We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable business travel hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Clean, comfortable, good service. Good bed, lobby, internet access, etc..... Complimentary bottle of water in room would be nice and need higher wattage light bulbs at bathroom sink. Otherwise all is good for a business stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Joseph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMolendaInnKeeper, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Hello Joseph H,

Thank you for submitting your review. You really covered all the bases and I appreciate you sharing with everyone.

We look forward to having you back on your next trip to Buffalo.

Safe Travels.

Tom Molenda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (967)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

672 - 678 of 967 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014

Hard to write everything wrong in such a short space. Uncomfortable, loud. Manager implied I was lying when discussing parking for travel. I could go on and on but won't bother. Definitely never going back. It was way better when it was the Hotel Indigo.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMolendaInnKeeper, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Hello Stephanie W,

Thank you for submitting your review. I was glad we had the opportunity to discuss your situation face to face and I thought we had come to a mutually agreed upon solution prior to you departing from the front desk. Since we offer a Park, Sleep and Fly Package for those individuals who would like to leave there cars with us when they are actually travelling to another destination I am unable to provide this service at simply the cost of the guest room stay. I am sorry about any confusion that this may have caused.

Sincerely,

Tom Molenda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I have stayed at this hotel 4 times now, and a few more times when it was an Indigo hotel. I was really pleased when I saw that Double Tree had taken over as I really enjoy staying at their hotels. But unfortunately they didn't upgrade or renovate (at least not from what I can see) much from when it was an Indigo chain.

Don't get me wrong, it is a nice hotel and is probably one of the best in the area so go ahead and book if you are on the fence. Just don't expect it to be as nice as the rest of the Double Tree chain.

The sort of things I didn't like is the laminated flooring in the rooms. Anyone who has had laminated floors for a few years know how they look after a while and that's how they look here... lots of gaps and a very 'cheap' feel to them. Also the bathrooms are tiny... make sure you undress outside before you take a shower as there is no room to do it inside the bathroom and there is nowhere to put anything if you did manage to undress.

The amenities are a little lacking (again compared to other Double Trees) but if a beer and/or a coffee is all you need then I guess you will be ok here. The swimming pool is nice but the changing area could be a little cleaner.

There are two other hotels with comparable star ratings in the neighborhood, and I have stayed in them all a few times. By far the Hilton Garden inn is the best (but usually out of my price range) then the Marriott is next...but only because the rooms are bigger and the hotel amenities are better. So if the price is the same... go for the Hilton Garden first.

Otherwise the staff and the shuttle bus etc are pretty good. and as long as you don't need to be in downtown Buffalo it is a great location. As long as you have a car, the location is even good for Niagara Falls (if the hotels there are too expensive). So go ahead and book... you will not be disappointed.

I will stay at this hotel again, but I WILL be disappointed if I have to spend more than say... $110 in the high season and more than $70 in the off season.

Hope that helps

Room Tip: Make sure you only pay what you would for an Indigo chain hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMolendaInnKeeper, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Hello Paul C,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate all the feedback you provided within. We have made some changes to he facility during the transition being new wall vinyl, new lobby furniture and paint, new carpeting, new heating and air conditioning to name a few. We also have other projects in the works to include new shower sliding glass doors, newly renovated pool and spa facility, newly re designed fitness center and some in room enhancements as well. We look forward to you having the chance to see some of these new projects.

Lastly please keep me posted on what you think of our changes as you see them. We appreciate the feedback.

Sincerely,

Tom Molenda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This was a wonderful hotel. The entire staff was very kind and helpful. The hotel was clean and smelled fresh. We stayed in a room with a King size bed and a pull out couch, which was perfect for our family of 4. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Used to be the Indigo, nice hotel, spacious rooms, great staff. If you have business at the University of Buffalo, it's an excellent choice, as it's right down the street. What's also down the street is Duff's, for some of the best wings in town, so it's got that going for it too. Lots of room in the breakfast room to spread out and get some work done, was a big plus. Staff was very accommodating.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank mscott006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We did a reverse park, sleep and fly. The service was excellent. The staff was very helpful. I utilized the pool and hot tub. The limo driver helped jump start our car when the battery died from being gone a month. I would use this property again. They do have a restaurant which we didn't use.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Ronald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Good comfortable stay, decent room and bath, nice comfy bed. Hotel has a complimentary shuttle to drop you anywhere and just call them once you are done and they will pick you for free. Good ambience and quite near to UB campus at Amherst.
Recommended with family stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anand1351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amherst hotels
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Buffalo / Amherst
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst
0.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Buffalo Marriott Niagara
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Buffalo-Amherst
0.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst

Address: 10 Flint Rd, Amherst, NY 14226-1047 (Formerly Hotel Indigo Buffalo Amherst)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amherst
#5 Family Hotel in Amherst
Price Range: £82 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst welcomes you with an innovative blend of contemporary design and traditional hospitality. Conveniently located just off I-290 in Amherst, NY, the hotel is between downtown Buffalo and beautiful Niagara Falls. Park your vehicle in the hotel parking lot and fly from our suburban, northeast Buffalo hotel, just 10 minutes from Buffalo International Airport. Drive less than one mile to the University of Buffalo North Campus (SUNY) and only minutes to shopping, dining, and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Amherst
Amherst Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing