We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Should have stayed at the Doubletree next door.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
Zeeland, Michigan
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Should have stayed at the Doubletree next door.”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I much prefer having housekeeping come in every day. Towels, linens, soap/shampoo, coffee was available in the lobby, but you had to go down and get them. The room was spacious, with a small "queen" size bed, felt more like a full size bed. Bed spread was stained, sink had hair in it from previous guest. I did like the full size refrigerator and microwave. It was about a 20 minutes from Niagara Falls. Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cap49464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear cap49424,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. Your opinion is very important to us, as it helps us identify areas in need of improvement. We are deeply sorry to read that our housekeeping services and hospitality were not up to your expectations. Rest assured that your comments have been documented and will certainly be looked into.

Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    56
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
85
28
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

The staff is wonderfull.Super clean.They have a small store with refrigerated and frozen foods and all the small things you may need. VERY well priced.Close to UB and 15min from downtown. A can of soda .50. The room had 2 comfy queen size beds well spaced. My daughter best friend and I stayed for one night to visit her at UB and attend a concert in Buffalo. The best part was the FULL kitchen. Regular sized frige and Ice maker in he freezer. Plenty of cooking equipment (toaster too) and a free popcorn!!. There is a grill outside you can use as well. The large tv has a dvd player and you can borrow a movie at the front desk.Why not a five? For around $140 a night a pool would have been nice.I will def stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winediva75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The practice of clustering "flavors" of hotels (Marriott, Doubletree, Red Roof, etc.) in one enclave and often under single management occasionally has its blessings. The Candlewood/Amherst is a great blessing! Tucked next to its sister Doubletree and staffed by the friendliest women you will ever meet after your mom (especially Ashley, with her braided hair and sincere Midwestern smile!), this place is a joy. Meticulously clean, always ready with a greeting when you come or go, and with a free Tuesday pizza party in the lobby featuring an astonishing array of Buffalo-style pizza (the best on earth) and free pop (soda to outlanders), this is the place to stay in the sterile suburban desert surrounding SUNY at Buffalo' north campus. Sure Candlewood has a sponsorship Maxwell House but you can walk across the parking lot to Doubletree for Starbucks (though the staff there seems clueless, their smiles, unlike Ashley's, uninhabited).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We went for an overnight shopping trip and found this hotel to be wonderful. It is well situated close to the Boulevard mall, Target and major Grocery stores. It is right by the highway to the Walden Galleria and also not far from the Fashion Outlet mall. The hotel is clean, quiet with comfortable beds and spacious rooms. The heating system is quiet. Staff are friendly and helpful. There is a Starbucks in the hotel right next door that you can easily walk to. Everything in the traveler reviews is true

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanC155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night only for a shortened weekend getaway. We had a queen suite, which included a queen bed, tv, full bath, and a full kitchen. The room was very clean, the heating/cooling system was quiet. The staff were friendly and courteous. The hotel is about 5 minutes from the Boulevard Mall and about 20 from the Galleria. Next time we are going to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
139 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

This Candlewood Suites is located in Amherst conveniently close to the Niagara Falls. We could enjoy the tourist spot without having to battle for the overbooked rooms located closer to the falls.

Our room had standard features with a full-fledged kitchen and enough space to move around. The place has a well-equipped gym and laundry area in one common area. The pool at the hotel next door is made accessible to hotel residents. There is a small store on this property for all travel essentials. A collection of DVDs are available to the guests free of charge which is a very good option to have. There are several restaurants located in the vicinity. Sleep quality for two nights was good.

The staff at Candlewood Suites is normally very friendly and helpful. But here, they were unusually too businesslike. They were reasonably helpful though. Overall the hotel is a good option if you are visiting the Niagara Falls, but are not able to get rooms in the hotels with the best views of the falls.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyusual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northeast
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We have stayed here several times(see earlier review) and were very pleased. This time around even more so. My husband was not feeling well the morning we were due to check out. Fortunately, we were able to leave as planned, but close to 1pm instead of the 11am check-out time. The front desk staff were fantastic. Told us not to worry about checking out and asked several times if there was anything they could do. They went above and beyond customer service.
Also, we had reserved 2 rooms, one handicapped accessible. They were able to locate our rooms just a room apart from each other, and asked numerous times over the course of our stay if we needed anything extra. The rooms were, as always, clean and comfortable. As long as we continue to visit family in the area, we will continue to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geneva18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amherst hotels
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Buffalo / Amherst
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Buffalo-Amherst
0.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Buffalo Amherst/University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst

Property: Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
Address: 20 Flint Rd, Amherst, NY 14226-1047
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amherst
#6 Family Hotel in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consider us home at Candlewood Suites - Buffalo Amherst. Our 76 room hotel offers queen beds in three different size suites. Studio suites have one queen bed, 2 Queen Bed suites are our most popular, and the One Bedroom suites allow for more privacy. All rooms have a fully equipped kitchenette. We are located across from the Flint Road entrance to the University at Buffalo North Campus and a short drive from shopping and restaurants. We are located almost midway between Downtown Buffalo, including the Medical Campus and Harborside, and the cities of Niagara Falls, NY and Ontario. Comforts of home include free wifi, DVD player in each room, free laundry facilities, an outdoor gazebo with gas grills, and the Lending Locker with games for the kids,DVD's and kitchen appliances for the cooks. Our housekeeping is provided only once weekly, but our staff is at your service and happy to accommodate requests for extra amenities or supplies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Amherst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing