We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A safe relaxing place to stay”
Review of Chanters Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chanters Lodge
Ranked #5 of 37 Livingstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We went to Zambia to celebrate our son's wedding and we all stayed at Chanters Lodge. Richard made our stay there so enjoyable. He was helpful from the very first email I sent and sorted out the right rooms for us all and booked the trips to Chobe safari park for us prior to our arrival. He was there at the airport to meet us and arranged for our son and his wife to be met at the bus station the next day. Our daughter and son-in-law arrived the next day by car and there is good safe parking for several vehicles. Our room was great and a very generous size as we had asked for twin beds and we were given a family room. The shower and bath always had plenty of hot water, there were sufficient sockets in the room to charge up equipment and we had a kettle to make our own cups of tea. There were extra blankets for those who find the nights a bit cool. There is an air conditioner for warm days and a heater for cooler nights.The pool is lovely although a little chilly at this time of year, but it is very pleasant to sit on the loungers in the sun and relax to the sound of babbling water. The grounds are well cared for and very pleasant and safe. We had a good time looking after our 20 month old grand daughter, running around the gardens, while her parents went on a safari.
The staff were so friendly and helpful and the menu was excellent, with a very good selection of Zambian and western food. There is a good choice of drinks at the bar. A good breakfast is included in the price and the Lodge is excellent value for money. Richard ensures that the taxi drivers only charge you 50 Kwachas to go to the Falls ( about £6) or to travel around town. Richard goes out of his way to make your stay at the Lodge and in Livingstone as good as it possibly can be, I was impressed with his kindness and care.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the pool are good, but we enjoyed the extra space of the family room which looks ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuffyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Thanks so much for your wonderful review, we were delighted that you were happy with the arrangements made for your group, that you enjoyed our food and facilities and that everything worked!. Congratulations once more to your son and daughter in law on their recent marriage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at this wonderful lodge, as part of a larger exploration of Zambia. Richard was a perfect host, collecting us from the airport and recommending many activities to make the most of our short stay. All of the staff were welcoming and friendly, especially Anastasia who helped us book activities and kept us up to date on where we needed to be! The food was excellent, with delicious local specialities (the braised oxtail especially was delicious and truely authentic!).
The location and lodge is lovely, relaxed and peaceful and with charming garden and pool area, but close enough to reach the Falls quickly.
All round a very enjoyable few days and we will certainly be recommending to friends planning to visit Zambia later this year.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Carley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Thanks for your wonderful review which we very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming your friends later in the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed at Chanters in March 2013. Richard met us at the airport and took wonderful care of us for the duration of our stay. The staff were delightful and attentive. The food was good and the dining service always excellent. We were invited to take part in Richard's Sunday evening radio program and that was great fun. Our room was OK although we did have a few plumbing problems. Overall, however, we loved it and strongly recommend Chanters to any travelers passing through Livingstone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynandMalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Thanks for your kind review and for appearing on our radio programme which we hope you enjoyed. Sorry for the plumbing problems you experienced during your stay, these things do happen from time to time, we have subsequently replaced a pressure switch on a pump, the cause of much of the problem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

It begins and ends with Richard, the man has style, and his Lodge has charm.My daughter and I were ending our African trip with a visit to Victoria Falls, Chanters provided the perfect spot,relaxed and comfortable, close to downtown and minutes away from the Falls.The staff was attentive and always helpful.

Room Tip: a room by the pool, a lovely setting
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeandlesley2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Thanks for your kind review, we're pleased you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

This lodge oozes old school charm. I have stayed there three times now and for me Livingstone town Zambia, is the Victoria Falls, the buslting market and streets, the colonial facade, the elephants ambling across the Falls road, the white washed churches AND the Chanters experience.

Richard Chanters is the charismatic and polite owner who greets guest over breakfast and picks up everyone from the airport. His prices are reasonable and he is fair. Importantly for me, he is also very kind and generous to his staff. So he has a team of polite, hardworking locals who really make you feel at home. The rooms are comfortable; the wifi reliable and the gardens are sweet with a small pool and running fountain. Livingstone is withiin 5 mins walking distance yet at the same time you feel pleasantly enveloped inside a walled garden full of wildlife, blooms and birdsong; perfect, as you prepare for your next adventure....

Room Tip: Go for the poolside rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Thanks for your kind review and your ongoing support of our lodge. It is very much appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Having previously stayed in Livingstone at a reasonable B and B, I was hopeful that Chanters would at least be as good as judged by comparative reviews. I would say that whilst Chanters did not surpass my previous positive experience in every particular, my overall impression is that it vastly outshone the former. When it comes to evaluating value for money, remember that I am a Scotsman; Chanters is FANTASTIC value for money! Its garden is beautiful, its pool setting tranquil and ideal for a young family being only a few steps from many of the rooms which are air conditioned, spacious, have tv and fridge, excellent bathing/showering facilities and very comfortable beds . I think it most unlikely I should find a better value B and B in Livingstone.... and I'm the kind of person who would search every card shop in town looking for just the right birthday card! The owner gave excellent, swift and friendly communication responses and the food was often very good although not every item on the menu was perfect. Inclusive full English breakfasts were much enjoyed. Chanters position in town was just fine. Our party of 6 were all delighted by first impressions on arrival and we all left firmly convinced that Chanters was the place to be. Well done Richard et al on providing such a brilliant lodge for us to enjoy.

Room Tip: Choose rooms pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2013

Thanks, we very much appreciated your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the lodge in March. It is a quite place walking distance to the town (where there is a great market for crafts). The staff are attentive and very professional and provide excellent service. We stayed in a pool side room which was large and well kept and great for the price, which included a breakfast and a airport pick up and drop off. The wifi also worked great. My boyfriend and I really enjoyed our time in Livingston, the locals were so warm and friendly which made our few days there very enjoyable.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TrushnaPatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2013

Thanks very much for your kind review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay and found the lodge comfortable and convenient.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
1.8 mi away
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
#6 of 18 in Livingstone
27 reviews
6.1 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 18 in Livingstone
1,809 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tabonina Guesthouse
Tabonina Guesthouse
#1 of 37 in Livingstone
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Gloria's Bed & Breakfast
Gloria's Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 37 in Livingstone
115 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fawlty Towers
Fawlty Towers
#4 of 91 in Livingstone
419 reviews
1.2 mi away
Olga's - The Italian Corner
Olga's - The Italian Corner
#12 of 91 in Livingstone
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chanters Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanters Lodge

Address: Lukulu Crescent | off Obote Avenue, Livingstone 20100, Zambia
Phone Number:
Region: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Livingstone
Price Range: £48 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chanters Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable Lodge in residential part of Livingstone town with all rooms air conditioned and bath/shower rooms en suite. Single, double and family rooms all with breakfast included. Swimming Pool and a la carte restaurant. Lovely tropical gardens with al fresco dining. Handy for Livingstone Airport 8 minutes and 10km only from Victoria Falls. Airport transfers and visa waivers arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chanters Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chanters Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing