We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff is friendly and efficient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
leavenworth ks
1 review
“Staff is friendly and efficient”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2010

During a terrible time due to a death in the family we had rooms booked for us from an employee/relative.
The rooms were in great shape and the staff very helpful and friendly. Constantly asking if there was anything they could do.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeavenworthKsBeastie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    56
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
84
28
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
KY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2010

It was by far the best experience we've had in hotel living. The manager Judy went above and beyond the "job" to make sure all of our needs were met.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank homebodyky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2010

Stayed here for just one night and we were definitely impressed. Exceptional customer service at the front desk at both check-in and check-out. A friendly smiling welcome and equally as friendly good-bye, both giving great impressions. The customer is most important at this spotless hotel. Our 2 queen bedroom "suite" (though really just one room) was a very pleasant surprise with its large size, full-size refrigerator, stove top, microwave, dishwasher. The beds were absolutely incredible comfortable, we all slept so well ! Very nice large flat screen TV and DVD player and an entire list of DVD's available from the front desk. Amazingly quiet hotel for such a busy area, we never heard a sound from the time we checked in at 4:00 pm and all through the night. We had originally requested a top floor room and the check-in clerk informed us that there was a large group all on that floor. She suggested the first floor as a quieter alternative. I wouldn't normally take a first floor room, but we're so glad we did. Again, so peaceful, you couldn't hear a sound from rooms on either side or above either. Oh, and can't forget the free internet service, which was excellent the entire time and free parking too.
I think we paid a very fair nightly rate considering there are a couple of other chain hotels in the area that are $50-$60 more! We wouldn't have traded our room for either - we had everything we needed and more.
I highly recommend this hotel, it truly couldn't have been a single bit better! WOW, we were totally impressed!

Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank willow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2009

Decided to have a weekend shopping getaway in Buffalo and turned to Tripadvisor for advice. We decided on Candlewood based on reviews and we were not disappointed.
The hotel is very new, just a few months old. Everything still smells new, the bed linen was very clean & fresh, bathroom spotless. Room had fridge & stove, etc, everything you need for an extended stay. This hotel however does not offer free breakfast, that is one reason why it is so reasonably priced, but don't worry, Denny's, Tim Horton's, etc, located very close to hotel for breakfast. Excellent location, Boulevard Mall (in my opinion best mall in Buffalo area) is only about a mile down the road. Many restaurants, stores, etc, in this area. Front desk people were very friendly & helpful. For our next trip to this area there is no doubt we will return to this hotel.... highly recommended!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobo2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2009

i over heard the housekeeping manager yelling at an employee about reporting a dicomfort feeling about being an employee. it was obvious that the manager was upset about the girl reporting it to a higher position boss named judy. it was terrible and early in the morning on oct 10th 2009. i would never stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank interhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

We stayed here during our trip to Niagara. All the hotels near Niagara were expensive and this place was just 20 mins from Niagara, so decided to stay here. We were worried how the hotel would be and we were taken by surprise. The hotel was really wonderful and spacious and very clean. This hotel is much better than the 3.5 star hotels you get in Manhattan. There was even a proper kitchen and dining table for 4 within the room. I wish I had pics to show you how nice the hotel was. The hotel also had a fitness centre and a laundry room.

Just had one bad incident - we heard some loud thumping noise on top of our room in the middle of the night and the front desk receptionist knocked our door at 3 am as someone in the floor below us had complained about it. I wish they called us to inquire instead of coming to the room. Even in the morning to find out if we are checking out, they knock on the door and inquire.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vels527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2009

Well i was looking for labor day getaways. I was traveling w/ my wife and my parents to Niagara. Found this NON Smoking Hotel about 20-25 min drive from Niagara which already had good reviews for $93/night ( expensive because of long weekend).

I checked in late and was smoothly checked in into our rooms. I just crashed. The room was very clean and had all amenities (microwave, fridge, TV, coffee). Wifi connectivity was good too from room.
Bathroom was clean..which sometimes can be annoying if not.

Hotel is near to lot of restaurants like Dennys , Olive garden and fast food joints like Taco bell, McDonald so that was good.
They had a gym and free laundry which was good too.
Hotel had a computer and a printer in the lobby room for people to surf and take printouts..nice of them to have it. ..no charge for that...

Check out was smooth too and we were out the next day. In all it had all the amenities that a general traveler would like ....i liked it.
Had it been some other weekend, it would have been cheaper.

Definitely worth to Stay !!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkAnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amherst hotels
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Buffalo / Amherst
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Buffalo-Amherst
0.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Buffalo Amherst/University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst

Property: Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
Address: 20 Flint Road, Amherst, NY 14226
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amherst
#6 Family Hotel in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consider us home at Candlewood Suites - Buffalo Amherst. Our 76 room hotel offers queen beds in three different size suites. Studio suites have one queen bed, 2 Queen Bed suites are our most popular, and the One Bedroom suites allow for more privacy. All rooms have a fully equipped kitchenette. We are located across from the Flint Road entrance to the University at Buffalo North Campus and a short drive from shopping and restaurants. We are located almost midway between Downtown Buffalo, including the Medical Campus and Harborside, and the cities of Niagara Falls, NY and Ontario. Comforts of home include free wifi, DVD player in each room, free laundry facilities, an outdoor gazebo with gas grills, and the Lending Locker with games for the kids,DVD's and kitchen appliances for the cooks. Our housekeeping is provided only once weekly, but our staff is at your service and happy to accommodate requests for extra amenities or supplies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Amherst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing