We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good backpacker accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jollyboys International Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good backpacker accommodation”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

On one hand, Jollyboys has everything the backpacker could want - clean, secure accommodation, a lively bar, pool, and the chance to meet other travellers. They also have nice extras like free pick-up from the airport and free drop-off at Victoria Falls. We stayed in an air-con twin room with en-suite. The room was clean, if a little dark. The beds had mosquito nets and were comfortable. The shower had good pressure and plenty of hot water. One problem is that the room didn't have closing windows, just a screen. As a result, all of the cold air from the air-con would just escape - not very well thought through.

Now for a few areas of improvement. The wifi is laughably slow and prone to cut in and out. Being pay as you go, it's easy to lose all of your credit if the connection times out and you can't log out properly. This happened a couple of times, and I ended up spending more on wifi than I wanted. The hostel bar and restaurant serve good food, but the small staff can be easily overwhelmed by the number of guests order. It's best to arrive early. Overall, I enjoyed my stay at Jollyboys, and I would recommend it to any traveller looking for good backpacker accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Othello491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    196
    60
    20
    13
See reviews for
28
122
122
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Overall a good place to stay. The bungalows were clean and nice, but the lighting wasn't the best. The internet access is really slow and quite expensive, so I don't see the point in paying. Most of the showers were good, the ones furthest away from the reception were by far the best. Not so many people and good pressure. The food was not the best and it took a long time to get it. Some of the staff there were a little bit grumpy. They also started sweeping the area at 05.00 in the morning several days in a row. But overall a good place to stay, with a nice area for sunbathing. The pool was a bit dirty, but did it's job. Will be going back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrineJ861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

In a nutshell, I would thoroughly recommend this hostel to anyone, Jollyboys is one of my favourite hostels I have stayed in so far. The place is structured in a way that you have great communal space and open areas, and it had a very nice vibe to it and buzz.

Facility-wise I found the place to be fine, toilets all worked, showers were good (the odd cold one but I think that was because I was a very early riser at times - believe they have solar heating for it). They have a free water cooler you can top your bottle up from, a washing service if required - I have all merino wool items, Haglöfs and good kit and all came back in good order (obviously ask them not to put wools in the dryer...). Although not mega fast the internet was good as well, and the restaurant/bar served yum food and drinks. I stayed in a 4 person dorm, the beds/mosquito nets were in good condition. I had one issue on my second stay though with a mattress that was memory foam-ish but without the memory (cue my play for humour... safe to say it was in bad shape) BUT the staff changed it over to a different one in the blink of an eye. In fact the staff were brilliant overall, genuinely very happy to help and always kind, smiling and putting you at ease, quite knowledgeable too on the area and activities if you were looking to line something up.

Worth mentioning security at the front gate was great too, well monitored and always had a staffed.

Location wise it is brilliant, just off the main strip and close to a local supermarket, banks, post office, and easy to make your way to Victoria Falls or Batoka gorge about 10-15mins away (they have a shuttle service from the hostel too which was great). An absolute treat was the pool they have as well, this was well maintained and in good condition, the water was just a joy and very refreshing.

They will exchange dollars for you but not local CCY back (not allowed by law I believe).

NB: There are two Jollyboys locations though in Livingston, so be careful when booking/Googling online that you get the one you want, the second one if memory serves is Jollyboys Camp, which is slightly more family oriented and 'chilled', not to say you can't chill at the International Backpackers one, but it is a different location to the one I am writing the review on ;)

Room Tip: I don't recall the room number I stayed in, but most of the dorms are located closer to the comm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Barrington, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

This place was huge, clean, efficient, fun and entirely worth the money.

It was easy to make reservations and check in. They took any currency and did quick conversions. Cash was required, but it was a short walk to the ATM or currency exchange.

The staff was very knowledgeable and accessible. They made it extremely easy to make reservations around town. They also had a fair amount of fun activities at the hostel, including free transport to the Falls.

We stayed in the private room, which was priced quite nice for the amenities. Our friends stayed in the dorms and also found them comfortable. The bathroom and kitchen were very clean too.

The food menu was a little expensive, but still good. The bar was reasonably priced and open to 11 - but they still let you have a few beers after. It was fun - but not wild, so you could get a good night of sleep.

They had fun games and decent books.

We had to pay for internet - but it was a decent speed.

Refreshing and clean pool made for a nice afternoon of relaxing too.

It was centrally located and easy to find some enjoyable things in town.

I would highly recommend this place and will definitely stay there again if I return

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolreckamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Jollyboys is one of the best backpackers we've been to for atmosphere - the way that place is setup really facilitates it. Good food, good location, friendly staff and a free pickup from the airport. Rooms a bit basic but you are backpacking!

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ramenmuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broome, Western Australia, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

awesome super cheap backpackers.very clean and friendly .best source for information in livingstone .close to shops and all livingstone attractions .free pickup from airport and victoria falls shuttel daily.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Very friendly staff, competitive rates, can organise almost anything for you, very chilled out setting, great bar, nice food. Most of all this is just THE place to meet people and have a great time in Livingstone.

Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Livingstone
Protea Hotel Livingstone
#5 of 17 in Livingstone
265 reviews
4.9 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
5.3 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 17 in Livingstone
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Livingstone Backpackers
Livingstone Backpackers
#13 of 84 in Livingstone
146 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fawlty Towers
Fawlty Towers
#5 of 84 in Livingstone
390 reviews
2.8 mi away
Victoria Falls Waterfront
Victoria Falls Waterfront
#15 of 84 in Livingstone
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jollyboys International Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jollyboys International Backpackers

Property: Jollyboys International Backpackers
Address: 34 Kanyanta Road | PO Box 61088, Livingstone, Zambia
Region: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jollyboys International Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zambia's original backpacker! Jollyboys is the quintessential backpackers lodge and has been catering to budget travellers since 1995. Our friendly and helpful staff are well versed in up-to-the-minute travel information and regulations throughout Southern Africa. Jollyboys have recently established 'Responsible Tourism' initiatives such as worm farms for food waste, solar power, reduced water use and waste by recycling and up-cycling as well as supporting local social enterprise organizations. The Jollyboys restaurant provides meals of exceptional value or try your hand at cooking in the self catering kitchen. FREE wifi available in our common areas and we offer FREE daily shuttles to the Victoria Falls and FREE pick ups from the Livingstone Airport. Whether you are a long term traveler, on a short weekend break, on honeymoon or traveling with a group volunteering, Jollyboys has something to offer everyone. We look forward to welcoming you to Jollyboys Backpackers and Camp and being part of your Livingstone adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Jollyboys International Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jollyboys International Backpackers Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing