We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camping in zambia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Victoria Falls Waterfront
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I stayed in a tent at the Zambezi Waterfront Campsite in Sept 2013 and it was great monkeys right outside the door, bathrooms were adequate, pools were cool and refreshing and Bar/restaurant was good. We did the dinner river cruise and were disappointed as we were late leaving so dark coming home and hard to see anything. The Wi Fi is incredibly slow and that was frustrating but our tent, linens were clean and staff was helpful. A great first night camping in Africa.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 100Margie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SafariParExcellence, Public Relations Manager at Victoria Falls Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Good day to you,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review.
We apologise that you did not think our WIFI service was up to standard and we will try and address that issue soonest.
Overall we see that you did enjoy your stay with us.
We look forward to seeing you again in Livingstone soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
There are newer reviews for Victoria Falls Waterfront
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

The raised permanent tents protected us from the deluge of rain which fell at the beginning of March. The beds were comfortable and the linens clean. The electric light and fan came in very handy. The tents were close to everything: clean washrooms, showers with hot water, the pool, restaurant/pub and the river. The restaurant food was tasty and the buffet meals sumptuous. The shuttle bus into Livingstone was handy.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bayla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SafariParExcellence, Public Relations Manager at Victoria Falls Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you so very much for your 5 out of 5 rating! We know that we are doing our jobs at the best of our ability when we receive ratings like yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I stayed here for three nights in May, 2014. I enjoyed being in a good sized chalet right on the Zambezi river. The staff was very helpful; the room was clean, but too dark. The tours to Victoria Falls and Mukuni Village are well organized and enjoyable. The presence of monkeys and crocodiles on the property certainly establish a sense of place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Williamz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SafariParExcellence, Public Relations Manager at Victoria Falls Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Hello there!
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review.
We are happy to hear that you mostly enjoyed your stay with us.
I will bring it up with the housekeeping team that you thought the room was too dark - more lighting is need.
Thanks again and we hope to see you back here in Livingstone soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Great location for the wonderful attractions of Livingstone. This is a vibrant hotel with a nice atmosphere, yet the rooms are comfortable, roomy and quiet. Having your first breakfast facing the mighty Zambezi river, leading to the plume of spray from the Victoria Falls takes your breath away, such natural beauty just yards from your hotel. This hotel has plenty of character, you know you are in Africa which is the whole point. If you want international bland, you could be anywhere rooms, then this is not the place for you. There are monkeys, lizards, crocodiles and more in the grounds and all around you, however you feel safe as the staff are always around, making sure you have a good time. The food is international and very good. Everyone is very friendly and informal, do visit if you are coming to Livingstone.

Room Tip: Try to get a river facing room and enjoy the roar of the falls as you fall asleep.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SafariParExcellence, Public Relations Manager at Victoria Falls Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Good day and thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We think you really summed up our hotel in your review perfectly.

Thank you once again and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The camping here was nice, there is a lot of space to put up tents and the bathroom facilities are lovely. The restaurant/bar area is nice, and gets pretty fun in the evenings because of overlanding groups and the booze cruise which starts and ends there. The owner is a nice man and very helpful in organizing activities in and around Livingstone. The Internet isn't free, which is pretty annoying and the other downside is that the camp is both far away from the town of Livingstone AND far away from the Falls.

There are two nice pools on the grounds.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SafariParExcellence, Public Relations Manager at Victoria Falls Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Hello there and thank you for taking the time to write your review - we really do appreciate them.
We would have to agree with you that Graham Nel our MD is a great man who will help out any guest with whatever they may need - no request is to big or small for him.
We see that you enjoyed your stay with us in the campsite and enjoyed using our facilities. We are a little out of town (a little too far to walk) but we needed to be in order to have the river frontage that we do. The same applies to the distance we are away from The Falls.
With regards to the internet services - we are looking at changing the policies.
We hope to have you back with us soon.
Kind regards - The team at Safari Par Excellence / The Zambezi Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We camped here 3 nights, while visiting mosi au tunya. The campsite is in a terrible location being right behind a huge generator house which is extremely noisy if there is a power cut. It is also not on the water front at all so the name of the place made us very excited until we arrived there to find there was no water in sight and was squashed behind the hotel. It is right next door to the microlite tours airport, so all morning every 15mins there is the noise of an aircraft taking off really close. There are also a constant traffic of overlanders in and out which can be very noisy. The river side bar is really nice, but FAR from the campsite and the internet connection was not worth bothering with as it was not free. The showers and toilets are excellent really good pressure hot water and clean. There is also a swimming pool which is lovely but could be cleaner.
We didnt check out other campsites in the area so have nothing to compare to...but I think the most important thing about camping is having peace and quiet and the feeling of being in the bush.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linzi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SafariParExcellence, Public Relations Manager at Victoria Falls Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Hello and thank you so much for taking the time to write your review.
We are sad to hear that you did not really enjoy your stay with us as you felt that the campsite was not up to standard with regards to the noise levels or location.
The Victoria Falls is a tourist destination that can get very busy and noisy. Unfortunately the closer you are to The Falls the noisier it becomes. For peace and quiet we would normally recommend something a little further out of town.
We are happy to hear that you thought the ablution facilities were up to standard and that there was a sufficient amount of hot and cold water.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We camped here and it was nice enough. Nice spacious grassy grounds and heaps of vervet monkeys bouncing around to keep you on your toes. Restaurant did good affordable food too. We went rafting through the onsite company, Saf Par, and it was great, but I think that generally the prices for activities are pretty extravagant. You pay extra for the convenience of booking with a reputable company and I guess that's how business works. But I know of other people who've had similarly great experiences and booking through agencies in town for much cheaper. I decided to opt with Saf Par for rafting cos it can be notoriously quite dodgy and I was not disappointed.

It's pretty far away from town (taxi not too expensive if you split it with others) but beautiful location on the waterfront.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SafariParExcellence, Public Relations Manager at Victoria Falls Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We really do appreciate all the feedback and comments.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our campsites and that the vervet monkey's kept you amused. We enjoy watching them as well.
Safari par Excellence (Safpar) own The Zambezi Waterfront, that is why our activity head office is located about the dining area. One of the main reasons why we have put our head office there is for our guests convenience as it is easier to book everyone on site as opposed to going some where else.
Thanks for choosing to go rafting with us. We are a very professional company (the biggest rafting company on the Zambian side) with many many years of experience on the Zambezi River so you made an excellent choice.

We hope to have you back in Livingstone soon....but until then, safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingstone
2.9 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 18 in Livingstone
1,745 reviews
2.5 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel Livingstone
Protea Hotel Livingstone
#5 of 18 in Livingstone
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#11 of 16 in Victoria Falls
876 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
#6 of 18 in Livingstone
21 reviews
0.1 mi away
The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Falls Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Falls Waterfront

Address: Sichango Drive, Livingstone 60407, Zambia (Formerly Zambezi Waterfront)
Region: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 86 Speciality Lodging in Livingstone
Price Range: £30 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Falls Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Falls Waterfront is situated on the Northern banks of the Zambezi River, approximately 4 km's upstream from The Victoria Falls and just opposite Siloka (Long) Island.This establishment is designed to attract the younger more adventurous traveller (and of course the young at heart!) who wish to experience the Great Zambezi River, the wonder of the Victoria Falls and its stunning wildlife surrounds, without great expense. It is designed to cater for all travellers, from camping to basic, good quality chalet accommodation. The Waterfront has some lovely riverside chalets with balconies and stunning views. We also have Adventure Village Tents which are permanent tents with 2 x single beds and a campsite - so something to suit everyone. The lodge has fantastic amenities including 2 x swimming pools, a popular bar, restaurant with Peppino's by the river's pizza's (delicious!). There is also an internet cafe, wifi, small souvenir shop and a large activity centre who will help with all activities in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Victoria Falls Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zambezi Waterfront Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing