We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tongabezi
Nearby Hotels
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort(Livingstone)
US$388
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$362
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The River Club(Livingstone)
US$920
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ngoma Zanga Lodge(Livingstone)
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$773
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$712
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chrismar Hotel(Livingstone)
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (435)
Filter reviews
435 results
Traveller rating
378
31
13
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
378
31
13
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdog housenut housepersonal valetsindabezi islandbird househoneymoon houseriver cottagecaptain felixsand barthe cottagessunset cruiseprivate islandvictoria fallsbubble bathinclusive activitiesdevil's poolincluded activities
Filter
Updating list...
218 - 223 of 435 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This was our first ever trip to Africa and what a great choice for our first 3 nights. The staff can not do enough for you, they are so friendly. We stayed in the Tree House....WOW.....Nyambe was our valet and was fantastic. The food was great and the chef even came to introduce himself to us. The evening cruise on the Mighty Zambezi for sundowners is a must along with the romantic lunch cruise.
We were totally blown away by our stay in the Tree House, laid in bed or in the bath sipping sparkling wine looking out over the Mighty Zambezi is something everyone should experience at least once!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angela141250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tongabezi, Guest Relations Manager at Tongabezi, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave this amazing feedback. Your personal valet Nyambe and the rest of the Tongabezi family are delighted to have made some special memories for you - especially as this was your very first African experience.
The Victoria Falls are in full flood and you really did choose a great time to visit!
We do hope to see you again and maybe this time you will join us for the Lunar rainbow.
Thank you for staying with us.

Best wishes,
Juliet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This lodge epitomises the experience of sheer luxury, excellent food and personal service that is synonymous with classic African Safari Lodges. Tongabezi, however, takes it a few steps further. From the warm, friendly, Zambian welcome at reception and the discreet and respectful attention of the valet to the superbly appointed rooms and living areas and excellent food and wine makes Tongabezi one of the finest. After an enjoyable sunset cruise, we arrived back in the Dog House to candles having been lit and a piping hot bubble bath having been run with champagne on ice. Dinner was served in our private dining room and lounge around a roaring log fire and accompanied by a fine red wine. Romance at its best!! Falling asleep to the sound of the mighty Zambezi running under your room and the sound of hippos right outside is an experience that will stay with us forever. Well done Tongabezi.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 959bretth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tongabezi, Guest Relations Manager at Tongabezi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Happy Tongabezi Greetings to you!

It was lovely to read your review and thank you for taking the time to post it on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us at Tongabezi and we are particularly overjoyed that you appreciated the romantic atmosphere created by the Team, Twalumba! We shared your feedback with the rest of our staff and they are extremely grateful for your comments.

We do look forward to hosting you again.


Best wishes
Juliet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Back here after a nine year gap and can't understand why I left it so long to return. This lodge is even better than I remember. Service always exceeds expectations, the food is sublime and you are on the banks of the Zambezi, just a 30 minute drive from the Victoria Falls. What's not to like? The breakfasts are absolutely amazing!
If you stay here, be sure to visit the adjoining Tongabezi Trust school, where you will be guaranteed a very warm welcome. We'll be back!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank flissie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tongabezi, Guest Relations Manager at Tongabezi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Michelle and Amanda,

Greetings to you! It was lovely to read your review and I thank you for taking the time to post it on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us at Tongabezi and It was a great pleasure to host you yet again. The school also shares our sentiments, Twalumba!

We forwarded your feedback to the team and they are extremely grateful for your comments.

We do look forward to having you return in the future.

Best wishes
Juliet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

When I remember our time at tongabezi I feel the desperate need to get back again! It was so outdoorsy, so cozy, so full of really trully nice people. The food has no comparison everyday we had a menu change and it was so amazingly delicious! afternoon boat safaris were a hit! Congratulations to tongabezi!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happymary91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

What I Liked Most: Fantastic room, food especially breakfast

What I Liked Least: Guide recommended against visiting Zimbabwe side of the Falls

We stayed for 2 nights in the Tree House. This is a room with 4 trees as part of the structure, with an open view looking out onto the Zambesi. Quite an odd view from the toilet! Perhaps the most spectacular room of its type I have stayed in. The whole place in general has been nicely designed.

One of the included activities is of course a trip to Victoria Falls on the Zambian side. A guide was with us, and did the full tour of the Zambian side. We visited during April when there is a lot of water, and you get drenched after the first stretch on the Zambian side. We asked our guide about visiting the Zimbabwe side, and although admitting he had not been to the Zimbabwean side, he was sure it would be a "disaster" because if it was wet on the Zambian side, it would be much worse on the Zimbabwean side. Anyway, we ignored him, and the view was much better on the Zimbabwean side. Surely the guides should be aware of this, and I would argue there must be a case for including a trip to the Zimbabwean side as an optional activity.

The food was great. Breakfast was particularly inventive: try the corn bhajis or the sausage fritters. Service was friendly, helpful and cheerful.

Overall, in spite of the guide's aberration on the Falls, this was a tremendous place to stay.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 984DavidA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tongabezi, Guest Relations Manager at Tongabezi, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear David,
Thank you for your Trip Advisor comments regarding your stay at Tongabezi Lodge. We are glad that you enjoyed the Tree House and its unique features on the Zambezi River.
The Chef was extremely delighted that you enjoyed the food (especially
his Special Breakfast Menu).
We do appreciate your constructive comment regarding your visit to the Zimbabwean side of Victoria Falls and the guide in question has been debriefed accordingly. We do recommend this visit to all our guests as it is a long way to come and not see it from both sides if you can… it is of course also possible to see it from Livingstone Island and from the sky if you take a flight of the Angels. It is best to get a double or multiple entry visa if you wish to cross to the other side.
Thank you again and all the best for the future.

Best wishes,

Juliet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews