We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and Cheerful”
Review of Zigzag B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Zigzag B&B
Ranked #2 of 31 Livingstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
georgieporjy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cheap and Cheerful”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

A very well priced B&B with exceptional service. Rooms clean, bar charming, great swimming pool. Just what the Doctor ordered following our three week Southern African stint. Lynne and Mercy were very kind and helpful.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank georgieporjy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne M, Owner at Zigzag B&B, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thanks so much for your comments - we're glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    58
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
34
41
32
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southsea, Uk
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Stayed here twice in October when travelling through Livingstone with friends. The room is basic but has a seperate bathroom with shower and aircon. Adequate as a base when travelling. The bar and restaurant area are very nice, excellent food and breakfast included which is a good start to the day. Nice grounds / garden for spending spare time in. The location is about a 20 minute walk into Livingstone centre which is fine when it isnt too hot ! Lynne and her staff are very welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank boredinsouthsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne M, Owner at Zigzag B&B, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thanks very much for your feedback, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2013

A must place to stay!
In fact the only place to stay, to experience the Victoria Falls and all surrounding tours/ places of interest and a whole lot more.
You cant find a more central place for visiting the falls, popping into town, local eateries and all the surrounding tours for both Zambia and Zimbab areas.
This gem of accommodation, not only boasts great rooms with exceptional cleanliness, ensuite, aircon, freshly laundered linen and mossi net protection but has comfort, is quite, secure and has the personal touches too.
Excellent on site restaurant/bar/lounge area, tv/wifi, you name it, ZigZag has it.
Beautiful secluded gardens with relaxing swimming pool. Dine inside or out in the manicured gardens under the trees/stars or just chill with a coffee and brill homemade choc brownie.
Lynne the owner and designer of this superb establishment, has made a truly family oriented home from home environment and is most welcoming and knowledgeable for any itineraries you can think of. Not only local but neighbouring countries too.
The staff are all like a big family and make you feel so relaxed and welcome. You wont want to leave.
Pricewise you'll be hard to beat this place and value for money you wont beat it.
But don't take my word for it! Go and try it out for yourself.

Room Tip: All rooms look onto the main driving in courtyard and are equally as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne M, Owner at Zigzag B&B, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thanks so much for the kind words. It was an absolute pleasure to have you here and we really had some great chats.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Zig Zag is large enough to have and hang on to an excellent staff, while small enough to feel like a guest, rather than a client. It may be slightly farther away from the centre of town than other options, but well within the city and only a 15 min walk along newly refurbished sidewalks (in prep for the big August 2013 convention). Lynn, as others have already said, is a friendly, efficient and knowledgeable host. And the bacon at breakfast is probably the best I've ever had.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne M, Owner at Zigzag B&B, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thanks so much for your feedback. We really want to make people feel at home so its nice to hear you enjoyed our Zambian hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Just come back from a lovely week at zigzag. The rooms were good and facilities excellent. It was a really relaxing retreat from the hussle and bussle of Livingstone. An ideal base to explore all on offer from the area. The really friendly staff and Lynne's expert tourist advice really made the trip for us. Will deffo recommend zigzag to friends. Jonathan & Andy.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chapeldude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne M, Owner at Zigzag B&B, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thanks so much for the kind words guys. It was really a pleasure to have you stay with us and your Devil's Pool story lives on in Zig Zag history!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Lovely place to stay at a reasonable price. It's not luxury, but it is affordable. The food is very good at good prices. The cafe/restaurant is a friendly social place, but fairly quiet. Rooms are clean and comfortable. They are a little small but I only needed it to sleep so size didn't bother me. The showers are big with very good water pressure and hot water. Wifi works well in the restaurant, not so consistent in the rooms. The atmosphere is nice; I enjoy the eclectic/garden feel. Lynn was very helpful helping to book activities and just for joining in good conversation. I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Good spot. The owner very friendly and helpful. She even got mopane worms to try and didn't charge us, The food was good I enjoyed the Impala and Kudu. WiFI worked well. Breakfast was good with plenty to eat. The swimming pool was great(but I spent very little time in it because we were out most of the day.

It could use a backup generator for when the electric utility cuts power.

Shuttle service from the airport was good. You do have to provide your own transport back to the airport. Zig Zag is not to far from the hotel and is very helpful in getting taxis for you. They have resources to assist you in planning day trips.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ntretter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Livingstone
Protea Hotel Livingstone
#5 of 17 in Livingstone
260 reviews
5.1 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 17 in Livingstone
1,661 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
#6 of 17 in Livingstone
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
0.5 mi away
Tabonina Guesthouse
Tabonina Guesthouse
#1 of 31 in Livingstone
278 reviews
3.0 mi away
Victoria Falls Waterfront
Victoria Falls Waterfront
#15 of 84 in Livingstone
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zigzag B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zigzag B&B

Property: Zigzag B&B
Address: 693 Industrial Road, Livingstone 20100, Zambia
Region: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Zigzag B&B 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zig Zag is a small friendly B&B near to Livingstone town and only 8km from Victoria Falls. Our rooms are all en-suite with air-conditioning. We have beautiful gardens with a children's play area and a refreshing pool. Our restaurant serves freshly prepared home made food, with the best coffee and muffins in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Zigzag B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zigzag Bed And Breakfast
Zigzag Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing