We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday lunch with a view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Livingstone Island Tour

Livingstone Island Tour
Ranked #6 of 33 Tours in Livingstone
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Livingstone Island is perched on the edge of the Victoria Falls in the very midst of this thundering mass of water. Your visit begins with a thrilling ride through the channels of the Zambezi. Thereafter, you will be taken on a guided exploration of the island, a protected World Heritage Site. If you're feeling brave, you can even take a heart-stopping peek over the island's edge to the churning mass below in the famous Devil's Pool. (no experience necessary/ no age limit)
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch with a view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Voted our number 1 experience in Livingstone by our 20 year old son - even better than white water rafting and the bungee. Standing right on the edge of the falls both Zim and Zam sides was just amazing, and felt completely safe, our two guides (for 6 of us) were unhurried and very willing to help - using our daughter's waterproof camera to spectacular effect.
Lunch was most enjoyable, although in the shade so after all the spray from the falls I would recommend taking a fleece, drinks flowed after the most exhilarating of mornings.
Numbers are limited so if you are thinking of booking, contact Bushtracks in Livingstone in advance.
The loo is open ' a room view a view' and what a view!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Louise1960_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    26
    1
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“best experience at the Falls”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

I loved this - I was advised that the Devils Pool was closed, which was one of the main reasons for visiting the falls (blame my travel agents (liberty/dmafrica/vayeni don't use them)), but happened to see them swimming in Angels pool from the Falls tour on the other side so booked the Livingstone Island lunch tour which is the only way to get to the pools.
Even without the pools this was a great tour (if a little edgy for the fainthearted), from the Zim side you need to pass immigration to get to Zambia side (free visa, but make sure you got that double entry visa when you arrived or you will have to get another one when get back to Zimbabwe after the tour). You are picked up at Royal Livingstone hotel, which in itself is gorgeous and their views are amazing - make sure you say hello to the zebras, then off in a speed boat to the island. A short walk and you are at the lunch place where take your shoes off for a walk. You get wet, soaked, for sure and its muddy and its slippery and the rocks are slimy when you walk on them, then you 'walk the plank' (literally a 6 inch wide plank over the water and you are on the edge (right on the edge) of the top of Victoria falls. Wow. If you are not overawed by that you get the chance to get into to Angels Pool (Devils pool not normally open until late August/early September) and get some great shots. I loved it and thought the walk there and back were much scarier than chilling in the pool.
Guides were excellent, lunch was excellent, all you can drink (after the walk not before), it was just a really fun couple of hours.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank robbo978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lots of fun and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I went for high tea on Livingstone Island and, although a little bit overpriced, it was well worth it.

They first give you a tour around the island, including the (extremely scary) pool - one of the best experiences you can have at Victoria Falls! The guide was kind enough to take some really good pictures while adventuring himself right on the edge of the falls.

Afterwards, we sat for tea. They were very attentive in asking about food allergies and adapting the menu for me. Overall, great finger food and bottomless alcohol.

Everyone should experience the falls up close!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank joannajardim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omemee, Canada
Level Contributor
316 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Overpriced, but no one else provides this tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

One company has the monopoly on this tour. It runs directly from the Royal Livingstone Hotel. It is the only way to get to Livingstone Island and if you want to see the falls as it flows over the edge of the canyon, you must do it this way. The tour is short. It is about 5 minutes to get to the island by boat. They quickly take you to the falls to either Devil's Pool or the Angel's Armchair depending upon the level of the water. If it is high, Angel's Armchair is used and it is still a great thrill. Both pools are very good to get into the water directly above the falls. The guides are good, but a little pushy. I understand they are pressed for time, but I was extremely uncomfortable at the top of the falls with little vision for footing. They are ordering you to get to one place to another extremely fast and with very limited direction. They take photos for you on your camera at the falls, which is very nice. If you have a waterproof camera it is a good idea as my camera was soaked by the time we returned to the dinner tent. Thank goodness it was still functioning. After we finished at the Angel's Armchair, the group was taken to the other side of the island to visit Devil's Pool - not to get in. I only walked a short distance in mud up to just below my knees and I quickly turned around to go back to the tent. I couldn't handle walking in my bare feet in mud. I was very cold and shaking. When I got back, the staff washed my muddy legs with hot water and provided clean towels to get dried... this returned my positive spirits. Appetizers, hot tea and coffee and alcoholic beverages are served as part of the tour. The price of the tour is high, but you have no other options if you want to see the falls from Livingstone Island it really is a must if you are here.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Agreed its awesome but agreed overpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Because of the high water level we did not enjoy Devil's Pool, instead the tour took us to Angel's pool, which is less dangerous but it is still scary and fun to do. It is true that the price was too much and the tour was just too short and we did not have time to stay in the Island to enjoy the scenery. Once the tour showed you the edge, a short talk of history which you could find in the guide book, got in to the pool and had your meal then you had to leave, as next tour group was coming. Having said that, I would still recommend to pay the visit and recommended to visit the open planned loo, the view was just stunning.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank VickyNg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Livingstone Island Tour also viewed

Livingstone, Southern Province
Livingstone, Southern Province
 
Livingstone, Southern Province
Livingstone, Southern Province
 

Been to Livingstone Island Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing