We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Camping, It Was Basic”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bulawayo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Packers Paradise Lodge
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Here's the thing, from a camping perspective, I didn't think this place was too bad. The grounds were nice, kitchen clean and relatively well equipped. Showers extremely basic but provided hot water. Lounge area was also very basic but the WiFi was surprisingly strong and offered at a very fair price. The family running the business was very nice and we never had any trouble reaching them the very few times we had questions. The pool is nothing special. You can easily catch a cab or matatu into Bulawayo. A Food Lovers Market is within a few kilometers (I walked it and found the walk to be easy and safe). My husband and I ran in the evenings in the surround neighborhood, something we really enjoyed as we were able to experience the locals walking home, walking around the neighborhood, neighbor kids playing in the streets, etc. We liked this place. I have no clue what the rooms are like and the cost so I could understand someone being disappointed. Do keep in mind, that budget accommodation is very limited, almost non-existent in Bulawayo. We left with a good feeling.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Taya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 9 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

For a dorm bed of US$20, it was dissappointing to get a dusty dirty dorm bed with no defense against the mosquitoes (closed windows = stuffy room). The staff initially available was frustratingly unhelpful with information on getting around Zimb, until another lady arrived... I waited an hour+ for her. Fortunately because I was the only traveller staying there, they included breakfast for free!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beebag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We arrived at Packers Paradise Lodge and were immediately impressed, the place was really clean and tidy with friendly staff. It appeared to be in a quiet neighbourhood and we were looking forward to exploring Bulawayo.

We came back from town later that Friday night to find that there was a massive party going at the sports club next door, the music being very loud with a huge base.... this continued to the early hours when the music was replaced by lots of people shouting, doors slamming and horns blarring, there was absolutely no chance of even a few minutes of sleep.

The next morning we spoke to the Assistant Manager, we understood that the noise was not the fault of the lodge and said we'd move to the local campground if it was going to be the same again that night - we really needed some sleep! She assured us she'd spoken to the Sports Club and that the Friday night had been a special function... we'd be fine that night! However as the evening went on the party started up again in the same way and if anything was worse on the Saturday night.

We were understandably very tired the next morning and again spoke to the Assistant manger who said the noise was not her fault. We couldn't help feel that she'd lied to us about the noise to get us to stay when she could have just been up front. We asked for a discount which was pretty much refused ($2 off out of a bill of $60 isn't much of a discount in my book). The whole situation got heated and in the end we had to pay what was asked of us seeing as we were effectively locked in their compound!

We wrote a letter of complaint to the owner/ Manager but haven't had a response and can't help feeling the letter (and probably our camp fees) never made it to them.

Bulawayo is a lovely city with really friendly people but don't stay at this lodge and let them tarnish what is a great place to visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Yes we have been! A good walk from downtown the place, from outside, looks OK. The private rooms may be OK but we stayed in the mix dorm. The dorm was basically 2 lines of beds in the back yard garage (7) and they tried to push all the beds together to add a number 8. ( luckily it didn't work).
They ants on the floor were all over, climbing on all they could and the not welcoming mosquitoes feast on you.
One suggestion: do not pay in advance!
On arrival we payed for 2 nights. We discover that we could take a train the next day to Victoria fall; so at 8 am we cancelled the coming night (night 2). They refused to give us our money back. That was inconvenient and unpleasant way to serve your customers.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Road20years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: ドミトリーではなく、ダブルルームなど個室を利用するならよいかも?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank けんたろー_KG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ElbioT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bulawayo hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Bulawayo
Holiday Inn Bulawayo
#2 of 8 in Bulawayo
182 reviews
0.8 mi away
The N1 Hotel Bulawayo
The N1 Hotel Bulawayo
#4 of 8 in Bulawayo
119 reviews
0 mi away
Cresta Churchill Hotel
Cresta Churchill Hotel
#3 of 8 in Bulawayo
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sethule Lodge
Sethule Lodge
#2 of 39 in Bulawayo
27 reviews
1.7 mi away
Motsamai Guest Lodge
Motsamai Guest Lodge
#1 of 39 in Bulawayo
26 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bulawayo Rainbow Hotel
Bulawayo Rainbow Hotel
#5 of 8 in Bulawayo
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Packers Paradise Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Packers Paradise Lodge

Address: 1 Oak Avenue, Bulawayo, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Bulawayo Province > Bulawayo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Bulawayo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing