We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overnight stay”
Review of Musangano Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Musangano Lodge
Ranked #1 of 10 Mutare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Harare, Zimbabwe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“overnight stay”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Great cottage fantastic views .Delicious meal and very friendly service .
We stopped on our way home from Mozambique and were very well looked after.
Cottages have all self catering requirements loads to do if spending a few days there !
Will return for sure !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    52
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
69
48
3
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Henner H.

We were just happy with all aspects of our choice: three nights with break fast and very delicious dinner. If you like walking, try the Aloe trail, at the view point you ll see far and wide. We recommend however to take walking sticks.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henner H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Having lived in Zimbabwe for 3 years and having traveled around the entire country, I must say that this was one of the best experiences I had in terms of lodging and hospitality. The place is run by a family living in Harare, who have lived well past their expectations. The location of the lodge is very strategically chosen and you can have the best experience when it comes to enjoying the scenery of Zimbabwe. The staff is extremely helpful and is always ready to help. I loved our experience with Musangano and would recommend anyone heading towards Mutare to make sure to spend some time here. Great place for a getaway and a relaxing time!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aditya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Musangano Lodge very much: beautiful nature, silence, interesting bird watching. The staff was very friendly and helpful, excellent food. The chalets are very nice (and clean of course). Not far from Mutare and Vumba mountains. We can really recommend this lovely place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annegret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare, Zimbabwe
1 review
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at Musangano Lodge. It is a very nice place. I loved the location as I am an individual who is in love with nature hence the bush set up was ideal for me. Very good place for a getaway.

The service was very good. The staff was polite and cheerful when delivering service which made me feel so at home.

It would be nice though to add some activities that can be done whilst you are at the lodge and not necessarily have to travel elsewhere in search of fun activities.

Overally it was a great experience for me and I would not hesitate to back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Very nice camp site just 30 min from Mutare. Very nice ablution blocks, very clean. Nice braai arera. Electricity. Swimming pool and restaurant. Wifi available. The cottages and lodges looked very nice too!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cenj C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My wife and I spent three nights at the lodge in late Sept. and entirely enjoyed the accommodations and the attention to detail by Bright and the staff. Though a little out of the way from Mutare, the location was lovely and the sunsets gorgeous. The chalets were clean, the showers hot and, when the roadworks are finished, the location will be a fast trip to Mutare. Overall, we'd recommend this as a comfortable and romantic place for a night away or a week's vacation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mutare
14.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Mutare
Holiday Inn Mutare
#2 of 4 in Mutare
138 reviews
21.1 mi away
Eden Lodge Vumba
Eden Lodge Vumba
#2 of 6 in Mutare
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rhodes Nyanga Hotel
Rhodes Nyanga Hotel
#3 of 4 in Nyanga
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ancient City Lodge
Ancient City Lodge
#3 of 9 in Masvingo
49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camp Amalinda
Camp Amalinda
#1 of 9 in Matobo National Park - The Matopos
209 reviews
0.0 mi away
Big Cave Camp
Big Cave Camp
#3 of 9 in Matobo National Park - The Matopos
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Musangano Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Musangano Lodge

Property: Musangano Lodge
Address: Champion Mine Road, Mutare 0000, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Manicaland Province > Mutare
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Mutare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Musangano Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for the ultimate getaway in the Eastern Highlands, with the promise of complete tranquility and spectacular scenery, Musangano Lodge is the ideal location. Visitors soon fall under its spell because of its serene and peaceful atmosphere, charming accommodation, superb cuisine and stunning views, which invite to linger and unwind.Spaced well apart for privacy, our tastefully furnished, very comfortable and spacious units are set on the lower slopes of a tree-covered hillside, blending well into the surrounding Miombo mountain woodland and offering magnificent views into valleys and towards mountains. Guests may choose between the larger, fully equipped self catering lodges for families and friends or smaller chalets for two with kitchenette and kettle.Our PaMuchakata Restaurant has acquired an enviable reputation for serving delicious food, a blend of Central European and Southern African cooking - the best of the culinary arts of two worlds.Musangano Lodge is ideally located for exploring the attractions of the Eastern Highlands like the Vumba Mountains, Nyanga National Park and Honde Valley. When you feel like stretching your legs, there are a variety of activities at hand on site and nearby to suit all ages and interests.Our outreach community project ‘Nurturing Communities. Shaping Lives’ offers exciting insights into the lives of ordinary Zimbabweans with the rare opportunity of firsthand experiences and lasting memories to take home.Finally – referring to the meaning of Musangano Lodge and our vision of ‘the place where people meet’ – we would be very happy to welcome you at our little paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Musangano Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Musangano Lodge Zimbabwe/Mutare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing