We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay Especially for dog owners” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
mi
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Stay Especially for dog owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We made a return trip to this hotel and our stay was even better than the first. Took our Golden Retriever along. Very pet friendly as they only charge around 20 bucks as opposed to some places in the area that charge 75 plus. They honored out advanced request for a ground level room making it easy to walk the dog. Plenty of grass area on site for that purpose. Room was clean and comfortable with kitchenette and apartment size fridge with plenty of ice. Staff there made our dog as welcome as they did us.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbrobeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for taking time out of your day to review our hotel. We are "pet friendly" (especially Golden Retrievers...!). We understand many travelers do travel with their pets. We try to make it as painless as possible. Please consider staying with us again if you find yourself in the Buffalo area and stop by for a doggy treat for your Golden.
Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    56
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
84
28
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Love this hotel, the lobby us simple and the rooms are great! Full size fridge, dishwasher, stove top, microwave, ice maker and the best part a lazy boy chair to sit back and relax! Mattress was the most comfortable one I have slept on in my travels. Book online to get the best price. Great work out room with new working equipment. Clean room and you can wash your glasses and know they haven't been washed in a bathroom sink by the maids like most hotels...really hate this and will not drink from a glass cup in any hotel room unless I know for fact its been put in a dishwasher. Nice ppl at front desk, very helpful, great location close to shopping and dining...across the road from u of b. Will definitely go back again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank zippy579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to write about our hotel....
You should work here. I couldn't have said it better and I get paid to do it. Thank you for noticing many of the amenities at the hotel that our guests love. We also have gas grills by the gazebo so our guests can grill during the summer.
Please consider staying with us again if you find yourself back in the Buffalo area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

This is a very pleasant, pet-friendly property. We had a double queen suite on the ground floor on a busy weekend last summer, but it was very quiet and orderly. Free laundry was great as we were halfway through a long trip. We felt much more secure than we have before when staying at the Red Roof Inn right next door. Lots of great space for walking the dog and there seems to be a trail for runners. We saw a family of ducks in the little creek that runs between the highway and the hotel.Bonus!
The full kitchen would be great for long stays , but when you are just overnight it is hard to resist taking a run up the road to load up on Buffalo wings at Duff's, or even great pizza within walking distance. An added treat is that you can use the swimming pool at the Doubletree by Hilton a short walk across the parking lot, since both hotels have the same owners. A bit of an odd bonus, but the pool is nice. Also, the pet fee is $25, which is $25 less than the Doubletree pet fee, too. Looking at booking again this summer and discovered that Candlewood is now charging an extra $10 per adult (on the website), for the best flexible rate, but if you pay an extra $10 for BonusPoints you get the room plus 1,000 IHG reward points and you don't have to pay the extra adult fee. Go figure. You will get a good night's sleep in a clean and well-appointed room with a TV that gets a ton of channels. Cookies are irresistible.

Room Tip: Grnd. fl. room near exit away from front desk is great for pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HerIndoorsOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for taking time out of your day to review our hotel. The location of the hotel has a nice mix of residential, retail and woods...we get deer, turkeys and plenty of ducks. Depending on the time of year...geese living on the roof of the Doubletree.
Thank you for noticing the cleanliness of the hotel. The housekeeping staff works very hard to keep the hotel up. We are not a typical hotel with all the bells and whistles. You pointed out we're great for a long term stay since all rooms have stoves, microwaves, refrigerator, etc...we are an extended stay hotel with many long term guests. It's nice having a sister property with all the bells and whistles to give our guests an opportunity to sample a different hotel.
Thank you again and please stay with us again if you're in the Buffalo area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Very friendly staff. They made you feel right at home. Always a greeting when you left and came back to the hotel. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Full kitchens, free wifi, free laundry. All the things you don't get from a big name change. This is my second stay at a Candlewood and I will continue to stay again and again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perry I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for pointing out our free Wi-Fi, free laundry, free fitness center. We also have a complimentary managers reception every Tuesday from 5pm-6pm offering food and soft drinks.
Please consider staying with us again if you find yourself in the Buffalo area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

I dont know where to start... We step-in and Lorrie' s smile made us feel home.. Check-in was quick... Rooms were clean... Quiet rooms.. Staff was excellent and efficient... Cleaning lady would smile every-time you walk by her.. GOD bless..
Everything was amazing.. Except one bed had lots of hair in it but we ignored coz not everything can be perfect everytime.Will come back soon and definitely recommend it...

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mittalvipul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. Laurie is a true professional and thoroughly enjoys what she does. Our staff is small but dedicated to your comfort.
Very sorry for the hair issue you mentioned. Thank you for understanding. I will bring this up with our Executive Housekeeper.
Please stay with us again if you find yourself in the Buffalo NY area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

My husband & I stayed here for 4 nights while travelling on business. Normally we would stay at a full service hotel but decided to give the Candlewood a try for a change. We were not disappointed. Although you don't have someone cleaning your room on a daily basis the beds are comfortable, the linens soft and the staff accomodating. I love it here and will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tafferdills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We appreciate you taking time out of your day. Our hotel is not a "typical" hotel....some things you come to expect at a hotel (daily housekeeping for example) is something we do at the time you check out. We try to treat your room as if it was your home away from home during your stay. We will touch it up (at your request) but we respect your privacy.
Thank you again for your review and please consider staying with us again if you find yourself in the Buffalo area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Just stayed here for the night with family and the hotel was very nice. Room was very large and bed comfortable. Would be a great place for a longer stay with a full fridge and little kitchen. Workout area was nice and clean and they even had a laundry area if needed. Front desk staff was so nice and very helpful each time we were in the lobby and gave great options for dinning and directions. We like local places to eat instead of chains (unless they are local chains) and we were not disappointed by their suggestions.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeOhGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your day to review our hotel. We're very happy your stay was enjoyable. We are an extended stay hotel and as you pointed out a perfect place to stay for a long period of time.
If you ever find yourself in the Buffalo area please consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amherst hotels
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Buffalo / Amherst
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Buffalo-Amherst
0.0 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst
1.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#9 of 16 in Amherst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst

Property: Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
Address: 20 Flint Road, Amherst, NY 14226
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amherst
#6 Family Hotel in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consider us home at Candlewood Suites - Buffalo Amherst. Our 76 room hotel offers queen beds in three different size suites. Studio suites have one queen bed, 2 Queen Bed suites are our most popular, and the One Bedroom suites allow for more privacy. All rooms have a fully equipped kitchenette. We are located across from the Flint Road entrance to the University at Buffalo North Campus and a short drive from shopping and restaurants. We are located almost midway between Downtown Buffalo, including the Medical Campus and Harborside, and the cities of Niagara Falls, NY and Ontario. Comforts of home include free wifi, DVD player in each room, free laundry facilities, an outdoor gazebo with gas grills, and the Lending Locker with games for the kids,DVD's and kitchen appliances for the cooks. Our housekeeping is provided only once weekly, but our staff is at your service and happy to accommodate requests for extra amenities or supplies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, IHG, Travel Republic (UK) and Expedia so you can book your Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Amherst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing