We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Located, Amazing hospitality, Fantastic value!”
Review of Chanters Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chanters Lodge
Ranked #2 of 29 Livingstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfectly Located, Amazing hospitality, Fantastic value!”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Thank you Richard and team for the great hospitality accorded to us at Chanters in Livingstone the weekend Easter 2014 . My boyfriend Simon and I had a wonderful time and the activities that your staff helped arrange for us, were out of this world. It's too bad we missed out on the cruise as the boats were all booked on the evenings we'd planned to do this. But we still did enjoy the quad bike rides, microlight flight and the zambezi swing among others.

Chanters felt like home away from home and the rates were fantastic! We both also loved that we could easily take nice casual walks in the evening to and from Chanters as it was conveniently located, and that the various companies with whom we'd booked activities could easily plan for our transfers as Chanters wasn't at all new to them.

Thank you Richard and your staff for making our stay ever so memorable!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Achadu F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thanks for your kind review. We were delighted you were happy with the lodge and equally pleased to welcome Guests from Uganda - we look forward to hosting more people from your beautiful country in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    105
    16
    2
    3
See reviews for
77
112
45
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

It is quite hard to find a place to stay on either side of the Zambezi that really feels authentically African, not hyped-up for tourists that is simply 'honest-to-goodness' - so when you stay at Chanter's Lodge, just think about that. This is as close as you may get to staying in a real Zambian home and all is efficient including the WiFi and the AC. I could go into more detail about the surroundings, which were delightful and the location is close to town, but other reviewers have done that. Suffice to say this is a fine place to get your head down - good beds and very clean. You could take your other half there or you could take a delegation of twelve and all would be well. I got the feeling that lone travellers, small families or any combination of sensible travellers would be OK here. There's plenty of privacy but opportunities to interact with other like-minded guests if you wish. Bird song was great of course, but maybe I'd have liked to have heard some other sounds perhaps: a juke box playing Zambian music in the lounge? Thanks all, Richard and Anastasia and all the support team for an excellent stay.

Room Tip: Enjoy the big bar of soap provided because it may be the last one you see on your travels!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexandraUB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thanks for your kind and comprehensive review of the lodge. Juke box with Zambian music in the lounge? Gosh! Maybe we are too quiet sometimes, but there are so many clubs in town where Guests can find Zambian and all other types of music into the early hours, perhaps our quiet atmosphere is mostly attractive.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at Chanters with our friends and found the service excellent and the Lodge great value for money.. All booked via email and it was great to get to get quick responses. Richard introduced us to Chris.s Taxi and Tours who arranged our trip to Botswana, whilst Richard very helpfully stored our suitcases until our return. We walked to town in 20 minutes without any issue,but taxis were only KW30. The Lodge is in a quiet location,. the rooms are clean and the garden and pool area is very pleasant. If you want Zambezi Sun Facilities be prepared to pay their rates but if you want a good value lodge then I would recommend Richard and Chanters Lodge.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffcafc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thanks for your kind review, we are pleased that everything went well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed at Chanters for 5 days. Much was positive. Location was excellent - a little distance from the town centre but nicely secluded. A lovely garden and pool area. Richard was very welcoming and helpful. The room staff were very efficient. On the other hand we felt that the restaurant and reception staff were somewhat lacking enthusiasm for their tasks. The adjacent rest room needed attention. Also the room we occupied was a little "tired".

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thanks for your review of the lodge and our apologies for those items you found not so good. We are to renovate the two poolside rooms concerned when chance permits. The public toilets have recently been redecorated. Sorry you found the attitude of the girls at reception not so helpful, it is an unusual criticism but I will talk to them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Having stayed at Chanters Lodge before, it was top of my list to come back with my friend to stay again!...
The owner Richard was so helpful from the start - assisting will all our questions (and we had a lot!) and then to top it off - offered to pick us up at the airport when we arrived!...
From the start my friend and I felt right at home, the staff were so friendly and helpful and Richard was there to help in any way he could!...
We had booked 5 nights at Chanters and we booked another 5 nights at Jolly Boys, but after 2 nights at Jolly Boys we asked for our money back and returned back to the lodge. So glad they had rooms available, as had gotten spoiled with the warm friendly smiles of the staff and the hot showers and cosy accommodation. And were so happy to head back to our home away from home....!!!!
Its just a lovely place and true value for money - the rooms were spotless the food delicious ....what more could you ask for ?..

Room Tip: We loved the poolside rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig and Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thanks for your kind review and we were delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I have been visiting Chanters frequently for the past few years. I have hosted small meetings there and have lodged many colleagues and friends there. All have been impressed.

Chanters is the best value in Livingstone, with terrific amenities and a key location. The staff, led by Richard, is terrific. Helpful, gracious, and friendly. The rooms are spotless and have everything you need, air conditioning, nice showers, etc. The garden setting is beautiful and the pool is refreshing.

Also, don't miss the restaurant. A large and varied menu like this is hard to find in Livingstone. Having tried many items, it's all delicious. Plus, the setting on the back patio among the fruit trees can't be beat.

The location, which was a very important factor to me, is hard to beat. Walking distance to town, but away from the noise. Also, an added bonus, Richard will gladly pick you up at the airport or bus station upon your arrival.

If you are looking for a real Livingstone experience, stay at Chanters and not at the (overpriced) international chains. The value can't be beat - it's a true oasis in Livingstone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavisA-California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thanks for your review of the lodge, it has been a pleasure to work with you and your guests over the years and we look forward to being of help to your organization again in the future. Thanks again for taking the time to review the lodge and for the kind remarks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
210 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The location is ok, a little out of the city centre, but within walking distance in a quiet residential area. Richard Chanter is both interesting and helpful, does airport pick up and drop off personally. The courtyard is pleasant, although there were insects during our visit.
Negatives: The rooms are dated and worn, the service (except Richard) and restaurant are average. Try Olga's Italian Corner in town for meals, or high tea at the Royal Livingstone near Vic Falls.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emkay0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodgeman, Owner at Chanters Lodge, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our lodge. We were disappointed by your comments and very sorry we did not meet your expectations. You describe our location as 'ok' - our lodge is located in one of the safest, quieter and preferred parts of Livingstone city. (We did notice that your comments about our location and operation were rather similar in wording, though less specific, to a review posted just a few days prior to your own.)

Unfortunately you do not say when, or for how long, you stayed at our lodge or how many meals you took in the restaurant which, together with the service, you describe as 'average'. You praise me personally for 'good service', though I am not sure what I did to deserve this, also describing me as 'interesting'. We must then have conversed at some length during your stay. I am therefore surprised and rather disappointed that you did not bring to my attention the lapses in service you say you experienced from our long serving and helpful staff. The same staff highly praised in many reviews on this site. The fact that you considered the service from the staff did not come up to scratch negates any praise given to me personally, as I manage the lodge myself, and take full responsibility for worker performance - or lack of it.

With regard to our rooms being 'dated and worn', six of the eleven rooms in the lodge have been renovated in the past fifteen months, two were built and fitted within the past few years. Of the remaining three rooms, one is the family room often occupied by young children and somewhat defying renovation, the other two poolside rooms have been much used and are scheduled for renovation later this year. I believe it is mainly the bathroom tiles that make the rooms appear 'dated' - they were fitted with tiles available in Zambia at that time. We do dispute that these rooms are worn out, most Guests prefer the poolside accommodation and in the past have described these rooms as comfortable, clean and good value for money. In view of comments received we will do our best to speed up the renovations. We had already reduced the rate for these rooms this year.

It's also worth mentioning that at the end of every rainy season there is a certain amount of rain damage to ceilings as well as to external walls that gives the impression of 'worn'. As the rains (particularly heavy this season) have recently finished, the materials have been bought for the necessary painting and re-decorating which will commence this week.

In view of your comments about your room we are sorry you did not enquire about a room change during your stay.

You refer to one part of the lodge as the 'courtyard' - we do not really have such an area. I therefore assume you mean the pool and garden, much appreciated by many Guests who have previously reviewed our operation. You do not mention the type of insects you noticed, but 'insects' in the garden are unavoidable. We wish that this matter had been brought to our attention during your stay, so we could know which insects were observed - some are clearly more 'acceptable' than others.

We find it unfortunate that you choose to mention Royal Livingstone in your review of our operation, we do not pretend to compete with this five star international operation acknowledged to be the best and one of the most expensive in the Southern African region. Olga's is a specialty restaurant that we ourselves recommend to guests wishing to go out for meals. It is rare for reviewers to recommend such specific alternatives on our Trip Advisor site.

Once again we are very sorry we did not meet your expectations and will do our best to improve the issues over which you were critical.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
1.8 mi away
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
#6 of 17 in Livingstone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
6.1 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 17 in Livingstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tabonina Guesthouse
Tabonina Guesthouse
#1 of 29 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa
1.3 mi away
Fawlty Towers
Fawlty Towers
#5 of 84 in Livingstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gloria's Bed & Breakfast
Gloria's Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 29 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chanters Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanters Lodge

Property: Chanters Lodge
Address: Lukulu Crescent | off Obote Avenue, Livingstone 20100, Zambia
Phone Number:
Region: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable Lodge in residential part of Livingstone town with all rooms air conditioned and bath/shower rooms en suite. Single, double and family rooms all with breakfast included. Swimming Pool and a la carte restaurant. Lovely tropical gardens with al fresco dining. Handy for Livingstone Airport 8 minutes and 10km only from Victoria Falls. Airport transfers and visa waivers arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chanters Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chanters Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing