We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extended Stay”
Review of Fawlty Towers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fawlty Towers
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Extended Stay”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I travelled down to Livingstone with my brother after spending a few days in Lusaka where he lives. We asked his friends in Lusaka if anyone had stayed at Fawlty Towers but no-one had so we really didn't know what to expect. Well, we need not have been concerned (not that we were). From the moment you walk through the front gates you feel like you've made the right choice of accommodation in Livingstone and everyone we spoke to during our stay there said they were impressed with the place.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and tidy as were the pool and garden. It's just a great place to come 'home' to after days out or if you feel like a rest day you can relax in the bar area, around the pool or in the gardens.
.
We originally booked 4 nights but as we enjoyed it so much, we couldn't bring ourselves to leave so we enquired if there were rooms available - luckily there were 2 en-suite rooms not booked so we turned our 4 nights there into 8 nights. I had read a review on Trip Advisor where someone else has done this and I'm sure other people will enjoy it so much they won't want to leave.

I can't wait to get back to Livingstone as there is so much to see and do and you know where I will be staying!

Well done to Elissa and her team.

Stuart M

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElissaDavie, General Manager at Fawlty Towers, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Stuart

Thank you so very much for your super review. I am so glad that you both enjoyed your stay with us so much. We are always delighted when a guest extends their stay; we view it as a compliment.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Livingstone.

Thanks again.

With best wishes,

Elissa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    146
    37
    10
    6
See reviews for
56
95
85
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Steffisburg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

i was staying there for 3 nights it is a great place to hang around there i stayed in the main building where the restaurant in 4 bed dorm the rooms are very clean as the facility the pool was clean and they look after the place very will

at 3 pm you get pancakes and from 7 am to 4 pm you have free tea or cafe they have a free shuttle to the falls runs 10 am in the morning and troops you of at the office where you get the ticket for the V Falls

i was there at te full moon time so the have a private taxi driver who is dropping you of at the office for the falls at night and he will wait for you
the have also have a kitchen for using but i was a bit disappointed about they did not have plats or cups or any thing for pouting the food after cooking
the location is very well done just accros the street there is a supermarket 3 minuts walk

if you stay there the providing a shower towel for 10 US as a deposeting and if you need a fresh towle you just exganing it

so in needs a bit improvements in the kitchen

but i would go back there again

Room Tip: get a dorm at the main building so you near to the free coffe and tea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcryf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElissaDavie, General Manager at Fawlty Towers, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Marcryf.

Thank you very much for your lovely review. It is great to have the positive feedback and I am delighted to hear that you think that we look after Fawlty Towers very well. I am also pleased that you were able to sample our delicious free pancakes along with our free tea and coffee and make use of our free daily shuttle to the Falls.

It is fantastic that you were here at the right time of the month to be able to visit Victoria Falls during the full moon to see the Lunar Rainbow. The weather is perfect for Lunar Rainbows at the moment as the rains are now mainly gone and we are now having wonderful clear evenings, but without the winter chill. The weather is also perfect for a sunset cruise on the Zambezi River. With regard to the communal kitchen, our staff usually keep the kitchen well stocked with plates, bowls, knives, forks, spoons, cups etc but perhaps there are not enough for the amount of people using the kitchen. I shall certainly assess the situation again.

With best wishes,

Elissa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lusaka, Zambia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I went to Livingstone - Zambia to catch a glimpse at the Victoria Falls and I stayed at Fawlty Towers Hotel.. It was an amazing three days and the environment was amazing.
Warm water
Clean environment

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddy_Zambia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElissaDavie, General Manager at Fawlty Towers, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you so very much for your great review. We certainly hope that you got more than just a glimpse of Victoria Falls. The Falls are looking fabulous in all their glory at the moment. Perhaps you will visit us again some day?

With best wishes,

Elissa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Fantastic place to stay - comfy beds, very clean, polite & helpful staff. We met one of the owners- a retired British guy who was so lovely and told us lots about the place. Very easy to book trips here too - they offer all the adventure activities and animal activities. Friendly & sociable atmosphere but also quiet places to chill. Lovely pool and sunbathing area, all very clean. The grounds are kept immaculate, lots of pretty plants & the grass is kept nice too. Security is 24\7 so a very safe place to stay, parking is free and secure.

Room Tip: Go for the private rooms for less of a hostel experience, they are separe buildings from the dorm ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElissaDavie, General Manager at Fawlty Towers, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you so very much for a lovely review. I am pleased to hear you were able to meet one of our lodge owners and enjoy our relaxing facilities. We hope you will return again one day.

With best wishes,

Elissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bognor regis
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Recently spent 5 nights here at Fawlty Towers in a deluxe suite. Althought this property is situated on a main road once you step inside the main door its very quiet and really relaxing! Greeted by friendly staff and 2 guys on the main door (security very good) walked through the main tv and bar area out onto the patio with a lovely pool and gardens. Our room was clean and bright complete with mozzi net and nice towels, beds were amazing! We used the communal kitchen for 3 evening meals eating alfresco by the pool (bring plenty of mozzi spray) There is a cooker, fridge and chest freezer for the use of guests (cutlery and crockery). Had breakfast twice upstairs in the restaurant and many beers round the pool - very good value for money. Free daytime tea+coffee facilities and pancakes at 3pm every day was a nice touch. Booked ALL of our tour with the in-house travel office and all went ok. Olga's pizza down the road and round the corner was very good and so was the Oceans Basket just over the road. Supermarket over the road and 2 cash points. Great Value For Money would recommend to friends and family!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samcozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElissaDavie, General Manager at Fawlty Towers, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thanks Samcozz for a fabulous and very detailed review. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed our facilities so much. We are very pleased with our new Deluxe Suites and love to hear feedback about them. I am sure you will agree with my feelings that these rooms are as lovely as any room in any other smart hotel and ours are at very reasonable price.

Thanks again. We hope we will be able to welcome you back one day.

With best wishes,

Elissa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mombasa, Kenya
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We only stayed 2 nights but had a fantastic time. The hotel is clean, the staff are friendly, the rooms are nice, the pool is great, you get free pancakes and the food is nice! The location is great with restaurants and a supermarket so close.

This place is great value for somewhere of this standard. We both had a massage here which was so good, definitely relaxing and also good value.

Only small thing...when eating dinner here it was served at 6pm which is a little early for us,, would have been nice to have the option to eat later but it wasn't possible. Not a huge issue as the food was so good anyway.

Overall, a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessicawood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElissaDavie, General Manager at Fawlty Towers, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you very much for your rave review. I am delighted to hear that you had such a great time with us and enjoyed our facilities. With regard to dinners, we offer dinners as more of a convenience to our guests who do not wish to go out to eat, rather than functioning as a full-blown restaurant and we therefore do not serve dinner all evening. Regardless, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our meals. Our chef makes delicious, old fashioned, home-cooked style food (and especially good, is his Lasagne).

Thanks again for the feedback. We hope you will visit us again one day.

With best wishes,

Elissa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

We have been traveling in Zambia for 3 weeks and this was a welcome treat for the night. The service was very good.

Despite their online name 'fawlty towers camping' - they no longer do camping anymore. We stayed in a 4 bed dorm and were the only ones there. The double rooms were on the pricy side for us so the small dorm was ideal.

The pool was lovely and clean and they have a well stocked bar. The evening atmosphere was nice and it was so quiet we slept so well. The beds are nice and comfortable and they have good mosy nets too.

The communal showers and toilets were clean and well finished. There was hot water all the time too.

All in all a good and pleasant stay, we would come again and recommend it.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kyle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elissa D, General Manager at Fawlty Towers, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Hi kyleP. Thank you very much for a fabulous review. I am delighted to hear that you had a restful stay with us at Fawlty Towers. Perhaps you will visit us again one day? With best wishes, Elissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
0.5 mi away
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
#6 of 17 in Livingstone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
4.9 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 17 in Livingstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
0.4 mi away
Jollyboys International Backpackers
0.3 mi away
Livingstone Backpackers
Livingstone Backpackers
#13 of 84 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fawlty Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fawlty Towers

Property: Fawlty Towers
Address: 216 Musi O Tunya Road | Box 61170, Livingstone, Zambia
Region: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fawlty Towers 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fawlty Towers is set in a large, private garden shaded with mango trees, with a crystal clear swimming pool. We offer accommodation for those on a budget, as well as private air-conditioned rooms and with the best service in Livingstone. Enjoy our free pancakes served every day, whilst cold beers and drinks are available at the bar. Try our chef's legendary meals or have your own barbeque round the pool on our braai stand. Internet access and a Wi-Fi hotspot is available. The Lodge is in the centre of town with seven cafes and restaurants less than 500 yards away and the town's largest supermarket is just over the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Fawlty Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fawlty Towers Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing