We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Buffalo - Amherst
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Amherst
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Had surgery slated for a Thursday morning and needed to be at hospital quite early. Decided to stay at a hotel the night before instead of making a 2 hour drive the morning of the surgery. Usually stay at Red Roof, but after checking the rates decided to stay at Motel 6. Glad we did. Basic room, clean and comfortable. Asked the front desk clerk if we could get a 1st floor room as my husband has trouble walking. She gladly accommodated our request. Great rates.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Scudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 73 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

Coming back from Boston we decided to stay overnight in Amherst and Motel 6 had rooms available. The rooms are bare bones and clean, linens are clean and bed comfortable. I love that they have put laminate on the floors. Great rate for the night and they do offer senior rates. One piece of advise - don't get a room by the staircase doors because all you hear is the constant banging of the doors. As well do not get a room face the highway. Otherwise our stay was very affordable, clean but very noisy.

Room Tip: Do not stay in any rooms by the staircase and none not facing the highway. Very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank maryannes894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

When we arrived at Motel 6, the scent in the hallway and in the room was very unpleasant. It smelt of cigarettes even though it is supposed to be a smoke-free room. The beds are not queen size as advertised. The washroom is very small and the shower water pressure is too light. When we requested some extra pillows and toilet paper we were told that we could only have one of each and we had to go get it at the front desk ourselves. There were no toiletries or tissue provided. WiFi that cost $2.99/day was very slow. The air conditioner was very noisy. We were out all day the next day and we came back to an uncleaned room. Nothing was cleaned and dirty towels were not replaced. Don't stay at this motel ever. Stay anywhere else but this place because it was terrible. We are never going back again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Our complete stay at this hotel was horrible. It started as soon as we arrived. I went to check in and had to stand there for almost 10 minutes while the front desk clerk finished her personal call that she was on when I walked in. The hallways on the way to our room smelled of cigarettes, mold, and body odor. When we finally made it to our room it actually smelled nice and looked clean overall. That was just a cover. After about 30 minutes the air freshener that they sprayed in the room wore off and the room smelled just the same as the hallways. Upon inspecting the beds we found several black disgusting hairs under the covers of one of the beds. The beds were not comfortable at all either. There were maybe 15 different channels they provided on the tv, no mini fridge in the room, and only one outlet in the entire room. My fiance was so disgusted with the room that she felt like she had bugs crawling on her all night and continually checked to see if there were. You have to pay for the WIFI, and they give you just one code that you have to share so only one person in your group can use the WIFI at a time. I asked if I could pay more and get more than one code and was told that I could not! The ice machine in the hall looked as though you would get Hep C from it. If it actually worked at all, there was a lid from a plastic tote used as a cover for it, and it looked disgustingly dirty. A water in the vending machine costs $2.00 and candy bars and other snacks for the kids are $2.00 as well. It was very noisy at this hotel as well. We did not feel safe at while we were there. I got the feeling that there was a lot of drug use and prostitution going on. If we had been able to we would have left that night and demanded a refund!

Room Tip: Choose any other hotel but this one!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Colors are horrible but bed was ok, clean, had some troublemakers in other rooms but I think they kicked them out eventually. didn't seem to be in a good neighborhood. price seemed a little too high for me, ice machine was broke had to go upstairs

Room Tip: Don't know how to choose a room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 576John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

When we got there we weren't allowed to check in until a room was ready. We wait 7 hours to get one room. The air conditioner didn't work neither did the fan in the bathroom. The bed was like a brick. I would never go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

stayed here for a night, across the street from UB, very clean & comfortable. Hotel staff was very friendly. Close to many stores and eateries Highly recommend you stay here if you have business at the university!

Room Tip: great price around $60
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelman1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amherst hotels
0.4 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst
1.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Buffalo - Amherst
1.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#13 of 17 in Amherst
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#11 of 17 in Amherst
273 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Buffalo - Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Buffalo - Amherst

Address: 4400 Maple Rd, Amherst, NY 14226-5103
Region: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Amherst
Price Range: £40 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Buffalo - Amherst 2*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Motel 6 is just 10 minutes from downtown Buffalo and 4 shopping malls and an outlet mall. Niagara Falls is just a short drive away and the Univ. of Buffalo is only 1/4 mile away. WiFi available in all of our modern rooms for $2.99 per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Buffalo - Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Buffalo - Amherst Hotel Amherst
Motel 6 Amherst
Motel Six Amherst
Amherst Motel 6
Amherst Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing