stay.
Ren and John Connell.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Renalda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterROJones, Owner at The River Club, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Ren and John
It was a very great pleasure to have hosted you at the lodge over Christmas and I would like to that your for your very positive and kind review. We all take a great deal of pride in all that we do here and we are extremely privileged to be living where we are and to be able share it with our guests. I have passed on your valued comments to everyone and they all reply with their thanks. We very much look forward to having more people from Lusaka come down to experience the wonders of this section of the Zambezi and we do hope that you will both be back here soon.
Best regards
Peter and all at the lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Everything about the River Club was amazing. The rooms were gorgeous and so unique. Our suite was perched right above the shores of the Zambezi River just 18 km up river from Victoria Falls. We watched the hippos and listened to exotic birds.
The food and service was outstanding. Our room was spotless.
We loved that Peter the owner had his lovely 3 dogs on site.
Highly recommend bungie jumping, swimming to angle pool at the edge of the falls and the micro light was amazing.
I would recommend The River Club to anyone who wants to find something fabulous and unique.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenSei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterROJones, Owner at The River Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear JenSei
The three dogs each received a extra bowl of dog treats for making you both feel at home during your stay with us!! I am delighted that the lodge provided just the right atmosphere for you and I thank you so much for your kind words. It is such a pleasure to share this wonderful location with you and all our other guests. Some call is work! But then I suppose one would call it working from home. Perfection indeed!
Looking forward to your return.
Best regards
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The River Club exceeded my expectations . Stunning location . Beautiful accomodation . Amazing food . Peter Jones and his staff ensured our stay was tailor made to our needs . The Elephant ride was an amazing experience but after being astride that fantastic animal for an hour I really did appreciate the excellent full body massage that I had back at the River Club. The gym may not be for everyone but after delightful food prepared by the chef Kaylinn i did think about using it . We had amazing company for our 3 night stay and appreciated the gathering together for dinner in the evening but also the option for private dining if required. Why stay anywhere else . Thank you to Peter and his staff for a truly memorable stay .
Christine . Essex England .

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterROJones, Owner at The River Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Christine
Thank you very much for your very kind review and for all your positive comments. I thoroughly enjoyed hosting you both during your stay and I am delighted that Kaylinn's food was a highlight. I am having to use the gym myself these days I have to tell you!! I have passed on your praises to Kaylinn and to Namakau at the Spa. They are both huge assets here at the lodge.
I do hope that we can meet up in the UK when I am over next.
Best regards
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingstone
12.5 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
0.2 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 18 in Livingstone
410 reviews
12.8 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 18 in Livingstone
1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Victoria Falls River Lodge - Zambezi Crescent
0.0 mi away
Thorntree River Lodge
Thorntree River Lodge
#7 of 18 in Livingstone
103 reviews
10.6 mi away
Protea Hotel Livingstone
Protea Hotel Livingstone
#5 of 18 in Livingstone
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Club

Address: Farm 1519A, Nakatindi Road | Simonga, Livingstone 60469, Zambia
Region: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Livingstone
#3 Spa Hotel in Livingstone
#4 Luxury Hotel in Livingstone
#4 Family Hotel in Livingstone
Price Range: £437 - £790 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The River Club 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River Club is the only boutique hotel in the area and run by its owner. This former residence is a tranquil oasis on Zambia's mighty Zambezi River and is the perfect location for a visit to the renowned Victoria Falls - a World Heritage Site and one of 2 places in the world to have remained on the list the 7 Natural Wonders of the World (the other being the Grand Canyon). Located a mere 26kms/16 miles upstream from the Falls and 18kms/ 11miles from the historical town of Livingstone, The River Club forms a perfect end to a safari circuit in Southern or East Africa. The 11 private and spacious suites are individually set within magnificent trees on the edge of the Zambezi River, overlooking pods of hippo into the Zambezi National Park. A host of activities await young and old, on property as well as around the Victoria Falls. The lodge is set on a 50 acre secure property with manicured gardens, where one can completely relax away from all the noise of helicopters over hotels closer to the Falls. A magnificent rim flow swimming pool, pool loungers, private deck and hammocks complete the setting. An all-weather hard tennis court, a central croquet lawn and a 2km nature trail that can also be used as a running track for those who need to keep fitness levels topped up. Daily sunset cruises on the Zambezi River are offered at sunset. Activities in the area include a visit to the mighty Victoria Falls, game drives in the nearby Mosi-Oa-Tunga National Park, white water rafting, helicopter flights over the Falls, canoeing safaris, historical tours including places of Jewish interest and more. Dining under the stars is a highlight and a kosher kitchen ensures we are able to cater for those who require it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The River Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The River Club Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing