We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice finish after 14 days in a tent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Victoria Falls Waterfront
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
167 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nice finish after 14 days in a tent”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Zambezi Waterfront was our last stop before our journey backhome after a 14 day wildside safari in Botswana. The rooms were lovely, the showers GREAT! It was relaxing to sit with dinner overlooking the Zambezi. One evening elephants swam across!! Breakfast was great. Service fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SafariParExcellence, Manager at Victoria Falls Waterfront, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Hi Patricia,

Thank you so much for your lovely review on Zambezi Waterfront, I'm glad that you enjoyed it so much. I'm also glad you managed to see elephants swimming across the river in front of the lodge, such a special sight.

I hope that you had a good trip back home and that you enjoyed your time in Africa.

Kind Regards,
Waterfront Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    166
    86
    33
    22
See reviews for
66
109
67
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
darwin
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Firstly, it is nearly worth it for the view alone - and easy access to amazing river cruises!
However, at the end of twenty day camping trip with G Adventures the often cold, completely eratic water pressure of the showers was so, so disappointing from what I judge to be close to luxury accommodation. (and yes, we told reception). Guests staying in one of the most expensive rooms had the same problem and strongly advised us to move. All the extra fees like taxis to town, the falls, wireless etc. I didn't think were that big a deal until I moved to Jollyboys in town, (which I appreciate won't suit every type of traveller, but still) where they do free shuttles to the falls, a much more affordable (and competent) travel agent, so much detailed information on what to do and the double room with ensuite might not have had a river view but the shower was perfect, wireless free, book exchange, swimming pool, etc. etc. etc. If you are ending your tour here and have a few more days you won't regret the move... we have just spent 2 days in Chobe (waterfront could only orgnise day trips) and our negative experience with disinterested staff at the waterfront has been turned around. (although of course I miss that view!) :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wintravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SafariParExcellence, Manager at Victoria Falls Waterfront, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Hi,

I'm so sorry that you didn't have a very good experience at Waterfront. We have had some issues with showers recently and this is something that we are working on improving, thank you for reporting this to reception at the time as this does help us to isolate and deal with any issues.

Although we don't provide free trips to Victoria Falls or free WiFi (but will look into the possibility of doing so), our activity centre are normally fantastic at the information and tours that they provide. The tours will have been the same rates as the ones at Jolly Boys. The activity centre does also provide overnight and multiple day trips into Chobe so I will discuss this with them as this information obviously wasn't passed onto yourselves which it should have been so please accept our apologies for this.

Kind Regards,
Waterfront Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porthleven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We were staying next door at the David Livingstone Hotel and Spa, but it was very quiet. We walked along the lit-up path one evening to the Zambezi Waterfront hotel. The bar was "buzzing" with people of all ages. Their speciality is pizzas cooked to order in a large pizza oven, which were excellent. There was a great atmosphere here, with fabulous views of the river and the top of the Victoria Falls. They offer a happy hour on drinks - you would need to check what time and day. Would definitely recommend the Waterfront for an evening of pizza and drinks but cannot comment on the accommodation as didn't see any.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SafariParExcellence, Manager at Victoria Falls Waterfront, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Hi Claire,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us and thank you for visiting even though you were staying next door at David Livingstone - guests are more than welcome to walk in between the two and enjoy the varied facilities.

Our bar and pizza's are both popular and there is always a good (buzzing is a great word to describe it) atmosphere with friendly people from all walks of life making new friends - never a dull moment. Our happy hour is every Friday from 17.30 - 18.30.

Kind Regards,
Waterfront Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I stayed in a tent at the Zambezi Waterfront Campsite in Sept 2013 and it was great monkeys right outside the door, bathrooms were adequate, pools were cool and refreshing and Bar/restaurant was good. We did the dinner river cruise and were disappointed as we were late leaving so dark coming home and hard to see anything. The Wi Fi is incredibly slow and that was frustrating but our tent, linens were clean and staff was helpful. A great first night camping in Africa.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 100Margie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SafariParExcellence, Public Relations Manager at Victoria Falls Waterfront, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Good day to you,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review.
We apologise that you did not think our WIFI service was up to standard and we will try and address that issue soonest.
Overall we see that you did enjoy your stay with us.
We look forward to seeing you again in Livingstone soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria Harbour, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The raised permanent tents protected us from the deluge of rain which fell at the beginning of March. The beds were comfortable and the linens clean. The electric light and fan came in very handy. The tents were close to everything: clean washrooms, showers with hot water, the pool, restaurant/pub and the river. The restaurant food was tasty and the buffet meals sumptuous. The shuttle bus into Livingstone was handy.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bayla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SafariParExcellence, Public Relations Manager at Victoria Falls Waterfront, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you so very much for your 5 out of 5 rating! We know that we are doing our jobs at the best of our ability when we receive ratings like yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I stayed here for three nights in May, 2014. I enjoyed being in a good sized chalet right on the Zambezi river. The staff was very helpful; the room was clean, but too dark. The tours to Victoria Falls and Mukuni Village are well organized and enjoyable. The presence of monkeys and crocodiles on the property certainly establish a sense of place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Williamz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SafariParExcellence, Public Relations Manager at Victoria Falls Waterfront, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hello there!
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review.
We are happy to hear that you mostly enjoyed your stay with us.
I will bring it up with the housekeeping team that you thought the room was too dark - more lighting is need.
Thanks again and we hope to see you back here in Livingstone soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Great location for the wonderful attractions of Livingstone. This is a vibrant hotel with a nice atmosphere, yet the rooms are comfortable, roomy and quiet. Having your first breakfast facing the mighty Zambezi river, leading to the plume of spray from the Victoria Falls takes your breath away, such natural beauty just yards from your hotel. This hotel has plenty of character, you know you are in Africa which is the whole point. If you want international bland, you could be anywhere rooms, then this is not the place for you. There are monkeys, lizards, crocodiles and more in the grounds and all around you, however you feel safe as the staff are always around, making sure you have a good time. The food is international and very good. Everyone is very friendly and informal, do visit if you are coming to Livingstone.

Room Tip: Try to get a river facing room and enjoy the roar of the falls as you fall asleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SafariParExcellence, Public Relations Manager at Victoria Falls Waterfront, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Good day and thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We think you really summed up our hotel in your review perfectly.

Thank you once again and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingstone
2.9 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 17 in Livingstone
1,661 reviews
2.5 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
2.6 mi away
The N1 Hotel & Campsite Victoria Falls
The N1 Hotel & Campsite Victoria...
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
#15 of 16 in Victoria Falls
496 reviews
1.6 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#11 of 16 in Victoria Falls
830 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Falls Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Falls Waterfront

Property: Victoria Falls Waterfront
Address: Sichango Drive, Livingstone 60407, Zambia (Formerly Zambezi Waterfront)
Region: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Falls Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Falls Waterfront is situated on the Northern banks of the Zambezi River, approximately 4 km's upstream from The Victoria Falls and just opposite Siloka (Long) Island.This establishment is designed to attract the younger more adventurous traveller (and of course the young at heart!) who wish to experience the Great Zambezi River, the wonder of the Victoria Falls and its stunning wildlife surrounds, without great expense. It is designed to cater for all travellers, from camping to basic, good quality chalet accommodation. The Waterfront has some lovely riverside chalets with balconies and stunning views. We also have Adventure Village Tents which are permanent tents with 2 x single beds and a campsite - so something to suit everyone. The lodge has fantastic amenities including 2 x swimming pools, a popular bar, restaurant with Peppino's by the river's pizza's (delicious!). There is also an internet cafe, wifi, small souvenir shop and a large activity centre who will help with all activities in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, HRS, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Victoria Falls Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zambezi Waterfront Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing