We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Nesbitt Castle
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$144
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hillside Manor(Bulawayo)
US$50
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
US$66
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Selborne Hotel(Bulawayo)
US$92
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$53
Travelocity
View Deal
US$130
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveller rating
117
52
13
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
52
13
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswedding venuememorable experiencecast ironextra specialcomplimentary honeymoonchecking outtreated like royaltybeautiful groundsclean placeafrican bushexcellent placemy fiancea wonderful stayvic fallsamyleighzimbabwe
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 187 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My family and I spent three nights at the Nesbitt Castle during a tour of Zimbabwe and it remains one of the highlights of our trip. A whimsical medieval castle in the heart of Bulawayo set on beautiful grounds with a level and quality of service befitting a top boutique hotel. Each of the rooms is individually decorated in its own style, the hotel's various lounges are great places to while away an afternoon and tea and scones in the gardens had become a ritual for us.

One small area of improvement would be to have showers rather than baths in the rooms (only two rooms come with a shower).

Room Tip: try and pick a room with a shower.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank out in Africa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy-Leigh M, Manager at The Nesbitt Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that! We are happy our hotel and staff met all your needs during your stay. We are honoured to be a highlight of your time on tour in Zimbabwe. We are definitely looking into the addition of showers in the rooms as we know that this is becoming increasingly popular amongst our guests. We hope to see you again if you ever travel back this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

What an unusual place to stay - a castle in Africa! The bedroom, although dark because of the trees outside, was very comfortable. The gardens are wonderful, very lush and colourful,and looked after immaculately by a singing gardener! We chose The Nesbitt as our son and daughter-in-law had their wedding ceremony and reception there and it was beautiful day and excellent evening. We ate at The Nesbitt three times, we had a tasty snack and the most excellent Irish coffee in the bar and an excellent meal when it was just the two of us. The only downside of our stay was our meal on the last I night when we invited our son, our daughter-in-law and her parents for a meal. My son and husband had very poor starters and mains and the service was poor, totally different from our other experiences!
The Nesbitt is certainly a superb wedding venue.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank pennyrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy-Leigh M, Manager at The Nesbitt Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us as we are delighted to see your positive feedback regarding the Castle grounds and comfortable rooms. It is unfortunate to hear that your experience with our restaurant was not a pleasing one the second time around. We do apologise for this and hope that it did not leave a bitter memory of your son's wedding here. We are always striving to improve in areas that are lacking and we can assure you that all measures were taken to ensure that all guests receive more professional service and the best quality meals from our kitchen. Thank you once again for your review and all the best to the newly weds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed here with a colleague for one night and did not dine here at all. The building and rooms look like you are staying in a castle which is interesting but a bit faded. Our room was spacious.The bathroom although also roomy, only had an old fashioned bathtub and I much prefer a shower. The spray attachment did not work and I ran out of hot water near the end of my bath. Our colleague reported the same problem. Also the internet was not working and we had to use the computer in the reception for internet. The staff was delightful and very helpful and the grounds are lovely.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Had a lovely dinner experience at The Coach House..Am not a lover of steak but thoroughly enjoyed the steak i ordered; and my partner doesn't like mushroom but he finished every bit of it. Will be sure to visit the place again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nomie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy-Leigh M, Manager at The Nesbitt Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

We are thrilled that you had a lovely dining experience and that our chef was able to get you to enjoy even the things you don't usually enjoy. Please feel free to return and experience another memorable dining experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

All i can say is we had the best wedding thank you Nesbitt. Mostly a huge thank you to Amy-Leigh, she made our day amazing. From when i started communicating with her, to the menu tasting and dress rehersal the day before our wedding she was amazing. Most of our family and friends now want to use the venue for their various events. The place is beautiful and the staff are the best, this will forever be one of our favourite places, i am sure when we are in Zimbabwe next we will just visit. Thank you very much

Room Tip: Choose the Tower room
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmieC747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy-Leigh M, Manager at The Nesbitt Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

It was a pleasure to serve you and your loved ones on your special day. You created a vibrant atmosphere with your celebration and we are thrilled to have been a part of it. We wish you all the best and will welcome you and your family back whenever you so wish.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews