We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect mix”
Review of Zig Zag

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Zig Zag
Ranked #4 of 37 Livingstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Zig Zag is large enough to have and hang on to an excellent staff, while small enough to feel like a guest, rather than a client. It may be slightly farther away from the centre of town than other options, but well within the city and only a 15 min walk along newly refurbished sidewalks (in prep for the big August 2013 convention). Lynn, as others have already said, is a friendly, efficient and knowledgeable host. And the bacon at breakfast is probably the best I've ever had.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne M, Owner at Zig Zag, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Thanks so much for your feedback. We really want to make people feel at home so its nice to hear you enjoyed our Zambian hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

Just come back from a lovely week at zigzag. The rooms were good and facilities excellent. It was a really relaxing retreat from the hussle and bussle of Livingstone. An ideal base to explore all on offer from the area. The really friendly staff and Lynne's expert tourist advice really made the trip for us. Will deffo recommend zigzag to friends. Jonathan & Andy.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chapeldude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne M, Owner at Zig Zag, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Thanks so much for the kind words guys. It was really a pleasure to have you stay with us and your Devil's Pool story lives on in Zig Zag history!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Lovely place to stay at a reasonable price. It's not luxury, but it is affordable. The food is very good at good prices. The cafe/restaurant is a friendly social place, but fairly quiet. Rooms are clean and comfortable. They are a little small but I only needed it to sleep so size didn't bother me. The showers are big with very good water pressure and hot water. Wifi works well in the restaurant, not so consistent in the rooms. The atmosphere is nice; I enjoy the eclectic/garden feel. Lynn was very helpful helping to book activities and just for joining in good conversation. I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Good spot. The owner very friendly and helpful. She even got mopane worms to try and didn't charge us, The food was good I enjoyed the Impala and Kudu. WiFI worked well. Breakfast was good with plenty to eat. The swimming pool was great(but I spent very little time in it because we were out most of the day.

It could use a backup generator for when the electric utility cuts power.

Shuttle service from the airport was good. You do have to provide your own transport back to the airport. Zig Zag is not to far from the hotel and is very helpful in getting taxis for you. They have resources to assist you in planning day trips.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ntretter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Just off Mosi-oa-Tunya Road on the south side of Livingstone, an easy walk to the centre, this is fairly basic in accommodation but the staff are friendly and mostly efficient, and the food (including croc and antelope burgers for the carnivorous) is fine. The small pool is unheated. Reasonable free wifi.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterMSimons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Once again in passing through Livingstone we stayed a night here and called in a couple of additional times for meals with friends. It is such a welcoming place, with good basic food and a lovely garden. We did find it took a while for us to obtain sandwiches for our party of 9 one lunchtime, but they were very good when they came. Nothing is too much trouble and there's always friendly help and advice from the owner.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
Thank MamaG2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

If you're looking for luxurious accommodations, stay at the Royal Livingstone. If you are looking for great and friendly service and assistance with your local activities with a clean room and plenty of hot water to shower with, ZigZag is the place to stay. We arrived about 1.5 hours late because of a flight delay in South Africa. Rafael was waiting for us at the airport. Lynne met us as we stepped out of our cab, gave us our room key and the planned itinerary for the afternoon. We went to our room, stowed our bags and changed and off we went to the Falls. Rafael drove us there, then over to the Microlight Airport. We went to the Royal Livingstone for a drink at sunset and then Rafael picked us up and brought us back to ZigZag. Dinner and off to bed. After breakfast, Rafael was back to take us to Chobe the following morning. We were met at the Chobe River by our water taxi driver to take us to Botswana. Once in Botswana, we were met by our Chobe Safari Lodge guide who took us to the lodge where we met our boat guide and then toured the Chobe Park by boat. Lunch back at the lodge and then a drive through the Chobe Park on land via open safari vehicle. Back to the Chobe River, water taxi back to Zambia and Rafael to meet us once again. We returned to ZigZag, picked up our bags from reception and checked out. All our interactions with the staff at ZigZag were very good including the restaurant wait staff.

It is true that the rooms are not large at all. The rooms were clean with fresh towels. The water was HOT and there was plenty of it which is a huge plus in Africa. If you're looking for luxury, don't look here. Stay at the Royal Livingstone. If you're looking for an adequate room for a decent price, ZigZag works great. Lynne, Mervis and all the staff are great.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank texaspilot12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
5.3 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 18 in Livingstone
1,833 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
#7 of 18 in Livingstone
28 reviews
1.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tabonina Guesthouse
Tabonina Guesthouse
#1 of 37 in Livingstone
291 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fawlty Towers
Fawlty Towers
#5 of 93 in Livingstone
424 reviews
0 mi away
Gloria's Bed & Breakfast
Gloria's Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 37 in Livingstone
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zig Zag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zig Zag

Address: Plot 693 Linda Road, Livingstone 20100, Zambia
Region: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Livingstone
Price Range: £49 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Zig Zag 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zig Zag is a small friendly B&B near to Livingstone town and only 8km from Victoria Falls. Our rooms are all en-suite with air-conditioning. We have beautiful gardens with a children's play area and a refreshing pool. Our restaurant serves freshly prepared home made food, with the best coffee and muffins in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Zig Zag reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zigzag Hotel Livingstone
Zigzag Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing