We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back Home!”
Review of Chanters Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chanters Lodge
Ranked #5 of 37 Livingstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2012

You and the girls have done it again Richard! What a wonderful place to stay for a relaxing, pampered time while visiting many activities in the 'adrenaline capital' of Zambia! This time we were four! The accommodation didn't let us down (as usual); the food delicious; the service unbelievable; atmosphere was like being welcomed back home. My friends and I have stayed with Richard at his Lodge in Livingstone 3 times now and each time gets better. The Girls (Richard's wonderful staff) are just like family (as is Richard) with 'hope you have a great time' each time we leave for an adventure and 'did you enjoy yourself' when we return.
All bookings are made direct with Richard online and when we arrive nothing is too much trouble - just ask and it is done. All activities for 4 people staying 2 weeks in Livingstone were organised by Chanter's Lodge after we arrived and confirmed what we were interested in. Then it was just time to relax, eat the delicious food and just chill!!
Thanks again Richard (you know we will be back), Annastasia, Susie, Sandi, Thayana, Ethel, Junior, Melanie and Monica (and Monica's little daughter Blessing)
Thanks also to Chris 'The Taxi' and George and Milli Jam for making our stay extremely enjoyable. xxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Someotherland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Thanks for your wonderful review, we were delighted to welcome you back again, this time with the girls. We were happy everything went to plan and hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2012

As soon as Richard Chanter and staff arrived at the airport to pick me up, I knew that I had chosen the right place. Room was basic, but clean and comfortable. The grounds are nicely maintained. Staff is friendly and helpful, even allowing me to use their personal laptop when I could not connect my own laptop to the free wi-fi. The guesthouse is within a short walk of town (and the excellent Livingstone Museum) and a $10 taxi ride to the Falls. I was a bit worried about getting proper vegetarian food, but I had an excellent and most satisfying meal (Junior's Bemba Brown Beans Curry). Richard has a long and colourful history in hotel management in Africa, and it shows in all of the small touches and attention to detail. Had I been in town for more than 24 hours, I would have loved to chat more with Richard about what I am sure are his fascinating experiences. Overall, a most comfortable and pleasant stay, and definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dakm108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Thanks for your wonderful review, it was a pleasure to meet you and we were delighted you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

My family and I stayed here for three nights after being picked up the lodge owner, Richard, from the airport. Room was older but clean and good enough. A full hot breakfast was included in the room rate, and we were picked up from the lodge and dropped off again for any activities we wanted to do. Onsite restaurant was ok, but was also a nice easy walk to downtown Livingstone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 July 2012

Thanks for taking the time to review our operation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Chanters Lodge is fairly basic accommodation when compared to hotels, but, and it's a big but, the beds are comfortable, you have a fridge in your room and tea and coffee making equipment and it is much less expensive.
Add to that the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff and great food (try the local specialties) and you have an ideal place to stay in Livingstone. And yes, the owner will pick you up and deliver you to the airport or bus station - free.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank POstcardswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

Thanks for your comments, we were pleased you felt the lodge offered good value for money and that you enjoyed our food. We appreciate the time taken to post a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Very friendly staff. Quiet, good location. Breaky included (eggs, beans, toast, tea, juice, cereal). Free airport transfers. There were hairs in the shower and the mosquito net was dirty. Taxi was $10 to Falls ($20 entry). Great place to stay at a good price!

Room Tip: besdide the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank realistic5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 July 2012

Thanks for the review, sorry for the housekeeping issues, we appreciate the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

I stayed here in June 2012. I was met at the airport for free transfer to the property which consists of small buildings centered around a pool and garden with the sounds of bubbling water from a small waterfall feature. The staff booked all of the things I wanted to do in Livingstone and most companies picked me right up from the lodge. When I wanted to go to town it was about $5-10US for a cab, but it is easy to walk to the craft market and the Livingstone Museum (about 10-15 minutes) as long as it's during the day. Chanters has a full bar and meal service, and you just put everything on your tab and pay at the end, which is really convenient. The rooms are simple, but have everything you need--small fridge, tea/coffee with electric kettle, towels, lockable closet, en suite bath/shower/toilet with hot/cold water. I really enjoyed the facilities, the property, and the staff!

Room Tip: There are rooms that face the parking lot and rooms that face the pool. I don't know the price d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phainopepla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2012

Thanks for your review which we feel is an accurate summary of the lodge, location and facilities. It was kind of you to give us 5 out of 5!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed here 3 nights starting the end of May. The weather was great. We were given room #1, which is a suite that includes a sitting room. It is right outside the pool area in the main bldg for $85 USD which included a complete breakfast, pick up and delivery from the airport.

We arranged for an all day river cruise/game drive in Botswana for $150 USD through the hotel. Well worth the money and should not be missed. What made it more enjoyable was the fact that we were the only ones on the tour.
To get to Victoria falls we hired a cab driver to take us and wait for us. The cost is $10 USD ea way. We had him drive us to a place for lunch and to the bridge to see the Falls. All this took about 4 hrs so we pd him $30(we also bought him lunch).
We ate dinner at the hotel ea night. Prices are reasonable and the food good. Try the local fish.

We never went into town. It is a walk. I definitely would take a cab.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main bldg for a less expensive room which is still fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldTravler1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Thanks for your kind review and for recommending our lovely Zambezi Bream! Pleased you enjoyed your safari to Chobe and in general your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
1.8 mi away
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
#6 of 18 in Livingstone
27 reviews
6.1 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 18 in Livingstone
1,812 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tabonina Guesthouse
Tabonina Guesthouse
#1 of 37 in Livingstone
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Fawlty Towers
Fawlty Towers
#5 of 91 in Livingstone
419 reviews
0 mi away
Gloria's Bed & Breakfast
Gloria's Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 37 in Livingstone
115 reviews
1 mi away
Zigzag B&B
Zigzag B&B
#4 of 37 in Livingstone
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chanters Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanters Lodge

Address: Lukulu Crescent | off Obote Avenue, Livingstone 20100, Zambia
Phone Number:
Region: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Livingstone
Price Range: £48 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chanters Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable Lodge in residential part of Livingstone town with all rooms air conditioned and bath/shower rooms en suite. Single, double and family rooms all with breakfast included. Swimming Pool and a la carte restaurant. Lovely tropical gardens with al fresco dining. Handy for Livingstone Airport 8 minutes and 10km only from Victoria Falls. Airport transfers and visa waivers arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chanters Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chanters Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing