We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic gem of a place!”
Review of Chanters Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chanters Lodge
Ranked #5 of 37 Livingstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Having stayed at Chanters Lodge before, it was top of my list to come back with my friend to stay again!...
The owner Richard was so helpful from the start - assisting will all our questions (and we had a lot!) and then to top it off - offered to pick us up at the airport when we arrived!...
From the start my friend and I felt right at home, the staff were so friendly and helpful and Richard was there to help in any way he could!...
We had booked 5 nights at Chanters and we booked another 5 nights at Jolly Boys, but after 2 nights at Jolly Boys we asked for our money back and returned back to the lodge. So glad they had rooms available, as had gotten spoiled with the warm friendly smiles of the staff and the hot showers and cosy accommodation. And were so happy to head back to our home away from home....!!!!
Its just a lovely place and true value for money - the rooms were spotless the food delicious ....what more could you ask for ?..

Room Tip: We loved the poolside rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig and Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Thanks for your kind review and we were delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

I have been visiting Chanters frequently for the past few years. I have hosted small meetings there and have lodged many colleagues and friends there. All have been impressed.

Chanters is the best value in Livingstone, with terrific amenities and a key location. The staff, led by Richard, is terrific. Helpful, gracious, and friendly. The rooms are spotless and have everything you need, air conditioning, nice showers, etc. The garden setting is beautiful and the pool is refreshing.

Also, don't miss the restaurant. A large and varied menu like this is hard to find in Livingstone. Having tried many items, it's all delicious. Plus, the setting on the back patio among the fruit trees can't be beat.

The location, which was a very important factor to me, is hard to beat. Walking distance to town, but away from the noise. Also, an added bonus, Richard will gladly pick you up at the airport or bus station upon your arrival.

If you are looking for a real Livingstone experience, stay at Chanters and not at the (overpriced) international chains. The value can't be beat - it's a true oasis in Livingstone.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavisA-California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thanks for your review of the lodge, it has been a pleasure to work with you and your guests over the years and we look forward to being of help to your organization again in the future. Thanks again for taking the time to review the lodge and for the kind remarks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The location is ok, a little out of the city centre, but within walking distance in a quiet residential area. Richard Chanter is both interesting and helpful, does airport pick up and drop off personally. The courtyard is pleasant, although there were insects during our visit.
Negatives: The rooms are dated and worn, the service (except Richard) and restaurant are average. Try Olga's Italian Corner in town for meals, or high tea at the Royal Livingstone near Vic Falls.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emkay0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our lodge. We were disappointed by your comments and very sorry we did not meet your expectations. You describe our location as 'ok' - our lodge is located in one of the safest, quieter and preferred parts of Livingstone city. (We did notice that your comments about our location and operation were rather similar in wording, though less specific, to a review posted just a few days prior to your own.)

Unfortunately you do not say when, or for how long, you stayed at our lodge or how many meals you took in the restaurant which, together with the service, you describe as 'average'. You praise me personally for 'good service', though I am not sure what I did to deserve this, also describing me as 'interesting'. We must then have conversed at some length during your stay. I am therefore surprised and rather disappointed that you did not bring to my attention the lapses in service you say you experienced from our long serving and helpful staff. The same staff highly praised in many reviews on this site. The fact that you considered the service from the staff did not come up to scratch negates any praise given to me personally, as I manage the lodge myself, and take full responsibility for worker performance - or lack of it.

With regard to our rooms being 'dated and worn', six of the eleven rooms in the lodge have been renovated in the past fifteen months, two were built and fitted within the past few years. Of the remaining three rooms, one is the family room often occupied by young children and somewhat defying renovation, the other two poolside rooms have been much used and are scheduled for renovation later this year. I believe it is mainly the bathroom tiles that make the rooms appear 'dated' - they were fitted with tiles available in Zambia at that time. We do dispute that these rooms are worn out, most Guests prefer the poolside accommodation and in the past have described these rooms as comfortable, clean and good value for money. In view of comments received we will do our best to speed up the renovations. We had already reduced the rate for these rooms this year.

It's also worth mentioning that at the end of every rainy season there is a certain amount of rain damage to ceilings as well as to external walls that gives the impression of 'worn'. As the rains (particularly heavy this season) have recently finished, the materials have been bought for the necessary painting and re-decorating which will commence this week.

In view of your comments about your room we are sorry you did not enquire about a room change during your stay.

You refer to one part of the lodge as the 'courtyard' - we do not really have such an area. I therefore assume you mean the pool and garden, much appreciated by many Guests who have previously reviewed our operation. You do not mention the type of insects you noticed, but 'insects' in the garden are unavoidable. We wish that this matter had been brought to our attention during your stay, so we could know which insects were observed - some are clearly more 'acceptable' than others.

We find it unfortunate that you choose to mention Royal Livingstone in your review of our operation, we do not pretend to compete with this five star international operation acknowledged to be the best and one of the most expensive in the Southern African region. Olga's is a specialty restaurant that we ourselves recommend to guests wishing to go out for meals. It is rare for reviewers to recommend such specific alternatives on our Trip Advisor site.

Once again we are very sorry we did not meet your expectations and will do our best to improve the issues over which you were critical.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The lodge is ok, our room was in a pleasant spot by the pool, with comfortable chairs outside in the shade. It was all a bit dated but it was quiet and we slept well. The kettle, fridge and wifi were appreciated, as was the pick up and drop off at the airport by Richard Chanter. He gave us a run down on where to go and what to see, which was good, and the staff too were very friendly and helpful, sorting us out with taxis to the falls, and a sunset cruise on the Lady Livingstone. The food wasn't so good, we had a long long wait for dinner one evening, and breakfast was a bit hit and miss.
It was a pleasant walk into town and easy to get a taxi for the return journey.
The sunset cruise was very good, a slow meander up the river, with animal spotting on the way, buffalo one side and elephants the other.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzieWorcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thanks for your review, we are sorry that you would find it hard to recommend the lodge and also that you were not happy with the food and service. We were pleased that you enjoyed the rest of your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We recently spent 5 nights at Chanters and loved every moment. Richard, the owner, came to personally meet us at the airport (a lovely gesture). He and his team of dedicated hospitality staff ensured that our stay was very comfortable - from housekeeping to dining to arranging activities and tours, everything was fabulous! Comfortable accommodation, lovely gardens and good location just out of town. Great value and highly recommended!

Room Tip: Try to book a pool room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JillyatSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thanks for your kind review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I had a wonderful 3 nights at this gem of a place! Richard is a wonderful host and has trained his staff well to look after guests. I was met at the bus station and driven to the lodge which is just off the main road in Livingstone and is an easy and lovely walk into town - it is a perfect location. The garden is stunning and well kept so just lying by the pool was paradise. I ate every night in the restaurant and enjoyed good quantities and wonderful food. Even had a wifi connection the whole time I was there. The staff arranged excursions for me and an early morning taxi for the day I left. And Richard even emailed me to make sure I got back to Lusaka alright. My room was spotless clean, large and had a fridge and TV. I recommend this as a great place to stay if you want peace and quiet and a bit of paradise!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thanks for your wonderful review, it was a pleasure to be of service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I stayed at Chanters with my dad and friend recently as we were attending a wedding in Livingstone from Lusaka. We didn't stay long but I will definitely stay again and have been recommending the lodge to everyone!
The pricing is sensible and the staff are very friendly and helpful!
The place is very clean and easy to find. The owner greeted us on arrival and was very prompt with regards to responsiveness.
The Lodge was easy to locate aswel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissMu80z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thanks for your kind review and we were happy that you and your dad enjoyed your stay. It is always a pleasure to welcome Zambian guests to the lodge, and we look forward to future visits. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
1.8 mi away
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
#7 of 18 in Livingstone
32 reviews
6.1 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 18 in Livingstone
1,848 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tabonina Guesthouse
Tabonina Guesthouse
#1 of 37 in Livingstone
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Zig Zag
Zig Zag
#4 of 37 in Livingstone
183 reviews
0 mi away
Gloria's Bed & Breakfast
Gloria's Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 37 in Livingstone
118 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fawlty Towers
Fawlty Towers
#5 of 93 in Livingstone
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chanters Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanters Lodge

Address: Lukulu Crescent | off Obote Avenue, Livingstone 20100, Zambia
Region: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Livingstone
Price Range: £32 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chanters Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable Lodge in residential part of Livingstone town with all rooms air conditioned and bath/shower rooms en suite. Single, double and family rooms all with breakfast included. Swimming Pool and a la carte restaurant. Lovely tropical gardens with al fresco dining. Handy for Livingstone Airport 8 minutes and 10km only from Victoria Falls. Airport transfers and visa waivers arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Chanters Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chanters Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing