We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, Excellent Food!”
Review of Zigzag B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Zigzag B&B
Ranked #4 of 30 Livingstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Place, Excellent Food!”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This review is quite belated... my husband and I stayed at the Zigzag in September 2012 for one night after arriving in Livingstone (for some reason the 'When Did You Travel' tool wouldn't let me select that far back). But I still wanted to write a review to say how much we enjoyed our stay at the Zigzag.

We were extremely jet-lagged after arriving (it was over 40 hours total in transit), but a representative from the hotel was ready to pick us up at the airport right on time. Our room was small but clean and cozy. We had dinner at the restaurant and it was an absolutely wonderful meal. The food quality and portion sizes were great. Service was terrific as well.

The next morning, we had breakfast at the restaurant. The coffee is excellent, the best we had while in Africa. I also had a fresh-baked muffin that was probably the best muffin I ever had... I highly recommend trying their fresh-baked goods, they're amazing!

The pool area was very well-maintained and the perfect place to relax in the sun. We unfortunately didn't have too much time to relax before meeting up with our tour group, but we enjoyed it while we could!

The owners are very friendly and really care to make their guests' stay as pleasant as possible. All employees were helpful and personable. They made us feel welcome right away. We would definitely like to go back again someday!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurieEFlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne M, Owner at Zigzag B&B, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thanks so much for remembering to give us your feedback. The coffee and muffins are always on the go and its really nice to know you enjoyed your stay with us and the food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    59
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
35
41
32
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Just spent 4 nights at Zigzag. Tremendously welcoming and friendly owner and staff. Rooms are not big but have very comfortable beds, plenty of hot water for showers and with a little table and chairs outside each room in the shade to sit and relax. There are also plenty of tables and chairs throughout the grounds and the restaurant / bar area also has a "comfy" corner. Again the swimming pool is not large but certainly adequate and most welcome on a hot day - I certainly made use of it every afternoon. Food was excellent and the whole experience so enjoyable I thoroughly recommend it - especially for it's value for money in a place where you really only have the choice of "backpackers"type of accommodation or expensive hotels. The reception area also supports locals who manufacture jewellery and crafts by selling them on their behalf.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictorAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne M, Owner at Zigzag B&B, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thanks very much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We're really glad you enjoyed your time here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Stayed recently at ZigZag, Livingstone....delightful stay with great service and wonderful company. We arrived at 1.30 am after driving from Lusaka and found them extremely helpful. Room more than adequate - extremely comfortable bed, clean, and great food. Lynne and her team are very hospitable and helpful. Lynne went out of her way to make sure we had whatever we needed....including some German Shepherd time for one of our party. We were delighted by Lynne's heart for Zambia. Would highly recommend this delightful haven to anyone travelling in Livingstone.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenyce54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne M, Owner at Zigzag B&B, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback. It was really a pleasure to meet you all and to help you enjoy your time in Livingstone. We had some good chats by the pool, and of course, anyone who loves GSDs is always welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Customer service is exceptional and one of the best I have experienced in my travels so far which includes everyone from the front desk to waitresses. The rooms are functional with A/C and ensuite. A free pick up from Airport is provided. The rooms are small but clean and comfortable.

What makes this standout is the service. From organising taxis and taxi pooling, tours and answering questions, Mercy and Lynne provide an excellent friendly service.

Excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank josh7912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne M, Owner at Zigzag B&B, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for the feedback. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and it is nice to hear such kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I've been to Livingstone several time, but this was the first time I stayed at ZigZag. I stayed here on recommendation of several other people who regularly stay here. This was a last minute booking and we found the process seamless and the staff highly accommodating. Rooms are not that big but they're big enough, besides, Livingstone is an outdoor destination. I particularly liked the dining area, but the real deal closer for me was the willingness of the staff and owner to help us and accommodate us. This is sure to be a regular stop for me and colleagues.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ralph d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne M, Owner at Zigzag B&B, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thanks for your kind comments. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgieporjy
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

A very well priced B&B with exceptional service. Rooms clean, bar charming, great swimming pool. Just what the Doctor ordered following our three week Southern African stint. Lynne and Mercy were very kind and helpful.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank georgieporjy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne M, Owner at Zigzag B&B, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thanks so much for your comments - we're glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southsea, Uk
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Stayed here twice in October when travelling through Livingstone with friends. The room is basic but has a seperate bathroom with shower and aircon. Adequate as a base when travelling. The bar and restaurant area are very nice, excellent food and breakfast included which is a good start to the day. Nice grounds / garden for spending spare time in. The location is about a 20 minute walk into Livingstone centre which is fine when it isnt too hot ! Lynne and her staff are very welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank boredinsouthsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne M, Owner at Zigzag B&B, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thanks very much for your feedback, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
5.1 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 17 in Livingstone
1,714 reviews
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Livingstone
Protea Hotel Livingstone
#5 of 17 in Livingstone
268 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
#6 of 17 in Livingstone
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Victoria Falls Waterfront
Victoria Falls Waterfront
#14 of 85 in Livingstone
404 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tabonina Guesthouse
Tabonina Guesthouse
#1 of 30 in Livingstone
282 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fawlty Towers
Fawlty Towers
#4 of 85 in Livingstone
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zigzag B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zigzag B&B

Property: Zigzag B&B
Address: 693 Industrial Road, Livingstone 20100, Zambia
Region: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Zigzag B&B 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zig Zag is a small friendly B&B near to Livingstone town and only 8km from Victoria Falls. Our rooms are all en-suite with air-conditioning. We have beautiful gardens with a children's play area and a refreshing pool. Our restaurant serves freshly prepared home made food, with the best coffee and muffins in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Zigzag B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zigzag Hotel Livingstone
Zigzag Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing