We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tranquil spot close to the falls”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maramba River Lodge
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Reasonable close to Victoria falls and Livingstone. Chalet room was adequate for 3 adults. Pleasant garden. Restaurant has nice views over a river off shoot. Bar was comfortable and Bonaventure was a pleasant and competent barman. I left my wallet in a mini bus and the front desk staff were great in making phone calls etc which lead to me retrieving it intact. ( a rarity for Africa I must say!)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights in the campsite. Lodge has good equipment, nice bar and restaurant. You can sit in the bar with the river view and watch hippos and birds in the river. Lodge is not far from the Victoria waterfalls.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna_and_Lubos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We spent a couple of nights here and the location and lodge is very nice but the luxury tent is a tad tired and dated, the pics were taken some time ago. Overall we really liked our stay here but compared to other places we stayed at i would say the tents need a bit of freshening up. The staff and owners are very nice and service was very good, the food is quite exceptional and i can highly recommend the steak! the massive plus is the animals, there is a lot of wildlife there and i even watched a full size hippo eating on the lawn 15 feet from me one night as i sat in the dark outside the tent enjoying the cool nighttime, that was quite special.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

Large camp and lodge, but still manages to feel tranquil and has a nice friendly atmosphere. It's excellent value next to some of the other lodges around the Falls. Most of the site fronts the eponymous creek, including the restaurant, and the pool and bar area. There were crocs in the creek, and one cheeky young elephant bull to be seen on site. The camping areas were well laid out, if a little sodden, and the ablution block was nice and clean with good hot water showers. Food at the restaurant was good and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bazyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

After reading some of the reviews of this lodge and in particular Charley Boorman's comments, we were really looking forward to staying at this Lodge. However, we must have caught them at a bad time, I guess. The staff were friendly and welcoming on the whole - although the staff in the restaurant did seem a little out of sorts and service was extremely slow. We stayed for 2 nights and on both nights some items on the menu were unavailable. On the second night we waited an hour for our starters (samosas) but when they arrived they were cold - as in not having been cooked through properly. As they were vegetable we decided to just eat them - had they been meat ones they would have been sent back. We struggled to get a decent hot shower as the water seemed to keep running out and as the mornings in July are very cold it made the morning ablutions rather unpleasant.

On the plus side, the girls in the Activity Centre were really excellent - very helpful and really knew about each activity. The setting of the Lodge is lovely although we only saw crocodiles and antelopes on the opposite bank and heard the baboons at night.

Room Tip: We had a chalet which offered a good level of comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shubunkin53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

My girlfriend and I visited and had a really enjoyable stay, we are not fussy but like to be comfortable and found Maramba was all that and more!

It is very well situated, over looking the marimba river. The lodge has a warm and relaxing feel. The team were very friendly and extremely helpful, Thank you to you all.
Food was great, with good service. It is affordable and great quality

We were really happy with our stay and would visit again, will recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bushpig007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We recently hosted our wedding reception at Maramba River Lodge. It was for a small party of 25 people.

From start to finish, Ruth and Brad were absolutely amazing..They met with us as often as needed to finalise details. They were personable, taking care not only of the wedding details but of us as a couple as well. Nothing was too much for them.

The facilities were excellent, the attention to detail was outstanding. The food was excellent and the staff were friendly. The location was perfect. We wish we could relive the experience. We had rave reviews from our family and friends who had travelled from Australia, Scotland, South Africa, Namibia and Zambia. An amazing experience.

Maramba River Lodge is great value for money and well worth a visit. We would recommend it in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scot_Zam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Victoria Falls
2.5 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 18 in Livingstone
1,834 reviews
2.3 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
916 reviews
2.7 mi away
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls
#14 of 16 in Victoria Falls
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
3.3 mi away
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
#11 of 16 in Victoria Falls
408 reviews
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maramba River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maramba River Lodge

Address: Mosi Tunya Drive | Livingstone, Victoria Falls 60957, Zambia
Region: Zambia > Southern Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Victoria Falls
Price Range: £69 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maramba River Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4km from The Victoria Falls, Maramba River Lodge provides a most attractive all-year-round base to access The Victoria Falls. Maramba River Lodge is situated in the Mosi-oa-Tunya National Park overlooking the Maramba River. The lodge is visited by the resident wildlife with elephant wandering through the grounds at certain times of the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Maramba River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maramba River Hotel Victoria Falls
Maramba River Lodge Zambia/Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing