We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun place with good restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jollyboys International Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“fun place with good restaurant”
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Jollyboys is a great place to hang out for a few days and recharge. The atmosphere is relaxed and you'll easily make new friends. You can hang out in the chill zone, there is a pool table and ping pong, lots of space to relax with a book, have a mosi, recharge your phone and get on the Internet. Jollyboys offers free daily bus service to Vicfalls, please sign on as there are only 14 seats on the bus and once the seats are takes you’ll have to make alternative arrangements. The hostel is near a number of decent restaurants, we ate at Café Zambezi – try the Jerk Chicken. The food at Jolly boys is very tasty and the menu changes daily. I'm not sure what to make of the comments about slow service. I’m on vacation - what’s the hurry? Yes- the sandwiches take 20+ minutes, but you're just having a chat with a fellow traveler in the mean time.

The common bathrooms and showers were very clean and the entire place was well maintained. Please keep in mind you're staying at a hostel. If you're going for crisp, white linen and soft towels, please book a hotel. If you’re looking for a fun backpacker place then Jollyboys is just perfect!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winterhude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    195
    60
    19
    13
See reviews for
28
120
121
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reggio Emilia, Italy
Level Contributor
117 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Good only for party young groups. Rooms facing the patio are very noisy. Very slow service at the bar, aprox 40 mins for a toast. Unpleasant service at the reception. Private bathrooms are ok, commons are very dirty. I personally suggest to buy the room with bathroom ensuite. Maybe JollyB is considered one of the best in livingstone...but the reason is that there are not many possibilities in town..

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcoferra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
77 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We stayed here for almost a week and used it as a base for our Livingstone activities. The hosts are great and there is a good backpacker atmosphere. We stayed in air con double rooms, which had good hot showers. They can organise anything really, for example we took a one day trip across the border into Chobe national park in Botswana. And the place is great for a beer or two after a hard day's taking photos of victoria falls and the monster baboons!

Room Tip: double with air con has great shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jon o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

I was part of a group on a camping expedition in Zambia. We stayed here for 3 nights in total and enjoyed each one. We camped, so I have no information about the accommodation. In terms of facilities:
The reception and reception staff were lovely. They were helpful, kind and generally happy! I like the whole 'how are you? I am fine' approach to everyone in Zambia- it gets you far!
Our group had done some rough camping in the days prior to Jolly Boys, so getting here and having a nice bar, a lovely pool table, and an amazing fire to sit round was luxury!
I used the wifi that was available and we sat in the bar most evenings listening to music, having some mosi's and generally relaxing. We also took advantage of the meals, and thoroughly enjoyed them.
One thing to remember- we had just spent a week trekking, and had been relying on ourselves to cook basics. The meals at Jolly Boys were heaven in comparison!

Jolly Boys is a lovely backpackers/campsite! They also order taxis, which is something not every backpackers/campsite in Zambia does. The food is decent, the atmosphere is cool and the ground is great to sleep on!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fakehaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

This backpackers has everything a backpacker needs. The service was very good and the place was very clean and food was also good. There is a nice pool area and the garden is very pleasant. It is conveniently located right near the museum, which is worth seeing, and near the town centre. The room I had was adequate and clean. The bed was good. It could provide better mosquito nets as there were some holes in one I was using and it seemed too small for a double bed - if it had been mosquito time, I would have been worried. It was a bit noisy at night as there was noise from eg dogs nearby and backpackers walking past the room and music. No sound insulation of course and doors are rather noisy to close. Plenty of hot water and never needed to wait for bathroom. Good large self-catering kitchen - but cover up food as there are cockroaches, although it is clean. Very suitable for backpackers.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alwaysunderway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

I stayed at Jollyboys for two nights in early July before joining an overland tour group. It was a great start to my African travels. The twin room I stayed in was clean, with a hot shower, fan and mosquito net. There was also a great bar with a pool table and table tennis. The swimming pool also looked good but the weather wasn't right to take a dip.

The staff were helpful in giving us directions around Livingstone, and the free airport pickup service was definitely a bonus. The hostel is also well situated close to the main high street. If I returned to Livingstone I would definitely stay at Jollyboys.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheArtfulBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

No complaints; Jollyboys was by far the best hostel of my trip from Capetown to Vic Falls. It has a huge pillow lounge, a full-time activities center, restaurant serving delicious food. The showers are probably the best that I've ever had at home or away (comes close to standing under a warm waterfall). The private double room was simple but cozy and clean. They have cheap internet that you can use either on computers or wi-fi. Nice looking pool - but too weather wasn't right to go in. They have a pool table and ping-pong table.
The rooms are well away from the bar/restaurant area, so not noisy. And the Hostel itself is located one block away from the main road in the centre of town (which isn't big).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeBeeVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
5.3 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 17 in Livingstone
1,657 reviews
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Livingstone
Protea Hotel Livingstone
#5 of 17 in Livingstone
260 reviews
4.9 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
#6 of 17 in Livingstone
9 reviews
0.3 mi away
Livingstone Backpackers
Livingstone Backpackers
#13 of 84 in Livingstone
142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fawlty Towers
Fawlty Towers
#5 of 84 in Livingstone
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jollyboys International Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jollyboys International Backpackers

Property: Jollyboys International Backpackers
Address: 34 Kanyanta Road | PO Box 61088, Livingstone, Zambia
Region: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jollyboys International Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zambia's original backpacker! Jollyboys is the quintessential backpackers lodge and has been catering to budget travellers since 1995. Our friendly and helpful staff are well versed in up-to-the-minute travel information and regulations throughout Southern Africa. Jollyboys have recently established 'Responsible Tourism' initiatives such as worm farms for food waste, solar power, reduced water use and waste by recycling and up-cycling as well as supporting local social enterprise organizations. The Jollyboys restaurant provides meals of exceptional value or try your hand at cooking in the self catering kitchen. FREE wifi available in our common areas and we offer FREE daily shuttles to the Victoria Falls and FREE pick ups from the Livingstone Airport. Whether you are a long term traveler, on a short weekend break, on honeymoon or traveling with a group volunteering, Jollyboys has something to offer everyone. We look forward to welcoming you to Jollyboys Backpackers and Camp and being part of your Livingstone adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Jollyboys International Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jollyboys International Backpackers Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing