We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unigue and Unforgettable”
other travellers have booked this property
A beautiful four poster bed in the Master bedroom for a great night's sleep.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A beautiful four poster bed in the Master bedroom for a great night's sleep.
Master bedroom west side showing the wrought iron dressing table. A super comfy couch finishes off the Master bedroom.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
A beautiful four poster bed in the Master bedroom for a great night's sleep.
Master bedroom west side showing the wrought iron dressing table.
A super comfy couch finishes off the Master bedroom.
A spacious lounge with flat screen TV and sleeper couch.
Lounge west side
Master bedroom en-suite bath room sports a beautiful slipper bath.
The airy dining area showing the main entrance.
The cooking area is equipped with a gas stove and large fridge.
Downstairs shower/toilet
The rooftop patio has a hot tub and sun bed
Soak it up with a sundowner in the open air hot tub.
Rooftop chilling area
A curious neighbour looking over the wall.
Gwembe Castle
View of the pool from the verandah.
the pool Area looking towards the Castle.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Livingstone, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
498jenp
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unigue and Unforgettable”
Reviewed 16 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have recently returned from Livingstone after spending five nights at the amazing and unique Gwembe Castle. We enjoy our own space and privacy but also appreciate comfort and convenience, so Gwembe was perfect for us. Very central, with easy access to all the local attractions and activities, we returned home each day after game viewing, cruising the Zambezi River, visiting the Victoria Falls and sight-seeing, to our own private courtyard and swimming pool shaded by magnificent towering jakkalberry trees, where we could enjoy a swim and a sundowner in the quiet of the magnificent African evening. The Castle itself is superbly decorated, comfortable and inviting, fully equipped with everything a home away from home needs. We were able to self-cater or eat out to suit ourselves, and slept very well in the superb four poster bed, with only the sound of chirping insects for company (no nearby noisy holiday revellers or inebriated backpackers!). The sitting room has DSTV and and is a cosy and comfortable space for relaxing. The rooftop is such a quirky, fun addition to the accomodation, with its day-bed, wicker furniture, generous-sized bath, and drinks fridge - very romantic and affording wonderful views over the African bush through the 'battlements'. The friendly owners were always on hand to assist with local information and advice, and were able to arrange safaris and other activities for us. We absolutely loved Gwembe Castle - it was a truly unique and wonderful experience staying in this unusual and delightful self-catering accomodation. Highly recommended and totally unforgettable!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2015
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. It was a great pleasure to have hosted you. I'm glad we were able to make your stay in Zambia a memorable one.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danieljfa...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxurious & Homely”
Reviewed 28 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This place is a real hidden gem, just down the road from the falls in a tranquil spot with its own pool and garden. The Castle itself is something a bit special. Each room is more comfortable than the last with their generous soft-furnishings. The owners have struck a delicate balance between luxury and homeliness. It even has a slightly regal feel in places, which I guess is what they're going for. Careful thought has gone into the design and there are some wonderful details to be enjoyed. The highlight is probably the roof terrace on which you can take a romantic, candlelit bath for two in the treetops. There is also some sociably arranged furniture, a drinks fridge, a great view and anything else you might need for an atmospheric soirée with friends.

The owner, Ian seems a genuinely lovely chap. He's an excellent host and I suspect it's because his heart is in it. He his wife, Sue, have an abundance of information about the local area and Zambia in general, as well as some great stories and insights.

I'd highly recommend staying here. It was an absolute pleasure.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juliette...
1 review
“Romantic”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Inside the walls of the castle, we were welcomed by a cool garden with deliciously refreshing pool under a large Jackalberry tree. The castle, based on four levels, takes one into a fully functional kitchen/eating area, cool and quiet - overlooking the garden.
Up the stairs is an extremely comfortable sitting room with large TV and tasteful furnishings. The bedroom, up another flight of cool stairs, is complete with four poster bed, elegant sofa and en suite bathroom and, finally, the top floor, with views all around, a magical space complete with bath, comfortable sofas, day bed, fridge and fairy lights. I thought we'd be exhausted by the stairs, but it only added to the intrigue and enjoyment of the experience. In the evenings, sitting atop the castle, we were treated to the night calls of bats, birds and beasts and the distant sounds of drumming.
A haven off the beaten track, the castle is homely, self contained and secure. Not only that, it is very close to Victoria Falls, restaurants and game drives.
We look forward to returning again. Thank you Ian for the wealth of local information and stories.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The top floor ....
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
64Elli
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exquisite. Peaceful. Welcoming.”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Our stay in Gwembe castle is one which I will remember for a long time and plan to come back to for a longer stay. The surroundings are absolutely beautiful and the interior of the castle is stunning. It is such a long time since I have found somewhere quite so special as Gwembe castle, having discovered, amidst the luxury and romance of the place, a home away from home. I particularly loved the rooftop area - complete with open air (yet private) bath tub, beautiful furniture and drinks cabinet. Here you can find peace as the sun goes down amongst the trees or sit down to breakfast in the still mornings. The bedroom and sitting room are also entirely charming! The castle is perfectly located away from the bustle of town and ten minutes away from the breathtaking Victoria falls. The well-appointed kitchen means that we were able to enjoy our own cooking or sample local and international food at the conveniently located restaurants nearby. Thank you Ian so much for making our stay here as perfect as it was!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The calm surroundings, privacy and comfort
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2015
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to host you and we look forward to seeing you back in Zambia again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 May 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience. It was a pleasure to meet you and we sincerely hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing