We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Southern Comfort Lodge
Ranked #6 of 26 Bulawayo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 May 2012

I have had reason to stay in Bulawayo on business on more than one occasion. I would highly recommend Southern Comfort Lodge as a safe, well maintained and extremely comfortable place to base yourself in while on business in Bulawayo.
I found the hosts to be extremely helpful and went out of their way to assist me and my colleagues during our stay. They were also extremely obliging with regard to the food & meal times and I was never disappointed with the quality of the food offered.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mosiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2012

The southern comfort lodge in Bulawayo, Zimbabwe is wonderful. The grounds are kept like a huge English garden. The rooms are very nice. The managing team of Shannon and Kevin Williams go out of their way to assist. The meals are delicious.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dwain I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

I recently attended a family members wedding in Bulawayo, my birth city with my mother. We were booked in Southern Comfort Lodge. What a great choice. The rooms we great and owners very approachable with great suggestions.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CrocValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Excellent staff and attention to detail. This lodge is clean and has a very safe and relaxed atmosphere. They serve the best cup of tea! The “Sneaky Rat Pub” feels like home where you sit for hours and hear stories of travelers from around the globe. We loved it and will go back on our next adventure to Africa.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2011

I've stayed here multiple times on business trips and plan on staying here next time I am in town.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DylanC25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank sandrineandromain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthernComfortLodge, Owner at Southern Comfort Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank Asso6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bulawayo hotels
0 mi away
Cresta Churchill Hotel
Cresta Churchill Hotel
#3 of 8 in Bulawayo
76 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Bulawayo
Holiday Inn Bulawayo
#2 of 8 in Bulawayo
182 reviews
4.1 mi away
The N1 Hotel Bulawayo
The N1 Hotel Bulawayo
#4 of 8 in Bulawayo
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Selborne Hotel
Selborne Hotel
#6 of 8 in Bulawayo
5 reviews
3.7 mi away
Bulawayo Rainbow Hotel
Bulawayo Rainbow Hotel
#5 of 8 in Bulawayo
72 reviews
4.5 mi away
Stay Afrique
Stay Afrique
#9 of 26 in Bulawayo
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Comfort Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Comfort Lodge

Address: 22 Jaywick Road | Matsheumhlope, Bulawayo 0000, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Bulawayo Province > Bulawayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Bulawayo
Price Range: £43 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Southern Comfort Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2017/2018 RATES US$35.00 Single Occupation US$50.00 Double Occupation (Twin Bedded Rooms for sharing) US$10.00 Breakfast per person SOUTHERN COMFORT ESTATE, named for the original farmstead on which it is located, was bought by Craig and Lesley Hunt in 1994. It featured only a barren patch of sparse bush and a breached dam; it was unfenced, dry and dusty, with a meagre supply of water and a lonely farmhouse and stable yard, built originally in the 1920s. Since those early days, Craig and Lesley have fostered and created a dream – today, the Estate features a large dam, lush green gardens, a prolific borehole, a six-chalet lodge, conference centre and campground. As they say, from a tiny seed stems a great tree!The Estate boasts a cool, calm atmosphere, offering peace and tranquillity to all who visit – a welcome haven from the chaos of everyday life. Craig and Lesley, having begun all those years ago, still reside on the property and eagerly welcome all who happen to pass their way. They have two children, a son, Scott and a daughter, Tanya.Southern Comfort Estate has been a long time in the making, and we are still striving for the highest levels of perfection. There are numerous plans and projects for the future, and we would like to invite you to see for yourself what big dreams can achieve… For inspiration, and relaxation, welcome to SOUTHERN COMFORT ESTATE ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Southern Comfort Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing