We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Bulawayo”
Review of The Nesbitt Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Nesbitt Castle
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bulawayo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Quirky hotel with the best and most friendly customer service I have experienced. Food excellent, bedrooms interesting and comfortable, common areas full of interest and gardens heaven. But it is the front line staff that make this a great place to stay. Second visit now and will come again. Bulawayo's best kept secret!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy-Leigh M, Manager at The Nesbitt Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. So glad that you had a pleasant stay and we look forward to your return. Hopefully we won't be a secret forever!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

Absolutely loved the service and friendly staff + beautiful environment.

Enjoyed every bit of my stay at the Nesbitt Castle.
The food is devine.
Impeccable Rooms.
Amazing service.

A way to unwind and enjoy a business trip or family get away.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danielglenwilliamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy-Leigh M, Manager at The Nesbitt Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of your room as well as the delectable meals that The Chef put on for you. We enjoy seeing our guests leaving here much satisfied and thank you for your appreciation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I've stayed at the castle for a whole week when on business in Bulawayo. The staff is extremely helpful and the castle is beautiful. The food is wonderful and the service excellent! Thank you for making my stay in Bulawayo so enjoyable!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pieter v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy-Leigh M, Manager at The Nesbitt Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for staying with us. It was a pleasure to host you and ensure that you were at ease while on business. It gives us great joy to serve our guests and make them feel comfortable throughout their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Very warm and amicable. With the rooms you will experience the life of kings!! The garderns are superb and this has even attracted the hosting of weddings. This is an ideal location for executives retreat.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Berry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy-Leigh M, Manager at The Nesbitt Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. We are happy that you enjoyed the picturesque gardens as well as the ambience that each room holds in itself. We do host a number of weddings but yes, we are just as suitable for Executive Retreats and welcome them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had a lovely experience at The Castle, staff were lovely throughout. We were served luxurious breakfast in bed and rooms were stunning, i couldnt faulty anything at all. The garden is so refreshing and will definately go back again. Lovely place to be.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Junic K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy-Leigh M, Manager at The Nesbitt Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

It was our pleasure to host you and ensure that your stay was nothing but enjoyable. Our gardens are our pride and joy and the staff strive to keep it lush and green throughout the year. The Nesbitt Castle welcomes you back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My family and I spent three nights at the Nesbitt Castle during a tour of Zimbabwe and it remains one of the highlights of our trip. A whimsical medieval castle in the heart of Bulawayo set on beautiful grounds with a level and quality of service befitting a top boutique hotel. Each of the rooms is individually decorated in its own style, the hotel's various lounges are great places to while away an afternoon and tea and scones in the gardens had become a ritual for us.

One small area of improvement would be to have showers rather than baths in the rooms (only two rooms come with a shower).

Room Tip: try and pick a room with a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank out in Africa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy-Leigh M, Manager at The Nesbitt Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that! We are happy our hotel and staff met all your needs during your stay. We are honoured to be a highlight of your time on tour in Zimbabwe. We are definitely looking into the addition of showers in the rooms as we know that this is becoming increasingly popular amongst our guests. We hope to see you again if you ever travel back this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

What an unusual place to stay - a castle in Africa! The bedroom, although dark because of the trees outside, was very comfortable. The gardens are wonderful, very lush and colourful,and looked after immaculately by a singing gardener! We chose The Nesbitt as our son and daughter-in-law had their wedding ceremony and reception there and it was beautiful day and excellent evening. We ate at The Nesbitt three times, we had a tasty snack and the most excellent Irish coffee in the bar and an excellent meal when it was just the two of us. The only downside of our stay was our meal on the last I night when we invited our son, our daughter-in-law and her parents for a meal. My son and husband had very poor starters and mains and the service was poor, totally different from our other experiences!
The Nesbitt is certainly a superb wedding venue.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank pennyrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy-Leigh M, Manager at The Nesbitt Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us as we are delighted to see your positive feedback regarding the Castle grounds and comfortable rooms. It is unfortunate to hear that your experience with our restaurant was not a pleasing one the second time around. We do apologise for this and hope that it did not leave a bitter memory of your son's wedding here. We are always striving to improve in areas that are lacking and we can assure you that all measures were taken to ensure that all guests receive more professional service and the best quality meals from our kitchen. Thank you once again for your review and all the best to the newly weds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bulawayo hotels
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Bulawayo
Holiday Inn Bulawayo
#2 of 7 in Bulawayo
174 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bulawayo Rainbow Hotel
Bulawayo Rainbow Hotel
#4 of 7 in Bulawayo
69 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cresta Churchill Hotel
Cresta Churchill Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bulawayo
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The N1 Hotel Bulawayo
The N1 Hotel Bulawayo
#5 of 7 in Bulawayo
104 reviews
1.2 mi away
Motsamai Guest Lodge
Motsamai Guest Lodge
#3 of 39 in Bulawayo
22 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sethule Lodge
Sethule Lodge
#2 of 39 in Bulawayo
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nesbitt Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nesbitt Castle

Address: 6 Percy Avenue | Hillside, Bulawayo 00002, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Bulawayo Province > Bulawayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bulawayo
Price Range: £114 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Nesbitt Castle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bulawayo's most sought after destination. Ten gloriously individual suites lie behind these castle walls, stone-chilled in the heat of summer, cozy and welcoming for those cooler days. Be enchanted by the carved four poster beds, enviable antique collection and Gothic curiosities that await you along every twisting passageway and behind every Gothic oak door. Nesbitt Castle is everything a modern luxurious boutique hotel should be whilst retaining all the mystery & chivalry of a golden age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Nesbitt Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nesbitt Castle Hotel Bulawayo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing