We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maramba River Lodge
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We had a two night stay here and had originally booked for camping, but due to the rains we stayed in the safari tents. These were expensive and crammed in alongside each other. We found the staff welcoming and friendly, but as we did not eat in the restaurant we cannot comment on the food and service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed at the Maramba River Lodge for the second time this summer when we were visiting Livingstone and Chobe National Park. We stayed in the safari tents that were very comfy and had nice hot showers. The complex is right on the river and is a very relaxing place to enjoy a drink as the sun sets. There is also a travel agency on site that can help you book all your holiday adventures in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ethorv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

we initially booked 2 nights camping and extended an extra 2 days. we camped next to the river in a lovely setting. The swimming pool was great for the kids and Bradley and his team were very helpful.
The proximity to the falls and being just out of town made it a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Benedict040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed in the luxury tents and found them to be very comfortable. The food was good and the staff were friendly. Loved the breakfast with the fresh scones! We were there at the hottest time of the year and were a bit worried about the tents being too hot at night but they weren't. We like that we could get tea and coffee at the bar area in the morning and afternoon and the restaurant had a great view of the river and we watched hippo eat while we ate.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celeste91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed three nights in chalets here and amazing time had. Lovely gardens, clean comfortable rooms with mosquito nets, coils and all necessities. Staff very helpful and food great with view overlooking river seeing wildlife e.g. crocodiles, elephants and bird life in abundance. Pool area has free WiFi and bar area certainly nice and relaxing overlooking the pool.

After evening meal one night, huge hippo came in for a visit on the grounds and on our last night had a morning wake up call from an elephant peering in our window!

Very close for a visit to Livingstone and the Vic Falls also nearby Zimbabwe (which we walked across the border).

Sorry to leave this amazing place.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Michele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This is one of the most amazing places I have stayed - such wonderful access to wildlife. We ate our breakfast while watching a whole family of elephants eating their breakfast just yards across the river. We watched a mother hippo and her baby frolicking (I didn't know hippos could frolick) in the water just yards from our evening drinks. Monkeys all around the site.
Lovely dipping pool. Lovely rooms - great fun to shower indoors but outdoors!!
Highly recommended and great price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Our 'room' was a canvas-sided tent, on a wooden platform, with two comfortable single beds, a toilet, sink and shower. Mosquito netting was on all windows of the 'tent', and mosquito netting was over each bed. Free tea and coffee all day long. Breakfasts were good; dinners were good. Hippo came after 9:00 pm to graze on the grass. Baboons scurried nearby. Crocodile showed up on the opposite bank one afternoon. We stayed 3 nights. Very close to Livingstone, Victoria Falls and the local nature reserve, which displayed an abundance of animals. Booked a helicopter ride over the falls at the on-site agency. Very nice place. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Some 'tents' have no toilet or shower; short walk to the bath house. Take a flashlight in mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnPlaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Victoria Falls
2.1 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
2.7 mi away
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls
#13 of 16 in Victoria Falls
466 reviews
2.5 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 18 in Livingstone
1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
#15 of 16 in Victoria Falls
548 reviews
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel Livingstone
Protea Hotel Livingstone
#5 of 18 in Livingstone
280 reviews
2.3 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#11 of 16 in Victoria Falls
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maramba River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maramba River Lodge

Address: Mosi Tunya Drive | Livingstone, Victoria Falls 60957, Zambia
Region: Zambia > Southern Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Victoria Falls
Price Range: £61 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maramba River Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4km from The Victoria Falls, Maramba River Lodge provides a most attractive all-year-round base to access The Victoria Falls. Maramba River Lodge is situated in the Mosi-oa-Tunya National Park overlooking the Maramba River. The lodge is visited by the resident wildlife with elephant wandering through the grounds at certain times of the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Maramba River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maramba River Hotel Victoria Falls
Maramba River Lodge Zambia/Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing