We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For all lovers of elephants”

Safari Par Excellence - Elephant Encounter
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Located just 10 km from Livingstone, Zambezi Elephant Trails has established Zambia’s first “Elephant Camp” – offering a once in a lifetime insight into these gentle giants. Together with this ecologically friendly method of game viewing, a strong emphasis is placed on an Elephant experience rather than just an Elephant ride and guests are encouraged to interact with these majestic and intelligent African mammals. The training techniques used by Zambezi Elephant Trails are based on the positive reinforcement method as opposed to the controversial “discipline and submission” technique commonly associated with Asian Elephants. Our five African Elephants Mashumbi, Danny, Liwa, Madinda and Marula each offer two guests an unparalleled viewpoint of the mighty Zambezi River and surrounding bush area of Mosi Oa Tunya National Park. Nandi born to Liwa in 2004 and Sekuti the orphan now seven, will carry just one guest each. Our two youngsters Muyuni and Nyami accompany on the walk frolicking along with the herd.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I have loved these huge but graceful animals since a child. Getting up close and personal with the elephants was very special. The 45 minute or so ride was bumpy and may be a little uncomfortable for some. At the end of the ride we got to feed our elephant. Such a treat. Be sure to cover up and wear sun cream, long pants and long sleeve shirts.

2  Thank Janice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SafariParExcellence, Manager at Safari Par Excellence - Elephant Encounter, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Hi Janice,

We're so glad that you enjoyed your time with our wonderful elephants, we know that we are more than lucky to experience them every day. Also thank you for the recommendations on what to wear / use sunscreen - also advisable to wear something that you don't mind getting covered in elephant slobber (love) ;-)

Kind Regards,
Zambezi Elephant Trails Managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
There are newer reviews for Safari Par Excellence - Elephant Encounter
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 198 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

What a *fantastic* experience! There can be few greater privileges than getting to know African elephants (Loxodonta), interacting with them, and riding on them through the bush.

The team of guides under Gerald was helpful and well-informed, but the working (not merely "tame") elephants stole the show: gentle but immensely powerful, intelligent and patient.

This must be one of the most fun "activities" I've ever been involved in!

Thank Eindelik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SafariParExcellence, Manager at Safari Par Excellence - Elephant Encounter, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Hi,

Thank you so much for your positive and interesting review, we agree 100% with you that it is such a privilege to get to know these majestic animals, very special.

We're glad to hear that it was the elephants and not Gerald that stole the show (he tries) :-). Seriously though, the staff at ZET are all hard working, very knowledgeable and most importantly of all they care for the elephants like they were their own family.

Kind Regards,
Zambezi Elephant Trails

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

My husband and I were so excited when we found out we were going to be able to go on a safari on top of an elephant during our 17 day trip to southern Africa. A group of about 8 elephants went out with 2 people atop each and a guide driver . Before getting on, we got to choose our "vehicle" and get to know about them. Several moms had babies that walked alongside of them to get used to one day being ridden on safari ,too. We did not see the variety or number of other animals out in the bush that we saw on other safaris we went on in vehicles, but that didn't matter due to the thrill of seeing things from this very different perspective!
When we got back to the starting area and got off, the elephants posed for pictures and then we got to feed them pellets which was a lot of fun. As an additional item of entertainment at this time, the minute we were close to the "get-off" area, tons of baboons and warthogs ran out of the bush and over to this area to fight over pellets that didn't make it into the elephants' mouths. It was hilarious to watch the baboon try to sneak up on the hogs and take what they were getting at. This was all just feet away from where we were standing around.

2  Thank MissCocoWestbrookCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SafariParExcellence, Manager at Safari Par Excellence - Elephant Encounter, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Hi Coco,

Thank you for your review, I'm glad that you had what sounds like a lot of fun on your elephant ride and that the trip fulfilled the excitement that you had - aren't they just the most amazing animals?

Baboons and warthog are some of the most amusing animals to watch!!

Kind Regards,
Zambezi Elephant Trails Managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We had a blast riding the elephant through the bush! We went on the early morning ride when it was still cool outside. The trainer was very cordial and knowledgeable and we felt very safe with him. It was expensive but overall it was a great experience!

1  Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SafariParExcellence, Manager at Safari Par Excellence - Elephant Encounter, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Hi Jim,

Thank you so much for your positive review, I'm glad that you got to experience these amazing animals as well as see first hand the knowledgeable staff that we have on site.

Kind Regards,
Zambezi Elephant Trails Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This was my first time on an elephant and it was fun. The disappointment was in not seeing any other animals during the 'safari' but this is not a zoo and the animals in the area cannot be guaranteed. The best part of the visit was interacting with the elephants - getting to know them and feed them - and of course learning about the conservation efforts. This was especially nice after having seen them in the wild at Kapama Game Reserve and Chobe National Park.

Thank DallasKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SafariParExcellence, Manager at Safari Par Excellence - Elephant Encounter, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Hi Karen,

Thank you for your review, I agree and just love the elephant interaction - nothing better than getting elephant kisses (as long as you don't mind the slobber that comes with them!). Sorry the other animals weren't behaving and decided to hide on the day you visited ;-) Although as you were there in the rainy season it doesn't tend to be the best time to see other wildlife in the park because there is so much greenery and water further back from the river they do tend to be a bit elusive. Perhaps you should come for another visit in the dry season?!

I'm also glad that you enjoyed learning about the conservation side of things as this is also very important to us.

I hope that you had a wonderful holiday in Livingstone.

Kind Regards,
Zambezi Elephant Trails Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Safari Par Excellence - Elephant Encounter also viewed

Victoria Falls, Southern Province
 
Victoria Falls, Southern Province
Livingstone, Southern Province
 

Been to Safari Par Excellence - Elephant Encounter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing