We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sizzling new addition - The Deck - pool terrace”
Review of Banff Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bulawayo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Banff Lodge
Ranked #2 of 25 Bulawayo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I went to have a meal at the new renovated pool terrace, The Deck. Firstly the surroundings will astound you, the ambiance is something that reminds me of being on a beautiful wine farm in cape town. Under the fantastic new owners, everything has been upgraded and updated.

The Deck is a restaurant pool terrace bar, with a very welcoming swimming pool, next time I am taking my costume to join everyone else soaking up the sun. The meal I had was world class cuisine and very large portions.
Highly recommend visiting this venue for an upmarket experience, warm and welcome environment and a great vibe. I will definitely be returning soon to sit in the gardens and enjoy the wifi. If you like watching sports, also a good option with giant flat screens.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreasteyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
There are newer reviews for Banff Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

Thank you and to all the staff for making our stay very pleasant. We really appreciated not being charged for cutting our visit short.
A special thanks to Caroline, Nelson and Vilem for their professionalism and front of house operation.
Also, the catering Manager is doing an outstanding job with the meals. Top notch.

Francis & Hoda Ivory.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francis541012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We travelled to Bulawayo with family for just one night. Banff Lodge was booked for us by my Uncle and I must say I was presently surprised. The rooms are spacious, the beds were comfortable and the bathroom neat. Although all the fixtures and fittings are somewhat tired and old, everything is clean and well kept.
Breakfasts were good, a choice between a health option and a more traditional English breakfast. Impressive that they can provide any options at all given Zimbabwe's struggles with even the most basic necessities.

Dinner at 'New Orleans' restaurant the night before was also notable. We had a large table of 16 and the two waiters manager to not only get everyone's drinks orders correct, they also noticed when drinks needed refilling without hovering. The kitchen staff should also be commended for getting all 16 orders out more or less simultaneously! No easy feat! The food was solid, nothing spectacular but very tasty nonetheless.

All in all Banff Lodge was a very comfortable overnight spot and I would recommend it to anyone travelling to Bulawayo.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms lead out onto a small verandah, which is not private but does provide an additiona...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaraZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Banf Lodge is Bulawayo in a nutshell. It is welcoming , cosy , set about 25 yrs behind Harare and unpretentious . We enjoyed the stay and found our double room ( number 9 , that has a small balcony leading to a Garden) clean and comfortable. Breakfast is very good with a choice of English or a health option. Sky tv in the breakfast room was welcome. Due partly to the depressed economy of Bulawayo , there are now many informal Lodges and coffee places. However Banf has been around for years and 20 odd yrs ago used to be a residential lodging place where folk would stay for months. It is set in Hillside , which is a 10/15 minute drive from the centre of town.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Mugme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

nothing out of the ordinary - but then Bulawayo does not have a lot out of the ordinary to offer. The establishment is a like a somewhat tired but hospitable old lady. Nothing pretentious, everything works, comfort food and cold beers. Rooms are old. Beds are old. Showers are old. but everything is adequate. in some other part of Africa you would say that its outrageously expensive. but in this rather peculiar part of the world its reasonable value for money. Staff are no more than pleasant. Place feels like it could do with a little more competition.....

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ianp01cof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Bulawayo is relatively run down compared to former years so the choice of sojourn is important. Banff lodge is a clean bungalow residence in a quiet suburb within easy driving distance of town. The staff is friendly and helpful. I stayed in a twin bedded room with bath and was entirely at ease there. Food is available up to quite late, if one includes the Orleans restaurant which adjoins the Lodge. Food is not outstanding in my opinion but is perfectly adequate. The Lodge is set in well manicured gardens and there is an attractive pool. There is at least one good restaurant a block away.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank frank s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Beautiful historic Cape Dutch B&B set in wonderful grounds ideally located in top Bulawayo suburb. Comfortable rooms, traditionally styled (think wooden floors etc), excellent restaurant attached (New Orleans restaurant has been one of the top eateries in town for many years). Recently introduced free WiFi now makes this an excellent choice for both business and tourist travellers alike. Service is personal & high quality and the owner and staff will bend over backwards to make sure your stay is enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ratz2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bulawayo hotels
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Bulawayo
Holiday Inn Bulawayo
#2 of 7 in Bulawayo
174 reviews
2.8 mi away
The N1 Hotel Bulawayo
The N1 Hotel Bulawayo
#5 of 7 in Bulawayo
100 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Nesbitt Castle
The Nesbitt Castle
#1 of 7 in Bulawayo
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Motsamai Guest Lodge
Motsamai Guest Lodge
#3 of 38 in Bulawayo
22 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wozani Lodge
Wozani Lodge
#4 of 38 in Bulawayo
11 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sethule Lodge
Sethule Lodge
#2 of 38 in Bulawayo
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Lodge

Address: 35 Leander Ave | Hillside, Bulawayo, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Bulawayo Province > Bulawayo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Bulawayo
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Banff Hotel Bulawayo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing