We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chanters Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chanters Lodge
Ranked #2 of 29 Livingstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Eldoret, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

We chose to stay at Chanters Lodge based on the good reviews we had read on TripAdvisor. Richard picked us from the airport and took us back when we were leaving to Kenya.

The Lodge is situated in a serene location making it an ideal place to stay after a long tiring day of sightseeing.

The staff are friendly and very helpful. They helped us in making taxi arrangements and recommended some of the places we should visit. They were more than willing to assist us with whatever we needed.

The rooms are spacious and clean. They also have Wi-Fi. It was nice being able to stay connected to the internet while at the lodge.

I was pleased to find that everything on their site is the true reflection of what is on ground. I strongly recommend the lodge to anyone visiting Livingstone. If you are looking for a place where you get personalized attention and good services, Chanters Lodge is the place.

I am looking forward to staying at Chanters Lodge again and this time much longer.

Thanks Richard.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thanks for your kind review - we were happy that you found our lodge operation reflected information given on our website. We were also delighted to have visitors from Kenya and very much look forward to welcoming you to the lodge again in the future. Thanks again for taking the time to review your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    105
    16
    2
    3
See reviews for
77
112
45
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Chanters Lodge was recommended to us by a friend in Australia. She and her family stayed there the year before. It was the brilliant advice. From the time we arrived to the time we left we were well taken care of and enjoyed the great facilities and lovely grounds.

The rooms are lovely and spacious, very clean with mosquito nets. The air conditioner worked well and there was a heater provided should the weather change. The pool area is well maintained with a calming sound of babbling water to help one relax.

Richard and his staff accommodated a part of our wedding party at the premises. Nothing was too much for them to help with.They provided free transport to the lodge from arrival points. They were very knowledgeable and gave great advice on things to do in and around Livingston and, they helped arrange travel plans. Our party varied in ages from 2 to 60+ and we all had a great stay.

We definitely recommend Chanters Lodge as a great place to stay.

Room Tip: We recommend a pool facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scot_Zam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thanks for your kind review, we were delighted you chose our lodge for the Guests for your wedding party and that all the arrangements went well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

This is Africa, so one expects a few quirks (this to the man who complained about wobbly taps!) but Chanters Lodge is a great place to stay and you feel very secure that if you ran into any problems Richard Chanter would soon sort them out for you. The rooms are simple and spacious.

Room Tip: Poolside for a veranda, main house for a bigger, better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazabuka_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thanks! We very much appreciate your support!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

We had a great time here, Richard and the staff were warm and friendly and gave us helpful tips on where to eat and what to do. Breakfast was delicious, rooms were clean and comfortable! The lodge is close to the falls and the airport and it was especially nice to read by the pool on a warm afternoon.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank eskimo118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thanks for reviewing the lodge operation and we were very happy you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Gardner, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

We have just completed a stay of more than two weeks at Chanter's Lodge, and we were extremely pleased with our experience. We went to Zambia to lend a helping hand to The Butterfly Tree, a UK-based organization that is supporting schools and villages like Mukuni (which is not far from Victoria Falls). When we weren't working at the school, we enjoyed many pleasant hours in Chanter's enchanted garden, a quiet place to reflect. We ate nearly all of our meals at the Lodge and enjoyed the food, always cooked to order. The weather was great, so we ate most of our meals outdoors overlooking the garden. We appreciated the chance to appear on Richard's radio show with Mili-Jam and George (on Zambezi 107.7 FM), and to take home a recording of the show for our children. But most of all, we appreciated the people. Anastasia, Susan, and all of Richard's crew were absolutely wonderful: helpful, kind, friendly, and attentive. We enjoyed everything about our stay, but it was Richard and his staff who will draw us back on our next visit to Livingstone.

Room Tip: Actually, we didn't see a fitness center, but there is an inviting swimming pool. All of the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thanks for choosing our lodge for your two week stay and giving up your own valuable time and resources to help the young people of Zambia. We were very happy to meet you and host your stay and delighted that you found everything to your liking. Thanks also for taking your time to review our operation. We have passed on your kind remarks to the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

I chose Chanters based on the reviews seen on TA which in my opinion do overrate the lodge. I stayed at the lodge for the weekend and it provided me a base from where to explore the falls. True you are collected at the airport and dropped off on departure which is good. Rooms are clean and tidy and appeared quite large. Two double beds in the one I had but the mattresses were soft, worn and sagged at one side so you tended to roll into the holes. The shower and toilet was ok but in my view no more than that. The sink taps weren't fitted properly and the toilet flush had a mind of its own running constantly if you didn't lift the handle. The door lock was poor especially for a room so close to the entrance. At night it was noisy with cars. Breakfast is included in the room rate. Dinner could be selected from an extensive menu but don't try ordering baked potatoes as chef generally runs out very early!!! I have stayed in various lodges in sub-Sahara Africa which were better by far but you get what you pay for. For me on a short stay it was ok, but no more than that although others may find it to their taste.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hudson0605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review our lodge and we are very sorry that our operation disappointed you, especially as we have had generally good reviews of late. The room you mention close to the entrance was renovated in the past six months and all the tiles, taps, shower and toilet fittings in this room are virtually new, having only been in use for a few months. We apologize for the loose tap which we are sorting out. We did not find any problem with the flushing system in the toilet. At the time of renovation all the mattresses were also replaced and we were surprised by, and dispute, your comment about 'a soft and saggy mattress'.

Since the road to the lodge was renovated traffic flows have increased, and we are sorry if you were disturbed, we have not had complaints about noise in the past and even now it is not a busy road at night. We are located in a generally quiet and relatively safe part of Livingstone. We did have another room available at the other end of the block in which you stayed, had this problem been brought to our attention after your first night at the lodge. We have not had complaints about door locks in the past - we fit those available in Livingstone.

My apologies that we ran short of baked potatoes, it is sometimes hard to estimate nightly requirements.

Whilst we respect your opinion, we consider your comment 'I suppose you get what you pay for' as rather unfair, somehow insinuating that our lodge is 'cheap and nasty'. We prefer to consider that a recently renovated spacious self-contained double room for single occupancy at a price of less than sixty American dollars per room per night, including full English breakfast, free transfers from/to Livingstone Airport on arrival and departure, free tea and coffee making facilities on request, as well as free wifi, to be excellent value for money. In this regard I did ask you when you paid your bill in my office whether you had been comfortable during your stay and you gave me no indication of the problems you mention, nor did you say anything during our drive to the airport.

Sorry we disappointed you and thanks again for taking time to review our operation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Vernon, Missouri
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

I have stayed at many lodges in Livingstone over the years, but Chanters is the best! Richard and his dedicated staff provide service and hospitality that is unequalled. The food is wonderful, the garden atmosphere is restful, and the location is convenient. Richard is extremely helpful in booking activities and in providing advice on taxis, tips, and anything else a traveler in Livingstone needs to know.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thanks for your kind review and for your support of the lodge over many years. We were happy that you enjoyed your most recent stay and look forward to being of service to you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
1.8 mi away
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
#6 of 17 in Livingstone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
6.1 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 17 in Livingstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tabonina Guesthouse
Tabonina Guesthouse
#1 of 29 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa
1.3 mi away
Fawlty Towers
Fawlty Towers
#6 of 84 in Livingstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gloria's Bed & Breakfast
Gloria's Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 29 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chanters Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanters Lodge

Property: Chanters Lodge
Address: Lukulu Crescent | off Obote Avenue, Livingstone 20100, Zambia
Phone Number:
Region: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable Lodge in residential part of Livingstone town with all rooms air conditioned and bath/shower rooms en suite. Single, double and family rooms all with breakfast included. Swimming Pool and a la carte restaurant. Lovely tropical gardens with al fresco dining. Handy for Livingstone Airport 8 minutes and 10km only from Victoria Falls. Airport transfers and visa waivers arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chanters Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chanters Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing