We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very special”
Review of Musangano Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Musangano Lodge
Ranked #1 of 11 Mutare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Hi to everyone who is intested to visit Zimbabwe!

Musangano Lodge is a wonderful place to stay near Mutare. The chalets and lodges are surrounded by nature with beautiful sunrises and sunsets on the porch. The food is delicious and prepared with love. Leonard and his staff are very supportive and helpful. They even pick you up when you get stuck. You can swim in the large pool, relax or walk along different nature trails that one can chose according to ability. It is a good base to explore Nyanga, Honde Valley and Vumba. Thus there is no need to take the luggage along but only to come "home" after the exciting trips.
They recently built a conference venue, which is spacious and airy and thus enables a conduicive working atmosphere.

Whenever I came back to Zimbabwe I made sure to stay at Musangano Lodge. A very special place!

Sabine from Germany

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabine736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

I stayed a Musangano recently with a colleague whilst attending meetings in Mutare.
The local is beautiful, peaceful and very relaxing.
Bright and the other members of staff are friendly, helpful and incredibly welcoming.
The 'safari style' chalet rooms are spacious, clean and very comfortable.
All food, breakfast or dinner, is freshly prepared and very delicious.
If you are in the area stay here, even if your business is in Mutare itself, you will not beat Musangano for quality or price.
I will certainly stay here again when back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We held our staff meeting at Musangano. We were a team of 27 people, mostly Zimbabwean, and it was universally agreed by all the team that it was the best venue we had been to. The setting is lovely, the meeting room open, airy and spaceous. The staff are efficient and helpful - everything happened on time and just to our requirements. The food was good (especially the German meatballs - a firm favourite with us all) and the rooms immaculately clean and comfortable. And such good value too. I would definitely recommend this to other organisations looking for a meeting venue, and we will certainly be back later in the year.

Oh, and a fabulous place for a private visit as well.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

After a 3 hour drive from Harare we arrived to a friendly welcome, beautiful, huge rooms and a tasty dinner with imaginative dishes. Cooked breakfast was also good. Musangano Lodge was a relaxing place to base ourselves for visiting the Mutare area. The staff were exemplary and standards are high.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceriandedmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Great cottage fantastic views .Delicious meal and very friendly service .
We stopped on our way home from Mozambique and were very well looked after.
Cottages have all self catering requirements loads to do if spending a few days there !
Will return for sure !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Henner H.

We were just happy with all aspects of our choice: three nights with break fast and very delicious dinner. If you like walking, try the Aloe trail, at the view point you ll see far and wide. We recommend however to take walking sticks.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henner H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Having lived in Zimbabwe for 3 years and having traveled around the entire country, I must say that this was one of the best experiences I had in terms of lodging and hospitality. The place is run by a family living in Harare, who have lived well past their expectations. The location of the lodge is very strategically chosen and you can have the best experience when it comes to enjoying the scenery of Zimbabwe. The staff is extremely helpful and is always ready to help. I loved our experience with Musangano and would recommend anyone heading towards Mutare to make sure to spend some time here. Great place for a getaway and a relaxing time!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aditya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mutare
14.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Mutare
Holiday Inn Mutare
#2 of 4 in Mutare
142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Montclair Hotel & Casino
Montclair Hotel & Casino
#1 of 1 in Juliasdale
23 reviews
14.7 mi away
Gordon's
Gordon's
#3 of 11 in Mutare
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Eden Lodge Vumba
Eden Lodge Vumba
#2 of 6 in Mutare
11 reviews
14.9 mi away
Inn on the Vumba
Inn on the Vumba
#6 of 11 in Mutare
35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rhodes Nyanga Hotel
Rhodes Nyanga Hotel
#3 of 4 in Nyanga
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Musangano Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Musangano Lodge

Address: Champion Mine Road, Mutare 0000, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Manicaland Province > Mutare
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mutare
Price Range: £95 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Musangano Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for the ultimate getaway in the Eastern Highlands, with the promise of complete tranquility and spectacular scenery, Musangano Lodge is the ideal location. Visitors soon fall under its spell because of its serene and peaceful atmosphere, charming accommodation, superb cuisine and stunning views, which invite to linger and unwind.Spaced well apart for privacy, our tastefully furnished, very comfortable and spacious units are set on the lower slopes of a tree-covered hillside, blending well into the surrounding Miombo mountain woodland and offering magnificent views into valleys and towards mountains. Guests may choose between the larger, fully equipped self catering lodges for families and friends or smaller chalets for two with kitchenette and kettle.Our PaMuchakata Restaurant has acquired an enviable reputation for serving delicious food, a blend of Central European and Southern African cooking - the best of the culinary arts of two worlds.Musangano Lodge is ideally located for exploring the attractions of the Eastern Highlands like the Vumba Mountains, Nyanga National Park and Honde Valley. When you feel like stretching your legs, there are a variety of activities at hand on site and nearby to suit all ages and interests.Our outreach community project ‘Nurturing Communities. Shaping Lives’ offers exciting insights into the lives of ordinary Zimbabweans with the rare opportunity of firsthand experiences and lasting memories to take home.Finally – referring to the meaning of Musangano Lodge and our vision of ‘the place where people meet’ – we would be very happy to welcome you at our little paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Musangano Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Musangano Lodge Zimbabwe/Mutare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing