We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury on the Zambezi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sanctuary Sussi & Chuma
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Luxury on the Zambezi”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Our first two nights of our trip and first experience of Zambia, set the bar extremely high. Edward, Oliver and the team in Chuma House One were just exceptional there are no other words for it. Our every requirement was catered for, from those who need a gluten free diet and fussy eaters this is the perfect place. The location, right on the Zambezi was breathtaking and tranquil. The activities, all accompanied with our guide Edward, surpassed all expectations. You must visit the Falls, the local village and cruise up the river.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Sussi & Chuma, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Richard,

WOW another fantastic review from you - thank you so much!!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and happy that all your dietary requirements were met. Edward, Oliver and the rest of the team loved hosting you and would love for you to return one day soon. Edward enjoyed guiding you and is thrilled that you appreciated his efforts.

We do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family back one day soon.

Please keep up with all the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Sussi and Chuma by liking us on Facebook. Just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    21
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
49
102
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We decided to go to Sussi and Chuma for our 2 year anniversary, and it has become such a special place for us as my boyfriend proposed to me in what could not be a more romantic setting! The staff were truly amazing and went above and beyond to ensure that we were comfortable and had an amazing experience. We saw elephants next to our treehouse on almost a daily basis, and were completely spoiled in every way! We will definitely return to this magical place!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We spent our first 3 nights in Africa at Sussi & Chuma and it was by far our nicest accommodation. The other places we stayed were remote game lodges and were also very nice. The setting next to the Zambezi River was stunning. I loved hearing the river and hippos at night. The lodge provides lots of different activities so everyone in our group of 12 found something to do. The activities we ended up doing included guided trips to Victoria Falls, a sunset boat trip, fishing, game drives, elephant rides, hiking to see the rhinos, and a trip to a local village. Our guides, Allen and Chris, were excellent and very knowledgeable of the animals and local area. There were also plenty of other activities in the area which we did not partake, including bungee jumping, rafting, swimming up to the edge of the falls, booze cruises, etc... We stayed in Chuma 2 so had meals cooked in our house. Chef Paul did an excellent job of preparing food. We were always given the choice of red meat, white meat or a vegetarian option. The food was such that the adults in our group thoroughly enjoyed it but there was always something that our very picky children enjoyed too. Stephen did a fantastic job of serving food and drinks and taking care of us during our stay. One night we asked Stephen and Chef Paul if they would provide us with some Zambian music to listen to during our dinner. The next evening Chef Paul brought in his computer and played some Zambian music for us. They went out of their way for us. Edith did an excellent job with keeping our place tidy. In the evenings we would come home to find that the curtains had been shut and the electric blankets on the beds had been turned on. The managers frequently checked in with us to ask how our stay was going. Sussi and Chuma is a top notch lodge in Livingstone and I hope to return in the future.
One thing you should know about Livingstone is that it's not in the "bush of Africa". Livingstone has a population of 5,000 or more so if you want to be in "the bush" you probably should combine a trip to Livingstone with a stay in other more remote lodges. It's not to say you won't see animals here. We saw plenty of hippos, ellies, baboons, velvet monkey's, duikers, zebra, giraffe, impalas, and rhinos but there are no predators other than crocs in this area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kkotulski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2013

A friend and I started off a week-long trip with 2 nights at Sussi & Chuma. - it was the loveliest start to a holiday I could have imagined. Thamiwe, the front office manager, and the rest of her team greeted us in a way that left no doubt that they were just as excited about our upcoming safari experience as we were. Throughout the stay, the service was incredibly friendly and efficient and due to the fact that at the time we visited (late July) Sussi & Chuma was only half full, we really got to know the lodge employees, trading stories around the campfire at night and on the river cruises.

The room we stayed in was beautiful, perched overlooking the river and surrounded by trees full of chattering monkeys (watch out for them, they can be really cheeky!). The attention paid to the little details were the things that really made the trip - for example, on the first evening I returned from a river cruise where I got pretty windswept to find a hot bubble bath awaiting me, with no sign of the genie who had prepared it.

The food was simple but delicious and we got to try all the local dishes - crocodile curry, impala stew, etc. The pre-dinner drinks down on the starlit river deck were definitely a highlight!\

Overall, I'd unreservedly recommend this lodge to anyone planning a trip to Zambia. I'd advise starting your trip here before heading on to game lodges with more impressive viewing. There are no predators in the Mosi-oa-Tunya National Park, but the rest of the game-viewing is great and you get to learn lots of interesting facts about the plants and birdlife from your informative guide.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Just returned from an African trip and stayed at 4 Sanctuary lodges and this one is by far the worst. Nice enough setting but extremely poorly run. Could not do the basics like get a wake up call on-time, get lunch out on time or get back and forth to shopping or day trips. Manager Alan was invisible and everything was someone else's fault or out of his control. Poorly run so avoid if you can. Btw the big attraction in this area is Victoria Falls which is a half hour ride away, no big game to speak of other than some rhinos protected by guards with ak47's (nice relaxing touch). Huts are nice enough but are not tree-houses per se just up on stilts. Heat never worked correctly in my unit.
Avoid

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coastal45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Sussi & Chuma, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear Guest,

I was disappointed to read your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We take great pride in providing quality accommodation and excellent service. Unfortunately, we did not live up to your expectations on this occasion.

Please rest assured that this is certainly not indicative of the level of service that we aim to provide at Sanctuary Sussi and Chuma. Our past reviews on Tripadvisor are testimony to this..

Please accept our sincere apologies and thank you again for your honest feedback, it is feedback like this that allows us to keep continuing to strive for perfection in service and guest experience.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

At Sussi and Chuma you take hospitality to a very high and impressive level which we greatly enjoyed during our recent stay. In addition we loved the variety of activities and thanks to Elijah for his skill on the river and his patience escorting us to other activities, including getting us transferred to a fellow guide so that we could visit the Victoria Falls Hotel - a place with evocative memories for us. This Safari holiday was to mark our Golden Wedding anniversary and at Sussi and Chuma you came up with the perfect and touching surprise - a memorable lunch on a boat for the two of us eaten on an island in the Zambezi. How thoughtful and much appreciated. A total surprise and you even got us to the jetty without us realizing what you were up to. Your general friendliness, kind co-operation with providing us with soothing cream to calm our insect bites, and helping out with laundry on our last day etc etc was all much appreciated and made a great impression. You made our stay so homely and we did enjoy the many well informed chats with many members of staff. Great to meet staff from Bulawayo too. We have taken away most favourable memories, and think often of the delicious meals, lovely accommodation and the magnificent setting. The elephant safari was enormous fun too. Well done and congratulations to everyone. Jenny and Alan Forbes, Beaconsfield, England

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Sussi & Chuma, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Another great review from Jenny and Alan Forbes, thank you so much!!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Sanctuary Sussi and Chuma as well! Thank you for all your kind comments and we are happy you enjoyed the “anniversary surprises"

We loved hosting you both and we do hope that you will come back and visit us soon...

You can follow all the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Sussi and Chuma by liking us on Facebook. Just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
219 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed at Sussi and Chuma in Chuma House 2. It is unprepossessing on arrival. Brooms and mops were leaning on a wall near the front door. There were 3 staff (cook, housekeeper, and waitress) and a manager to greet us. None of them seemed to know what they were doing and were extremely awkward. This was the case for our entire stay. Nothing was ever offered or suggested, everything seemed to be done fairly grudgingly and with ill grace. The tv in the lounge room was turned on to what the staff seemed to want to watch in the afternoon, while we had to try and keep out of their way. There is one phone in the lounge and we would answer it and then go and find the staff member who the call was for.
The food was very pleasant and the rooms were large and comfortable. Although it is all fairly dated and could do with some modernisation. There are only outside showers. Not particularly inviting when it's a bit cool. The lights went off and on - it seemed due to doubtful wiring. Our package included certain activities but we were still charged for park entrance fees that were meant to be included. It is at least a 30 minute drive to the Falls.
Overall it was just disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davies72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Sussi & Chuma, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Mrs Davies,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review on Tripadvisor.

We are extremely disappointed to learn that you did not experience good customer service. Our aim is to delight our guests and your experience is not representative of the standards we set ourselves in looking after our guests, past feedback from guests and reviews on Tripadvisor are testimony to this.

The issue highlighted in your feedback has been addressed with our Lodge Manager as well as the House-Keeping team, who have assured us that this will not happen again.

We are terribly sorry that your stay with us was disappointing, but we are actively working to improve our standards and your feedback has proved valuable.

We hope you will give us another try in the future so we may show you a truly great Sanctuary Sussi and Chuma experience.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingstone
8.1 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
4.7 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 17 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
8.4 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 17 in Livingstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The River Club
The River Club
#4 of 17 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
2.5 mi away
Victoria Falls River Lodge - Zambezi Crescent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Sussi & Chuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Sussi & Chuma

Property: Sanctuary Sussi & Chuma
Address: Mosi-oa-Tunya National Park, Livingstone 0100, Zambia
Region: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Sussi & Chuma 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stunning main area an elevated bar, superb wine cellar, lounge and open air dining area, curio shop and swimming pool. Full English and continental breakfast is served and high tea is available on request. The elegant shaded deck offers fantastic bird's eye views across the river. And last but not least, when all the excitement of the day has caught up, a revitalising spa treatment is the order of the day. Sussi Tree Houses: Twelve luxury tree houses are built into the canopy of majestic ebony trees lining the river bank. The air-conditioned rooms all with their own private viewing deck boast superb views over the white waters of the Zambezi. And if the fancy takes you, enjoy a private dinner on your deck, while the sounds of the bush provide enchanting background music. Chuma Houses: The two private Chuma Houses are perfect for families with young children. Each house has two en suite bedrooms, a spacious lounge and dining area and private plunge pool. Each of the houses also come with their own private chef, house staff, guide and private vehicle for activities for the duration of their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sanctuary Sussi & Chuma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Sussi & Chuma Hotel Livingstone
Sanctuary Sussi And Chuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing