We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale lodging”
Review of Ngolide Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ngolide Lodge
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Upscale lodging”
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

The Ngolide Lodge provides very nice rooms and excellent service. All rooms are air conditioned and well kept. Bedding has mosquito netting. Rooms have been upgraded with new bathrooms and flat screen TV's. Wifi is available.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clift D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NgolideLodge, Manager at Ngolide Lodge, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear Clift,

Thank you for taking time in reviewing us on the World's largest travel sites.

Kindly be informed that your review will help many travelers to choose the best place.
We do our best to meet guest's requirements and we are happy that we provided you with a home away from home during your stay here at Ngolide.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Thanks and Kind regards
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    24
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
8
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

This is a comfortable and simply pleasant place to stay in the heart of Livingstone. The staff are really nice and the owners make it clear that nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are clean and the shower is great. We enjoyed the bar in the evenings and although you might not meet the mainstream tourists be ready for lots of interesting conversations. Wish it had a pool! Lovely breakfast room and the Indian restaurant owned by the lodge is truly fabulous.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GlasgowBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NgolideLodge, Manager at Ngolide Lodge, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you for choosing Ngolide Lodge and for your feedback.
We are glad to know that we met your expectations and for making your stay a home away from home. It is our wish that our guests enjoy the best of their stay with us.

Thank you once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

This was a good place to stay. The staff,mostly female,were excellent and I could not expect more. The Indian restaurant owned by the Ngolide owner is superb and I still get the taste of the curries on the tip of my tongue a month later.
My only complaint is the bar which is a little dirty and dusty with no real view of the street and that the rooms are a little cramped but they are minor quibbles and wouldn't stop me from visiting again.

Room Tip: The rooms on the northern side are a little quieter at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zambialover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NgolideLodge, Manager at Ngolide Lodge, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at our lodge and the meals at our restaurant.We will insure that your complaint is attended to and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW
Level Contributor
119 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We were very disappointed with our stay - unfriendly and lazy staff (but pleasant owners), the room was very small, not too clean and appeared to be quite unsecure; expensive internet and a dismal breakfast. Would not recommend this at all.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deefadog10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NgolideLodge, Manager at Ngolide Lodge, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Thank you very much for your review and we will see to it that the best solution is put in place to make the stay of our clients lovely and enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2013

March 3 to 5, 2013 we (2 adults) had the pleasure to stay at the Ngolide Lodge. We booked from Switzerland in advanced with email and got respone within 1 day. We wired the money (2 nights for 2 pax = USD 140.- incl full english brekfast) in advance and again got confrimation within 2 daya. The staff is friendly, the rooms clean and new and everything is working. The food excellent. The Lodge is really made and maintained with care (the windows have iron mosiquito nets, so you have no mosquiutos in the room even when the windows are open). The lodge looks very charming with straw roofs.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marius M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Very relaxing stay. We were in for just 24 hours (and after the long flight from the US, we got a good nights sleep). We had time to fly over the falls, and take a river cruise, but that was it. Next time I would stay longer and actually take a walk down by the falls. With snacks on the river cruise, we were too full to eat at the Golden Leaf resturant for dinner (regretfully, the resturant is not open for lunch). The breakfast was a good start to the day. The staff was really great; friendly and very helpful (they helped arrange the helicopter and cruise and helped deal with some local currency issues). There is a very nice court yard in the center of the open air lobby area that was a relaxing place to set and read.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kongsberg
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2012

After recommendation from our taxi-friend, we went to Golden Leef Restaurant for our dinner. The staff was friendly and service was good. The food was also very good. I had the beef filet with very tender meet and good side dishes, and my husband had chicken tikka masala which he enjoyed. The owner came to our table and checked that everything was ok, which we appreciated. We had to pay with master card, and they had to get the bank terminal from the lodge across the road. Would perhaps be a good idea to have a terminal at the restaurant. Besides from that we really liked the restaurant and it was one of the better we have tried in Livingstone (this is our forth time visiting). We will recommend it to others, and who knows, maybe we'll stay at Ngolide Lodge next time we're in Lstone?

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annegso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
0.3 mi away
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
#6 of 17 in Livingstone
9 reviews
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Livingstone
Protea Hotel Livingstone
#5 of 17 in Livingstone
260 reviews
1.4 mi away
Green Tree Lodge
Green Tree Lodge
#7 of 84 in Livingstone
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tabonina Guesthouse
Tabonina Guesthouse
#1 of 31 in Livingstone
278 reviews
1.4 mi away
No photo provided
Golden Strides Guest House
#26 of 84 in Livingstone
1 reviews
0.4 mi away
Okavango Lodge
Okavango Lodge
#23 of 84 in Livingstone
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngolide Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngolide Lodge

Property: Ngolide Lodge
Address: 110 Mosi-Oa-Tunya Road, Livingstone 20100, Zambia
Region: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ngolide Lodge is a thatched Lodge in the heart of Livingstone with a truly ethnic feel. The Lodge has an excellent restaurant offering Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner at our spacious restaurant called The Golden Leaf Restaurant serving Indian and Continental cuisine. Our friendly and efficient staff are ready to welcome you to make your stay happy and memorable.All rooms are well appointed and En-Suite with hot/cold showers and toilets, Air – Conditioners, LCD TV’s with 12 DSTV channels, Mini Fridges, Tea/Coffee making facility, Direct Dial out Telephone, Mosquito Nets and Room safes.Ngolide Lodges’ superb and accessible location on Mosi-oa-Tunya Road, offers a comfortable and affordable choice for exploring the mighty Victoria Falls, located only 8kms away and experiencing the wildlife and activities that Livingstone has to offer. Ngolide Lodge is 10 minutes walk from Livingstone town centre, close to bars, restaurants and only 2kms away from Mosi-oa-Tunya Square shopping mall.The Lodge has a Fully Licensed Bar where you can enjoy an Ice cold beer and imported wines of your choice while relaxing in our comfortable, quiet and peaceful lounge.There are intimate conference facilities, Wi-Fi access throughout the Lodge, safe car parking onsite with 24 hours security.We can arrange for any activities in the Livingstone area from the comfort of your room.Come and share the experience of an excellent restaurant and accommodation giving a home-away from home feeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Ngolide Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing