We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jollyboys International Backpackers
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Rite Inn(Livingstone)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Ngoma Zanga Lodge(Livingstone)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Fallsway Lodge(Livingstone)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chrismar Hotel(Livingstone)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (563)
Filter reviews
563 results
Traveller rating
256
211
63
20
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
256
211
63
20
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjolly boysperson dormmeet other travellersshared bathroomfree shuttlelocal orphanagevictoria fallsself catering kitchenevery morningknowledgeable staffmosquito netswimming poolcommon areasnice poolrecommend staying herebook activitieslivingstone museum
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
252 - 257 of 563 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Jollyboys is a great little spot with a nice vibe. It has people coming and going all the time, so there are always new people to meet. The bar/restaurant area is near the pool and is comfortable and fun.

The bar/restaurant suffers from the same general service issue that is apparent in the rest of Zambia (i.e. service is usually very slow), so don't be alarmed if it takes a while for your breakfast to arrive.

Word of caution: whilst the breakfast and food itself is pretty good (and the beer is decently prized for Zambia), the coffee is terrible. Literally the worst coffee I've ever tasted. I don't know what went wrong, but I only had two sips, and only had the second sip to confirm that the first sip was the single worst sip of coffee I've ever had.

Other than that tiny blip, it was a great stay, and I'll definitely be back the next time I'm in Livingstone.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Brett I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed in a double en suite room for 4 nights. The location itself is very central, only a short walk from shops and amenities. Also the livingstone museum is literally across the road. Well worth a visit. Our room was clean and well equipped (safe, constant hot water, plenty of furniture and mosquito net). Bar staff were very friendly and helpful, reception less so. The guards were extremely friendly and always happy to assist in calling taxis. Although the reception staff were not the warmest of people, they were efficient and always available to assist with anything. The information provided by jolly boys in the form of Info packs, posters and boards was extremely helpful and no doubt allowed us to make the most of our visit. On the downside, the free wifi was all but useless at most times. We would rather have paid for a reliable connection. The variety of food was very limited for a backpackers of this size, although the food we did try was pleasant enough. Food is served until 6.30pm which can be frustrating if you are late arriving or returning from an excursion. They do, however, provide takeaway and delivery menus for local restaurants. One big plus point is the free shuttle bus to the falls which leaves every day at 10am but unfortunately only has space for 11. Overall we were happy with our stay. We weren't looking for 5 star luxury but rather a base of operations with a decent level of comfort. This place fits the bill quite nicely although so do most places In livingstone. Jolly boys simply doesn't stand out as special, though it's pleasant enough. A few improvements could definitely be made. Next time we would probably try livingstone backpackers.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Pros:
Bed and room were clean and secure.
Easy walking distance to restaurants and markets.
Common areas were nice to lounge in (when not overrun by hoards of highschool/young college volunteer groups).
Free shuttle from the airport and to the falls.

Cons:

Free wifi available, but extremely frustrating to connect to. It appeared to be limited to allow only 16 or so people on at a time, which is ridiculous for a place that houses significantly more guests than that (guessing 50-60 people, maybe?). Even once connected, the wifi was incredibly slow.

Our hut had large portions that were just screen, so any noise outside traveled right through. The common area could get loud at times even though we were pretty far back in the complex, and it sounded like there was a club (or other bar/gathering place) nearby that blasted music late into the night.

Self-catering kitchen area was full of flies, poorly equipped, and not particularly clean. There was a toaster and a couple of hot plates, and limited dishes/silverware. The fridge was packed and looked like it hadn't been cleaned out in ages.

Seemed like majority of guests were parts of large, young, volunteer groups rather than smaller solo, duo etc backpacker travelers.

Room Tip: Further from the common area is slightly quieter.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Neat location close to what restaurants and shops in the city. The place has a booking office which makes it really easy to plan your days. Nice atmosphere in the chill out area. However, some things should be improved. Showers in one of the bathrooms gave us small electrical shocks, and none of the showers were any good. The wifi is incredibly unstable, so we were basically without internet during our 4 nights.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Tord K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

A group of 13 of us came to stay four 5 nights after doing some volunteer work in Kabwe.

Jolly Boys is a good base to see the falls - they have a free drop off service and a taxi back is 50 Kwacha. They also book a lot of excursions. We all went on the Chobe Safari for a day in Botswana. This was an excellent experience. The only problem was that we were told we could pay in Kwacha and then when we got to Botswana were told we couldn't - so everyone had to get their credit cards out. Most of the big excursions are priced in dollars and it is probably easiest to bring them and use them to pay for trips.

Jolly Boys does good food for breakfast and lunch and great coffee - very reasonably priced. We stayed as a couple in one of the little huts for 2 people with a shared bathroom. The hut was excellent - really comfortable and clean. During the 5 nights I was there no one ever used the bathroom at the same time I did!

There is a nice vibe about the place and we found most of the staff helpful and friendly. They also do good things in the community - football games once a week with kids at a local orphanage - great and humbling experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank cperryz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews