We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiredzi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chilo Gorge Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I don’t normally stay in such luxury, so this was a huge treat for me. And I’m really glad that we decided to splurge on staying at Chilo because it was absolutely fantastic - they really do everything so well. Staff are so friendly and make you feel very welcome.

Cottages are a good size, with wonderful decks overlooking the gorge, where you will spend most of your ‘at home’ time. It is really lovely to sit out here in the early morning or late afternoon and watch the birds and animals – hippos in the water, nyala on the banks, various birds and monkeys in the trees. Rooms are furnished with quality furnishings and are very comfortable. This place has been refurbished in the last couple of years.

The food is excellent and high quality. They have a good selection of both alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks, tea and coffee, etc. and the drinks service is fantastic.

The game drives were great, and John is an excellent guide. Over your time at Chilo you will be taken to different places in the park, with different types of game, birds or scenery. You can choose to go on as many game drives as you like, and for as long as you like. We generally chose half-day drives, but others set off for all-day drives. The guides are always more than happy to take you walking in the park if the situation is suitable. There are also places to go for the sunset – the falls and the beach. You can also do a bushwalk to the falls or a village visit (this is a real village, not a touristy one), or you can just spend a day relaxing on your balcony and watching the animals from there.

Gonarezhou NP is known for its aggressive elephants, and this proved to be true for us. It’s not a place that you would visit if you’ve never been to an African National Park before – this is somewhere special to visit when you want to get into the real African bush, somewhere remote and untouched. We didn’t see any other vehicles during our game drives at Chilo – game drives are generally just a couple of guests and the guide/driver out in the wilderness.

I’d highly recommend Chilo to anyone who has already seen the Big 5, and wants to go somewhere remote in luxury. Something a bit different, but also quite wonderful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Julie_L14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChiloGorgeTeam, Front Office Manager at Chilo Gorge Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

It was our pleasure to host you Julie and we are so glad you enjoyed your time with us. Chilo and Gonarezhou are truly special places. Hopefully you will be able to visit us again sometime in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

The setting, the service, the staff and the wildlife experiences all make this our favourite safari lodge in Zimbabwe. We simply cannot go there enough. Our recent visit with a large group of wildlife enthusiasts from the USA was simply superb. Crossing the Save River by boat (no mean feat for the person doing the poling) was an experience in itself. If you are an elephant fanatic like us then this is the place to go to for some very different experiences. And the birdlife is stunning. What added to our recent visit was a day trip to the amazing Chilojo Cliffs - a truly amazing sight. Our guests loved the afternoon visit to the clinic in Mahenye Village plus the opportunity to donate footballs and a range of other goodies for the local school. Now we are planning next years adventure to Chiol. A pity we can't get there again this year.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kuyimba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChiloGorgeTeam, Front Office Manager at Chilo Gorge Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for bringing your group to stay with us. Your photos are wonderful. We look forward to hosting you again in 2015.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Wildlife, conservation, involvement and support of local people, great food, fabulous staff make this the best of the best in safari camps. Our group of 20 were treated like royalty and I can't recommend this experience highly enough

Room Tip: All rooms were wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JEO8870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChiloGorgeTeam, Front Office Manager at Chilo Gorge Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

What a pleasure it was to host your whole group. We hope that you will be back again one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The 43 km of dirty road to get there are really worthwhile. You arrive in a little paradise, perfectly located just above river Save, you can hear elephant crossing the river every night. Rooms are nice, the lodge is very comfortable, John is an outstanding host and an even more outstanding guide. Safari experience is great, expecially the whole day safari to Chilojo Cliffs: the cliffs are outstanding but even more exciting are the meetings you have along the way, we saw wild dogs for the first time in 14 years of Africa!
Nadine is efficient and kind and everybody at the lodge is competent, prompt and kind.
Sundowner under the incredible african sky are unforgettable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Franz60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Chilo Lodge is an oasis in the bush. Beautifully appointed rooms, a masterful chef, superb guides, cheerful and accommodating staff make the Chilo Lodge experience memorable. The main lodge on a river has a swimming pool, terrific views, both covered and outdoor dining. Trips in Goranerzhou National Park are fabulous for both the photographer and the lover of animals. The list is endless for herds of elephants and buffalo, impala by the thousands, Élan, Nyla, birds galore, giraffe and zebra as well as reptiles. Guides were incredible! They knew the area so well that there were sightings at almost every turn. Both jeep and walking safaris were available. Chilo Gorge is a Beautiful sight for sun downers and relaxing. A drive to Chilo Cliffs is an wildlife sighting experience as well as a lovely place to picnic. Visiting Chilo Lodge is a great way to support Zimbabwe and give yourself the gift of a fantastic experience. The head guide Thomas, is a wonder. Visiting the Mahenye Village was the perfect way to experience the bush and the way of life of the Santan people. They are an example of "it takes a village" to live cooperatively and fully. I recommend Chilo Gorge Lodge without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndreaSLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChiloGorgeTeam, Owner at Chilo Gorge Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Thank you for your kind words Andrea. We are so glad you got to enjoy Chilo and Gonarezhou at such a 'green' time of year! It is a privilege for us to be able to provide a gateway to such a pristine wilderness and rich cultural experience. We look forward to welcoming you back! Best wishes from all of us at Chilo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Thank you so much for hosting my folks at the lodge for their anniversary. Living out the country you made this booking an absolute pleasure to make. All my queries and requests were all handled with care and speed and for this I am grateful.

My parents said they had the most amazing time and that everything was just perfect, from the tours to the meals, and to just enjoying the lodge. They mentioned how helpful the staff all were and that they went out of their way to make their stay as comfortable as possible, please convey our thanks to them.

My dad has been emailing me countless photos of their stay at Chilo, they make my heart ache for Africa! I hope that when we are next in Zim, we will be able to visit too.

Kindest regards and best wishes

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChiloGorgeTeam, Front Office Manager at Chilo Gorge Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for sending your parents to us and we are thrilled they had such a good anniversary. Hopefully we will see you and your family with sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Dear John and Nadine,
Thank you so much for such a great visit.
We thought Chilo Lodge was superb and the trip across into Gonarezhou was such an adventure. We loved every moment of it. The sundowner drinks at the Falls (looking for the bat hawk!?), the views and peaceful feel of the Lodge, the food, the bush, the staff, comfortable bed, super shower and the birding made it altogether a great stay. We look forward to visiting again as soon as Dave and I get a break from HAC. We have a 182 from the farm days so just hop into it whenever we need to get to the bush.
Hope you keep busy at the Lodge as it really is a good experience you serve up.
Warm regards,
Dave and Susan

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank SJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Chilo Gorge Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilo Gorge Safari Lodge

Address: Next to Gonarezhou National Park, Chiredzi, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Masvingo Province > Chiredzi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Chiredzi
Price Range: £262 - £392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chilo Gorge Safari Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Twin/KingOur beautiful Luxury King/Twin Lodges are largely inspired by nature, but with a designer's passion for elegance, simplicity and bespoke touches. Locally crafted intricate reed weaving, individually carved jacaranda headboards, luxurious cotton bedding and a mini bar have all been carefully chosen for your comfort and enjoyment.Each Lodge has its own private balcony offering spectacular views and the opportunity for you to relax, watching the multitude of river visitors, including our resident elephants, crocodiles and hippos.Nhambo Self CateringOur Self Catering Camp, Nhambo, provides guests with the option to be more independent whilst taking advantage of comfortable accommodation, panoramic views and access to the expertise, game drives and activities that we offer.Nhambo comprises four twin/double lodges, each sleeping 2 people. Each lodge has an en-suite bathroom (with shower and bath) and its own, private balcony.The double lodges share a kitchen, dining and barbeque area. There is also a plunge pool. For larger groups of friends and family, you may take all 4 lodges and enjoy the camp on an exclusive basis.The Family Lodge is spacious and private (with its own kitchen, garden and two bathrooms). It sleeps up to 6 people. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing